We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magnificent Treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #29 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Sarawak
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Magnificent Treat!”
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Stayed in Westin KL for 3 nights and absolutely love the hotel!! Our room is sooooooooooooooo nice and comfy, the beds are heavenly, and the service level is way above some of the 5-stars which we've stayed in before. Love the little personal touch such as the complimentary refresher drinks at the lobby, and the popsicles by the pool. The dimsum buffet (though slightly pricey!) was probably worth every penny especially the congee which I've had two generous helpings :p
Love the fact that the hotel is situated right opposite Pavillion Mall too. Head down to the ground floor for the Food Republic foodcourt and you'll be spoilt for choice...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sotsotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 25, 2010
Warm greetings from The Westin Kuala Lumpur.

We thank you for staying with us and we are delighted to hear you had a renewing experience.

All of us here look forward to welcoming you again should travel plans bring you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Best wishes



Kim Powley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    809
    263
    97
    63
See reviews for
541
641
166
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
HongKong
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2010

My friend and I are frequent traveller and this is second times in Kuala Lumpur.... First time was stayed at BukitBintang area. And the second hotel was at The Westin Kuala Lumpur. The Westin location is fantastic, is so much convenience to go for shopping and look for an awesome restaurants & shopping mall…such as Sungai Wang, Pavilion, Lot 10, etc.. Here, I would like to say is the staff at Executive Club Lounge. My friend and I have been very pleased with the service, comfort, food and facilities provided by the Westin Executive Club. The staff is awsome and great!! Someone who played a significant role in ensuring our stay at the Westin was both enjoyable and memorable is Myn, Elaine and Odie in the Executive Lounge, they are such a wonderful person, someone who caters to the needs of their guests. They’re gracious and intuitive, what a wonderful ambassador for the Westin. We would remember their kindness to us. It was very much appreciated, and If any of my friends decide to Malaysia I will be recommending the Westin Hotel for their accommodation the way we were received by the staff was way beyond excellent. Besides, we also would like to say the Prego is marvelous!!! If anyone of you like Italian foods and great champagne, you have to go there for Sunday Brunch!!CHEERS

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whateverilike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 21, 2010
Warm greetings from The Westin Kuala Lumpur.

We thank you for staying with us and it is a delight to hear that you had a renewing experience.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you again should travel plans bring you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Best wishes



Kim Powley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Currently i am now in the hotel itself and having a mix feeling about the choice i've made today. I've made a last minutes decision of having a short break at this hotel yesterday and booked an Executive Club room with Twin tower view for two nights. Something came up, and my mom wanted to join us and so, i called the hotel and told them i like to upgrade my room to the Westin Suite (which of course requested with the same view but this was not re-confirm as i thought that they would know that i wanted the twin tower view) Having said that which i would explain it later..upon arrival at the hotel, the manager namely Ivy escorted me to the club for check-in..Everything was okay..had a drink for awhile at the club while they processing my check-in..Upon check-in at the room,.the suite was just as normal..not much of a wow factor..not like other hotel's suite which this one, personally i think does not up to the standard i hoping for..nevertheless, the suite is spacious..there's a living room, a dining area connected to the master room and a bathroom. In room facilities, i would say just okay comparing to other hotel's suites that i've been before..the tv is an old kinda design (where other 5 stars hotels been offering LCD/plasma tv for quite sometime), dvd player with surround system, a marble top dining table with adequate number of sitting, the suite has a one kind of smell which later called up the h/keeping to spray some fragrance in the room..the bathroom comes with a shower & a bath tub which at the same time you can enjoy the view of the city.

Okay, now about the view..i specifically told the reservationist that i wanted a twin tower view and this was NOT MET!..eventhough, i am a local and seen the twin tower many times but then, i've never seen it from higher place..yeah, maybe soem of you thinks that oh well, its just a view but to me..i'm a local and im living very nearby to the hotel and i come and spend over thousand a night just to enjoy the view from this room and this was not met????..How dissapointed i became..called up the reservation and they told me that they dont have any suite that faces the twin tower except the ambassador suite! Can you imagine a special room like the suite room does not offer anything special like the view of the twin tower?? ridiculous dont you think so?? Again, i'm so frustrated about this but i dont want to ruin my mom's & everybody's mood and so i didnt complain.
I went to the club and told one of the staff there..i wanted to checkout the next day and she said okay..Just hoping that they wont charge any penalty for the sudden cancellation on the 2nd night stay.

Anyway, honestly, i would say that the hotel is okay..nice lobby, nice looking restaurant..nice on the outside..but definately..the suite does not up to my liking..however, i would definately recommend this hotel to my contact as it is located in a very good area.

To the hotel, please..do not mislead your guests as we definately hates it when we come to your hotel to enjoy the stay but at the end of the day felt being cheated right to the face.

On the other note, i felt that the club should comes out with more variety of the snacks offered during the evening cocktail session as there's nothing much apart from the cheese & crackers, hors d'oeuvres, a pastry & a very simple sweet & savoury station and the taste was rather bland and does not look appealing.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 19, 2010
Warm greetings from The Westin Kuala Lumpur.

First and foremost, we thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience.

With regard to the room change, we understand that you agreed to do so even though our associate from the Executive Club showed you the Suite and specifically mentioned that it does not have a twin tower view. We would like to clarify that we did not at any one time mislead our guests about the view.

We have 10 different Cocktail menus that rotate on a daily basis. However, we will share your feedback with our Culinary team to see how this can be further improved.

We understand that there was no penalty charges imposed for cancelling the second night.

Once again, we appreciate your constructive feedbacks and would definitely improve on areas that did not meet your expectations.

My team and I look forward to your next stay and this time, we hope you would be able to enjoy a room with a twin tower view.

Best wishes


Kim Powley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Being a SPG gold card holder and having spent most of my travel at westin hotels around the world i have to rate this hotel as the worst.From check in where i was assited by a very rude person mr faizal who did not understand what benefits a gold card holder was,his attitude stinks and did not even greet or end the reservation with enjoy your stay he had a major attitude problem and when i asked him any question he replied in an irratible way.
The rooms are old and tired,bathroom doors were broken,and carpets gave the room a fowl smell.i stayed at the executive club floor, the executive club has nothing but drinks and a couple of cookies,service there was also very bad,staff all looked unhappy.
Breakfast quality was good but again the service very bad the management looked confused and under pressure all the time and they sure did try to get you out of there as soon as possible.
House keeping was very poor and room tables were never wiped.
I would never reccomend this too any one travelling to KL , dont be fooled by the name.
Very un happy SPG member(who by the way will be on platinum very soon so i know the westin group)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 24, 2010
Warm greetings from The Westin Kuala Lumpur.

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory experience.

We have taken note and shared with the team all of your constructive comments. We view these comments very seriously and will definitely take the appropriate action to improve ourselves.

We understand your impression about our hotel has been marred but we hope you would give us an opportunity to make amends and let us welcome you back. Please write to me directly at kim.powley@westin.com should you plan to revisit. I will personally look into your booking and this time, ensure you will have a renewing experience.

Once again, thank you for your invaluable feedback and look forward to your continuous support.

best wishes



Kim Powley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

we had some hiccups with travel arrangements and passports being lost and the westin helped us out brilliantly... great hotel, great staff and overall a great experience

Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HarvLace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

The Westin Hotel in KL Is a smallish hotel with a very small pool. The executive club has a small choice of breakfast. It is a very good place for familes but service isn't great. Nice staff and average rooms.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 13, 2010
Warm greetings from The Westin Kuala Lumpur.

We thank you for staying with us and appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience.

Do stay with us again should travel plans bring you back to Kuala Lumpur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes


Kim Powley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

A warm welcome at check in, absolute co-operation with request for adjoining rooms, non smoking level. Rooms are generous and engaging and are kept modern, crisp and clean.. Where possible we will always stay at the Westin Hotels throughout Australia and definitely when we travel overseas.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RILEY00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Warm greetings from The Westin Kuala Lumpur.

We rhank you for staying with us and it is indeed a delight to hear you had a renewing experience.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you again should travel plans bring you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Best wishes


Kim Powley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,472 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,614 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Property: The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Address: The Westin Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Kuala Lumpur is an oasis located on the vibrant streets of Jalan Bukit Bintang. The strategic location of this five-star luxury hotel puts Kuala Lumpur’s best shopping, entertainment and local attractions right at your doorstep, which also includes Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur Tower and Pavilion KL shopping mall which are just minutes away. From signature Westin Heavenly® Bed to our fully equipped Westin WORKOUT®, the hotel offers world-class facilities and services that inspire you to be at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Westin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing