We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has a very small pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #29 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Has a very small pool.”
Reviewed January 12, 2010

The Westin Hotel in KL Is a smallish hotel with a very small pool. The executive club has a small choice of breakfast. It is a very good place for familes but service isn't great. Nice staff and average rooms.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 13, 2010
Warm greetings from The Westin Kuala Lumpur.

We thank you for staying with us and appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience.

Do stay with us again should travel plans bring you back to Kuala Lumpur. My team and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes


Kim Powley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,156
    790
    259
    97
    59
See reviews for
520
627
164
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

A warm welcome at check in, absolute co-operation with request for adjoining rooms, non smoking level. Rooms are generous and engaging and are kept modern, crisp and clean.. Where possible we will always stay at the Westin Hotels throughout Australia and definitely when we travel overseas.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RILEY00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Warm greetings from The Westin Kuala Lumpur.

We rhank you for staying with us and it is indeed a delight to hear you had a renewing experience.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you again should travel plans bring you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Best wishes


Kim Powley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

This place is amazing. Massive rooms, beautifully decorated, helpful staff in a central location. The price is your choice but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirEdthe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
Warm Greetings from The Westin Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your support and we are delighted to hear you had a renewing experience.

All of us here look forward to your return should travel plans bring you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Best wishes and Happy New Year



Kim Powley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2010

The executive apartments were spacious, comfortable and very much like a home. The breakfast was fantastic. There was a huge variety of different foods. The service and friendliness of staff was great. We felt very comfortable staying there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capetownqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 3, 2010
Warm greetings from The Westin Kuala Lumpur.

We thank you for your support and delighted to hear you had a renewing experience .

Look forward to welcoming you again whenever travel plans bring you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Best wishes and Happy New Year



Kim Powley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

My husband and I with our 2 year old daughter stayed 5 nights in Nov '08.
Check in was a bit of a problem as they couldn't find my booking as I booked through Expedia. They sat us down and sorted it out but it took a good 20 minutes. Luckily I had a copy of my booking to show them.
The room had a city view overlooking the pool. Big bathrooms with seperate shower and bath. I did have to call housekeeping straight away to come and clean the bath and the walls above it. It had dried up tissues stuck to the walls and the bath. Pretty slack for a 5 star hotel.
As my husband was unfortunatley sick with the flu while we were there then my daughter, we spent a fair amount of time in the room. The beds were actually too soft for our liking with too many layers on top, but that's just personal taste.
The room was large enough for the 3 or us, a nice minibar/fridge area and lounge next to the window. The condition of the room was very good as well.
Room service is usually pricey but here it was very expensive. Thankfully the Pavillion is literally across the road and has a great food hall and a huge variety of choices at cheap prices. A funny feeling having the doorman open the entrance doors to the hotel for you while you are bringing in KFC to take up to the room.

Staff were attentive and helpful for information when asked at the conceirge desk. I took my daughter to the kids club a couple of times and stayed with her. Plenty to do in there but aimed at more 10 years and younger I'd say. Very clean but you wouldn't want more than a dozen kids in there due to the size of it.

Spent a few hours by the pool. Noisy due to air conditioners running in buildings next door. But a bit of an oasis otherwise. Had a childrens pool which was good for us.
As we had a late flight on check out, we got to stay a few hours extra in our room then they stored our luggage and we stayed around the pool for the afternoon.
Also we couldn't find my daughters doll once we had check out of the room. The staff were great in trying to locate it, contacting housekeeping to see if they had it, taking me up to the room and then finding it on top of our stored luggage.

Now breakfasts were amazing. Everything you could think of and then more. Virgin marys and fresh squeezed juice. Nothing was too much for the staff to do for you. Being a muslim country only turkey bacon but there is so much to choose from it doesn't matter. Little sections for different foods such as indian, japenese, malyasian, english with staff cooking on the spot what you wanted. Then the bakery section was just sublime. Fresh pancakes, waffles, smoothies made to order. Pastries galore to chose from.
My husband was too sick to appreciate the food and wants to go back no matter the cost just to eat the breakfasts.

Check out was fine but on returning home found my credit card was later charged around $50. On emailing the reply was a charge for mini bar which we did not use. Husband was too sick and I had my own drinks. On explaining this they refunded the money but due to exchange rates fluctating I was out about $10.00 once completed and being charged bank fee. So I'm a bit concerned on what the housekeeping staff are doing.

Other than the check in and mini bar charge we really enjoyed this hotel. Location is great for shopping which is really what KL is all about anyway.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyonhoildays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We visited KL right before Christmas with our 3 children, we decided to stay on the club level as the rooms were a little bigger. We were not dissapointed. The staff at the Club went out of there way to accomodate our needs. We booked all of our daily tours and outings with this group and were very happy with their suggestions. We had two rooms as we had 2 additional family members in our group and the rooms were great size to accomodate our bigger family. I would definitly stay at the Westin KL on a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbocozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I was expecting a lot more from this hotel as it came highly recommended. I have mixed feelings about my stay. The hotel staff were certainly very polite and helpful, although I was a bit dissapointed to receive an email a few days before my stay informing me of closure of the pool and spa area during my visit. As a compensation, hotel guests were allowed to use the pool at the Marriot next door but I felt a bit like an illegal immigrant sneaking over the boarder when I did that. They informed me quite abruptly that I was only allowed to use the pool when I got there and I felt that i might get a telling off if I was caught spying through at the facilities their hotel guests were enjoying.
In addition to this I ate breakfast in the hotel once which was quite dissapointing. The quality was not great and the waiter seemed more confused than me by the menu.
On the plus side, the cigar lounge is nice and relaxing with very friendly staff and the hotel bar was quite lively with a Cuban band playing while I was there.

The main plus for me was the location, but saying that there are plenty of other options in this area. Overally I wouldn't stay in the Westin if I returned to KL as I think there are far better options for the price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melsh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 20, 2009
Warm greetings from The Westin Kuala Lumpur.

We thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unavailability of the pool during your stay. We hope you understand that it is imperative to get the it fixed.

We hope you would give us an opportunity to make amends and let us welcome you back.

Best wishes


Kim Powley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#47 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Property: The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Address: The Westin Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Kuala Lumpur is an oasis located on the vibrant streets of Jalan Bukit Bintang. The strategic location of this five-star luxury hotel puts Kuala Lumpur’s best shopping, entertainment and local attractions right at your doorstep, which also includes Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur Tower and Pavilion KL shopping mall which are just minutes away. From signature Westin Heavenly® Bed to our fully equipped Westin WORKOUT®, the hotel offers world-class facilities and services that inspire you to be at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Westin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing