We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Escape to KL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #26 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I recently travelled with My Holiday Centre to Malaysia and stayed for 4 nights at the Westin Kuala Lumpur. I'd highly recommend this for a quick escape..... and shopping / golfing expedition!

We caught up with great friends in KL but had plenty of time to explore the city and were given some great advice from our travel agent - Kris. The breaky was included in our deal which made the stay excellent value - I'd recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Greetings Glen A

We thank you for the great review and support.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,138 - 1,144 of 2,624 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

We normally stay at the Traders, however it was fully booked for easter.

We decided to stay at the Westin, based on reviews and location.

We arrived for our stay around 11.30pm and our checkin was very quick and efficient. Immediately upfront the lady at the counter asked if we would like a late checkout. I thought that was great and rarely happens. She knew that we arrived so late and that it was probably fair to offer us a late checkout.

Our c/card was required as per usual. However I dont believe we were made aware that a 8000 ringit (AUD2600) deposit would be taken. Both myself and my husband don't believe we were told the amount. The issue with this was that I went down the next day and asked to pay for our room in advance (so I could be sure I could use the c/card for all my shopping and know that the room was paid). Anyway they took the amount for our room $2300 AUD, in addition to what had already been taken which we weren't aware of until we checked our statement online. Apparently, we will be refunded the first deposit in full so I will give it a few days. Now this could have occurred due to me wanting to pay the room upfront, but Im not really sure. If we had of been told that it was a $8000 ringgit deposit on our room, I would never have gone down and paid (again).

Anyway, checkin was quick and efficient. We were in our room in less than 10 minutes. We had pre-requested a roll away bed on our booking but it wasn't placed in our room. I did ask the lady at reception and she arranged it, and it arrived in about 20 minutes all made up with, slippers gown towels etc.

We stayed in one of the Suites. I thought for the size of the room we got a really good price for our 7 night stay. It had a huge extra living space (table, lounge, study table and TV). Great for a family as there are two TVs so you don't have to watch kids tv shows all the time!! We had the roll away next to our bed in the room, still enough room to move around. The Suite had a toilet/basin as you walked into the suite, separate to the bathroom. So two toilets did come in handy.

Ive heard people talk about the hot water situations, we never experience any problems, I had beautiful hot showers a few times a day and never any issues with supply.

The breakfast which was included with the room was pretty phenomenal. My first day there, I thought it was a little quiet and felt like it was a business hotel and we were a little out of place being family travellers. However this quickly went away. The staff in the breakfast room were so beautiful. Always smiling and helpful and a real highlight to our start to the day. I love how much they love and value children in Asian countries.

We also utilised the Executive Lounge. Large and spacious and there was not problem taking our children there. In fact they even catered for them by making sure there were some cookies and lollies available. The Exec Lounge was a perfect place to hangout after coming back from a morning/arvo of shopping. We did not try the cocktail hour however.

The location of the hotel was fantastic and we were pleased for the change to the Traders. Given that you had the Pavillion across the road, Sungai Wang for smaller purchases (electrical, phone covers etc) and Lot 10 for another selection of shops. They also run a free shuttle from the Hotel to the Twin Towers (Suria KLCC) each day (not sat/sundays).

Highlights were definitely the staff members, executive lounge and location.

The hotel is getting older and the only place I noticed it was in the rooms. However they were wonderfully serviced each day. We had the same person service our room most days (1807). He was wonderful and knew our routine so it was always ready for us.
The common areas all have excellent upkeep/refurbishment.
We had issues with a TV clicking and a DVD player which did not work. I phoned reception and they had two servicemen in our room within 15 minutes to fix it, which they did.

So whilst the Westin might not spring to mind when you are thinking of a family trip, do consider it. The issue in relation to our double payment may have occurred because I did something out of the ordinary and asked to pay for our stay upfront..Im not sure. Certainly not blaming anyone as they were all very nice and helpful, I just don't normally miss things and wouldn't have missed being told the deposit was 8000 ringgit.

Room Tip: If your booking a Suite, ask to see if you can get a room with a view of the towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RenniePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Greetings RenniePerth

Thank you very much for giving us an opportunity to show you our hospitality and delighted to know you have made a good second choice.

It is a standard practice to collect sufficient deposit to cover the entire stay plus some extras for incidentals but the Front Desk associate should explained to you. Also, the second associate should do an offline charge based on the arrival code instead of swiping the card again. As I am writing this response, our Credit Department has already been in contact with the bank to refund the initial deposit to you. Please accept our apologies for this blunder.

Yes, the hotel is indeed getting old in spite of our constant efforts to maintain the building. Refurbishment plans are in the pipeline but unfortunately we are unable to communicate the exact date.

Once again, we sincerely appreciate your support and feedbacks and look forward to your return soon.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel because of the location. The room is spacious, good service, and the beat part is the bed. Had a good sleep during the stay...

The hotel is not new so found a bit dated but very well maintained.

With the price, it is totally worth to stay at Westin KL.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Suryo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Greetings Suryo W

We thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur - good to know you had a great stay.

Yes as you have rightly said, the hotel is already 10 years old but despite its age, we ensure that it is well maintained - thank you for noticing.

Please come back again whenever you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located opposite Pavilion, it takes less than a minute to enter a shopping paradise.

Check-in was a breeze and complimentary early check-in was very welcomed. Thank you. Room is spacious and oversees the mall. However, Heavenly bed at Westin felt not-so-heavenly compared to other Westin property, despite the fact I am not a big fan of Westin series. In addition, hotel is so proud of the bedding that they had a whole bed on exhibition at the lobby for sale.

Internet is not complimentary despite SPG membership.

Prego restaurant was a definite hit with great food and great service - a must-try!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxJw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Greetings LuxJw

We thank you for staying with us and good to know you had a great arrival experience.

Appreciate your feedback regarding the bed. All the beds in our rooms have already been replaced with new ones and the beds are turned every quarter. Nevertheless we will still have Housekeeping check on this.

Internet service is complimentary in all Restaurants & Bars and public areas. We are sorry that this was not communicated to you upon check in.

Once again, thank you for your feedbacks and look forward to your return soon.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Westin in Kuala Lumpur is strategically located for both Business and Leisure. The breakfast in the Club Lounge is sumptuous and so also the Happy Hours! Staff are extremely hospitable and go out of their way to make guests comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay in the Club rooms - its good value for money. The shopping malls are close by so carry enough m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venkumurthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Greetings Venkumurthi

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur and appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel.

Please come back again whenever you return to Kuala Lumpur. All of us here look forward to welcoming you back.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Me and my family had a really amazing dining experience at Five Sen5es, Westin KL! Apart from the drool worthy dimsum buffet, the staff were exceptional and really impressive with their care and service, from kitchen to the serving floor. When we reached, the restaurant manager, Ms Chon Wai Ling greeted us with a smile and was ever ready to attend to any of our requests. She also dropped by a few times to check that we were okay. The service staff was exceptional and courteous whenever they came to serve us at the table. I have been to a few hotel restaurants of the same calibre and most of the time, you will have the service staff ready with a smile but the Chefs or Servera at the buffet spread may not be so friendly. Imagine our surprise when everyone was equally friendly and warm at Five Sen5es (KUDOS!). So impressed were we that we're already planning on a return visit :) THANK YOU for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pingpingjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Greetings pingpingjo

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedbacks, which have boosted the morale of the entire team.

Extremely happy to hear the team provided personal and instinctive experiences.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

we had 3 wonderful days at this hotel over Easter. Our room was most comfortable and the bed was really great for a good nights sleep. We appreciated the large desk and sofa in the room. The bathroom was quite big with a great supply of high quality toiletries. Shower was excellent!!!

The mini bar was locked but that was not a problem for us.

The reception was not as efficient as we thought it could be. It was slow and staff disappeared behind closed doors during the checkin and we do not know why this happened. It left us wondering what was happening. Nevertheless the staff were polite. On the other hand checkout was quick and most efficient.

We found the concierge staff to be friendly and excellent at their job. They provided advice on where to go and what to see in KL in a happy way. They all appeared to really like their job. Well done.

We dod not eat at the restaurants as we dined with friends in outside restaurants, although we did think the costs at the Westin were rather high.

Overall a great stay and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulscan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Greetings paulscan

Thank you for staying with us and your time in reviewing our hotel.

I am very shocked to read the feedback on the 3rd paragraph. I believe the person who checked you in went to the back to verify some information but at least have the basic countesy to let you know. Please accept my apologies.

On a positive note, good to know the team from Concierge provided great experience.

Once again, thank you and see you again soon.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
930 reviews
0 mi away
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,935 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,851 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Address: The Westin Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $122 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Kuala Lumpur is an oasis located on the vibrant streets of Jalan Bukit Bintang. The strategic location of this five-star luxury hotel puts Kuala Lumpur’s best shopping, entertainment and local attractions right at your doorstep, which also includes Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur Tower and Pavilion KL shopping mall which are just minutes away. From signature Westin Heavenly® Bed to our fully equipped Westin WORKOUT®, the hotel offers world-class facilities and services that inspire you to be at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Westin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing