We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang
Ranked #241 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed August 14, 2012

If this hotel is 4 star, then many other hotels should be re-graded. Other than the lobby, it did not feel or look like a 4 star hotel to me. I stayed in a deluxe room with breakfast. The room itself was very dated and needed an urgent renovation. Although the breakfast had a good menu, it was not great - for reasons I am unable to state on here.

The location of the hotel was good. It is just a 5 minute walk from the Bukit Bintang monorail, Low Yat plaza, Times Square and many other shopping centers.

If this hotel was ever to get me back as a customer again, then they will need to teach their employees good manners!! Until they do that and upgrade their rooms, I will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Navy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,113)
There are newer reviews for Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

First time staying here (3 nights). Think it is 4-star rated but more like 3 to me. Hotel has seen better days and the entire place looks tired and in dire need of a revamp. Location-wise is OK as Imbi and Bukit Bintang monorail stops are just a short walk each way. The reception always seem to be under-staffed; probably due to the fasting month. Each night, we need to collect the WiFi user ID and password as it only lasts 24 hours. Hardly see any business travellers here nor mass tour groups (good thing).

The breakfast spread is poor for a 4-star hotel and keeps repeating each morning. The water pressure for the shower head is rather weak. TV channels on a CRT are rather limited and boring (by ASTRO).

On the second day of my stay, we came back to the room at 5pm and found housekeeping has not done the rounds yet. Shortly after, a knock on the door and we had to vacate for the housekeeper to do his work.

For the price paid, there are better options in the neighbourhood. Would not stay here given a choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AWWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur is located behind Low Yat Plaza, 10 mins walk to Sungei Wang Plaza, 10 mins to Lot 10 which is currently undergoing renovation and 10 mins walk to Berjaya Times Square. It is not too far away from the shopping areas but there are better hotels around the area as compared to this.

The service was poor. We arrived the hotel lobby at 4pm and was asked to wait for 45 mins for our rooms to be ready. The usual check-in time for hotels is 2pm and we were slightly late for the check-in but was asked to wait instead. What's more was they offered us a DOWNGRADE from Deluxe to Superior when we asked if there were other rooms available instead of waiting for 45mins. We have made our bookings 2 to 3 months back and have paid for the rooms but were only offered a DOWNGRADE without refund of the balance. The receptionist said that it wasn't her fault and tried pointing fingers saying that there were plenty of tourist at the moment (the hotel lobby was pretty full) and their Deluxe rooms were running out. It was really irresponsible of her to make such comments. It wasn't her faulty yes, but it was the Hotel's fault.

The next offer after asking her manager was for us to pay a top-up of 150ringgit/per/night (we have booked 2 Deluxe room) for an upgrade to Deluxe Club. It was ridiculous for us to pay the top-up as it was entirely a poor management of the Hotel hence I thought we shouldn't be paying for their poor management. After a good 20 to 30 mins at the reception, the manager offered us the Deluxe Club rooms without asking us to pay the top-up.

The next day morning, we went for the buffet breakfast in the hotel and thought that the standard of the food, the selection and the services were all disappointing. There were plenty of table left uncleared with all the plates and cups left behind by the previous guest but the staff took really long to clear the tables. The taste of the food wasn't fantastic and the selection was just average.

The only plus point of the hotel was the room was quite clean but still, I guess I will not give this hotel a second try for my next trip to KL.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AL_Yeo-Ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

It's been quite a while since we stayed at this hotel. The location is great and very central, close to mono-rail station and numerous shopping malls. Room satisfactory cleaned everyday. TV set was dated but I don't know whether they've been replaced now. The breakfast consisted in a vast selection of varieties even though quality wise could have been better. Our room was on the backside of the tower (20th floor), from our window the Petronas where prominently right behind us, but the street below us was a slum like area. Don't know if anything changed since then.
All in all satisfactory but given cheap accommodation rates in KL when compared to western rates you might need to check out other places!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here on a recent trip to Malaysia. Hotel is fairly old and the room I stayed in was a bit run down, including a bit of mold in the bathroom. Overall though it is convenient to a lot of shopping centers in the area, and it's a 10min walk to the Pavilion shopping mall where there are some good eateries. Take the time to walk to KLCC via the covered walkway starting at the pavilion instead of taking one of the cut throat taxi's camped outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Had stayed in other 2 hotels under the same hotel chain. Loved the room and the service of the last 2 hotels and therefore we decided to try this hotel but I was disappointed. I guess this hotel is older than the other 2 that I have stayed in.

The room looks tired and refurbishment is definitely needed. There are stains on the bed sheets and the bed cover. I guess the bed cover was really dusty because I started to have teary eyes due to dust when my partner was moving it. The wall tiles in the shower room have some crack lines and there are black stains along the joints of glass door and the wall.

The 1 thing that I wasn't very happy was that we had hanged the 'no disturb/privacy please' sign at the door so that we could catch some afternoon nap but still housekeeping guy knocked on the door and we were awoken. When we refused to answer the door to continue with our nap, they started calling our room which was really disturbing.

This hotel offers free Wifi, a big plus for travelers who need to stay online during the trips. However, the speed on the first night was ok but was terrible on the 2nd and 3rd day. Wasn't able to load a simple webpage. The receptionists was helpful and really attended to our questions. The breakfast buffer was ok.

The location is definitely a big plus of this hotel, only 5 mins walk to Sungai Wang and Low Yat. This was also the main reason, aside for the budget, why we had chosen this hotel over Royale Chulan which we had last stayed.

Would still consider this hotel for our next KL visit due to the location. But I would consider this hotel as overpriced if the above did not get improve.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights and I kinda of overall satisfied. The location is good (just 3min walk to Sungei Wang , Lot 10 shopping malls) The room is not big so for a single would be fine. No mini bar in the room if you are looking forward to. Iron is provided if you wish to do ironing...Internet was not all that good as it kept disconnecting. You don't have much TV channels to choose but the basic was there.

KL is popular with tourist from the Middle East as such hotels around Bukit Bintang are dominated by them that is...

Breakfast was all that unpleasant, crowded and not much food left by the time I step into the restuarant. The price is reasonable although I won't be staying there in near future should I be travelling up to KL again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happygal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#81 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
776 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#21 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
#88 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
#105 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#41 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#53 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang

Address: 17 - 21, Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#77 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $48 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang (formerly known as The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur) is located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur’s Golden Triangle. Our location is within a short walking distance of the monorail stations and major shopping centers including Sg. Wang Plaza, Times Square, Lot 10, Starhill Gallery, Pavilion and the entertainment hub along the famous Bintang Walk. With a choice of Superior or Deluxe rooms, Executive Suites and The Royale Suite, each guest room has individually controlled air conditioning, telephone with voicemail, hairdryer, remote controlled TV with BBC cable services, coffee and tea making facilities, personal safe as well as broadband internet access to our Club floors. The hotel’s Executive Floors consist of the Royale Club rooms, Deluxe Club rooms, Executive Suites and Royale Suite. Privileges include continental breakfast, evening refreshments and all-day coffee and tea served at The Royale Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur
Royale Bintang Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Bintang Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing