We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“staff needs more training.”
Review of Swiss-Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Hotel
Ranked #97 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“staff needs more training.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Check in process: Was slow & we did request an early check in. We extremly jet lagged from our plane trip & all we wanted was to rest. However the front desk lady (Amy) told us we had to wait 2 hours for our room to be ready. we were a married couple & she offered us two single bed to start off without giving us an options for our bed when our booking clearly stated we wanted a double bed or queen bed. After that she didnt had a system of how she would inform us when the room was ready & we were just kept waiting. Nevertheless went we got to our room we just crashed as we were so tired. The bed and pillows were just average in comfort.

Location: There was alot construction going on so it was always an effort to cross the road and we could hear noise from our bedroom. I love that its walking distance to the main city shopping area & lots of great places go eat.

Restaurant: we went to have breakfast before our check in. I would say food is average however service is amazing. the waiter and waitress cleared the dishes so quickly.

Bar: Its so quiet & i can understand why, cuz drinks are quite expensive for a four star hotel. The barman has no knowledge in his cocktail. Firstly went i was giving him my order there was no eye contact, he was looking at the tv screen which was playing soccer. (errrr.. we were his only guest there that night) he had to use an iphone to google the recipe. (understandable every bar person does it once in awhile) But he still got it wrong, we ordered. long island ice tea & mai tai (it was not was its meant to taste like esp When i am bar person myself) Highly do not recomend going to the bar except if u are desperate for a beer. i do not recomend drinking their wine or cocktail.

Room service: i thought it was quite hillarious when i wanted to order a hot green tea to be sent to my room. the restaurant told me that in room service they only serve it in a plastic cup!!!! ermm??? what!!! for 12RM!!! reallyyyy?? hot drink in a plastic cup? i dont get it.

Check out process: We went down to find out the checking procedures as we had to leave early. It was uninformative & staff were not attentive. (it was another girl)

I wouldnt recomend staying here. There were much better hotels around.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindyrella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    521
    319
    133
    69
See reviews for
312
397
87
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

3 of my working Colleges & I were at this Hotel in 2002 when we were taking part in the 1st ever Tea & Coffee world cup exhibition . The 5 days were very stressful at the exhibition & we wanted to relax. The breakfast was fantastic & the menu suited us. The rates were very reasonable & we used the pool only at night when it was quite. The room service was prompt. The staff were Courteous & Helpful . The shopping in the area was not all that great but enjoyed the street life in the night with the live shows. The train station nearby was a bonus for us to be away from the day traffic rush. All in all it was a nice & memorable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harsha_Pilapitiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A last minute trip to KL, my favorite hotel in KL was fully booked. I tried Swiss Garden Hotel for a night stay.
The room are nice and since I had a high floor, the traffic noise wasn't a bother.
Morning's breakfast buffet is the standard fare and nothing special to differentiate. I wish hotel managements in KL would think of ways to making their breakfast different from each other.
The hotel is right along Jalan Pudu and there are few eateries around the corner. Took me about 10 mins walking around the corner to a local coffee shop. And getting to the busy Bukit Bintang or KLCC area, you will need to hail a cab and brave KL's notorious traffic jam.
Overall, the hotel is nice but it could do with a bit of upgrading as I feel the hotel could do with a bit of sprucing up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesTanSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahman2, Manager at Swiss-Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Mr. James,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your constructive comments about your overall stay experience. Thanks for sharing your feedback in regards to the buffet breakfast items variety. My Chef has been acknowledged about improving needed. And we will also certainly take note on the room condition. For info the ground work on the room refurbishment project is already in the pipeline.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Abd Rahman Ahmad
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Really disgusting : pillow and bedding in general, toilet and floor also are dirty and grotty
Very disappointed, doesn't worth the price paid, and it supposed to be an 4 stars hotel !!!! it's really a shame...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sajo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahman2, Manager at Swiss-Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Sajo,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your recent stay at Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences. I am very sorry to hear about your discomfort experience with the room condition and we truly appreciate your constructive comments. For info we endlessly working towards improving our products and services hence I would appreciate if you could contact me directly at my email address, hm_sgr@swissgarden.com . I basically need your help in providing a bit more information on your experience with our room. Sincerely, I wish that we could have address the issues highlighted while you are still in house.

Once again, thank you for your time. I sincerely hope that you would give us another opportunity in future and hope to hear from you soon.

Best Regards,

Abd Rahman Ahmad
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Gold Coast
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Considering hotels are very cheap in KL (even the top tier hotels are cheap) this hotel was very much on the average side.
Food, however dinner and lunch is not bad at all. We did not have breakfast there as it was very expensive. Best breakfast we had was down the road with locally made Teh tarik.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaryd N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahman2, Manager at Swiss-Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Jaryd N,

Thank you for taking your time to post your comment and to share with other Tripadvisor users about your recent stay at Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuala Lumpur.

Once again, thank you for your kind reviews and we certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon.

Abd Rahman Ahmad
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moradabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The staff was really polite n helpful. The rooms were neat n tidy. Overall a marvellous place to stay. The front view from the room gives you a lively feeling. I Would suggest booking a room prior to arrival so as to avoid any last minute hassle as this place is mostly occupied. You can also get a tour guidance from the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbdullahObaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahman2, Manager at Swiss-Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Abdullah,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur. It was a true pleasure to have you with us & thank you for kind review regarding our team members.

Once again, thank you for your kind reviews and we certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again soon.

Abd Rahman Ahmad
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Awful in every way. Rooms stink of must and smoke. Traffic noise from road. Breakfast is chaos. No sign whatever of any management. No concept of no smoking floors. There are many other hotel options in KL so my advice is to completely avoid this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessTraveller088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rahman2, Manager at Swiss-Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We regret to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with our room condition. For your kind information we feature 4 floors (4, 5, 6 and 15) as the smoking floor and whereas other floors been designated as non-smoking floors. Based on our standard the smoking rooms will be ventilate and ionized in order to reduce the cigarette smell prior to the new check-in. I was also sad to know that your complaint was not attended. Thanks to your constructive comments, I will investigate further and we will run through the work process and rest assured that we will train our staff on attending to guests requests/complaints and we will also enforce the standard set accordingly.

Once again, thank you and I hope that you would give us another opportunity and see you at Swiss-Garden soon.

Thank you and kind regards,

Abd Rahman Ahmad
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur
The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Ho...
#104 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#74 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang
Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang
#218 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
#96 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.7 mi away
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
#89 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Hotel

Property: Swiss-Garden Hotel
Address: 117 Jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Modern Hotel with terraced design, situated within minutes of business & commercial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Swiss-Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Garden Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Garden Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing