We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #24 of 353 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at the Westin for just one night in August 08, in an executive room, which meant we could use the lounge on the 33rd floor. The lounge had an excellent breakfast and a good selection of drinks for evening cocktails. Our check in was also carried out in the lounge, which gave us a very nice welcome.

The hotel bedroom was very nicely furnished and the bathroom had a separate bath and shower, which was good.

The location is excellent, with a huge shopping mall just over the road and a metro station about 5 minutes walk away.

There is a good view of the Petronas Towers, although a new tower is being built in front so you just see one tower!

The only down side was our evening meal which we took in the restaurant was not good, so I wouldn't recommend eating a meal there - however there are so many restaurants by the hotel there is no real need to. Also we booked a 'limosine' pick up from the airport through the hotel as there were 4 of us travelling - this turned out to be an old bus with no seatbelts. We got a hotel taxi back, which was half the price and much newer.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Mandus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,351 - 2,357 of 2,703 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2008

I have stayed at The Westin once before with my family. This time I only went with my brother and we got upgraded to an executive suite with view over Bukit Bintang and KL Tower.
I have nothing bad to says about either the rooms or the hotel. The suite was very spacious with a separate living room and bed room area.
The bathroom also has view over the city, one time I caught myself standing in the shower for too long while watching the amazing view.

Because we stayed in a suite we also got access to the executive floor. We could choose to have our breakfast there or by the swimmingpool at the 4th floor. We also had complimentary evening snack and cocktails, could you ask for more?
The staff in the lobby is very nice and helped us with our question. to find the best shopping mall, where to eat etc, etc.

Next time I visit K.L I will definitely stay at The Westin. I recommend this hotel to both business and leisure travellers. It's very convinient located at Bukit Bintang, with easy access around the city.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank xsunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

I get better service from a three star hotel elsewhere. Having chosen Westin based on the reviews here, I am deeply disheartened. Stars, class and good service certainly does not go hand in hand in Westin KL.

We have just returned from a 2 nights stay in Westin KL. Stayed in a deluxe club room. The room was clean, the bed was heavenly and breakfast spread was excellent...but.

From the front desk to "The Living Room" restaurant. Service, hospitality and warmthness is overall lousy and inefficient. The hotel staff just do not know how to smile to the guests. I was there with my family and four kids and we certainly felt unwelcomed in this five star hotel.

During arrival and breakfast, they did not greet us welcome nor give us a good morning greet. The most basic of customer service skill was lacking big time. And I think the Living Room restaurant should change their motto because we did not have a great time there. Coffee was served after almost twenty minutes, in the middle of our meals we just gave up and HAD to asked the waitress for our coffee, which was really ridiculous!!

After filing a complaint to the manager on duty and right after the complaint was made, the staff became more friendly and they smiled more. The manager gave us chocolates and waived few charges as a form of apology.

I won't come back to this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Checked in for a weekend stay at the Westin. We were offered a package upgrade, including club access and some other freebies for a small extra charge which we took.

Initial impressions were good. Decent decor, the room was nice, bed was comfortable.

Things started to go awry in the evening. We decided to go to the club lounge for a drink before heading out for dinner. There were no seats available.

It took a while before we were attended by any service staff. When we were attended, we were just told sorry no seats. There was no attempt whatsoever to ask at least for us to sit in the waiting area outside and that they would come to us as soon as a table was free.

AFter waiting a while more, we decided to forego and leave. btw, the club lounge is tiny..

On the day we were to check out, it was a sunday morning. We did not ask for a wake up call.

Despite that, the phone rang at 8.00am. I answered and it was someone from the reception desk. They wanted to know what time i was checking out!

Never, in all my years of staying at hotels, had I ever received an early morning call to ask what time i would be checking out. There is already an express requirement as to check out time. If i wanted a late check out, i would have asked. If i check out late without asking,then of course i may be susceptible to late charges, but there was no reason for the call.

I told them i would check out when i checked out and hung up.

Credit where credit is due, but the westin has, by far, the best breakfast buffet spread of any hotel i have ever been to. So after being woken up early, we proceeded to go down for breakfast.

As the restaurant was quite full, we were directed to a counter seat. I asked the waiter to let us know once a table was free so that we could move.

Tables came and went free, no waiter came back. SO i called the waiter again and asked if he could let us have the next free table.

Again, tables came and went free, no one came back to us. In the end, completely exasperated by this stage, we just went and sat at the next free table that came up.

During check out, I mentioned to the manager at the check out counter, about the fact that we had been woken up with an inane question.

Instead of at least an apology, all that i was told was... this is their hotel policy.

finally, when picking up the car, we had to pay some quite high, for malaysia parking charges and valet fees.

i usually stay at the ritz-carlton in KL. for a change i thoguht i would give the westin a try.

after this particular experience, i know where ill be staying the next time i go there, and it wont be the westin.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tankd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

2 nights in the Westin KL in late July 2008.
The Hotel is very well known in the city and the location is excellent but only if you are going for shopping. It is located on the main avenue where all branded shops and good restaurants are.

All rooms are well furnished and very clean, the Hotel architecture is modern and has its own charm, it is sometimes hard to find your way because of the multiple entrance, stairs and the lack of signs inside. But overall it is a beautiful place to stay.

On the other hand you are in the middle of the traffic jam, 24/24, don't go there if you are in a business trip, this Hotel is more for leisure. staff is very slow and my checking took ages. The Lobby is small, very messy and very very noisy, maybe because I arrived on Sunday. In the restaurant, you will have 5 or 6 waiters in a corner looking at you without taking any initiative, quite interesting situation, a new concept where you help your self ?...

All in all, it is a good choice if you have your time and you want to stop by KL for a Shopping week end.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chrisvovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

This is a great hotel with a great location just in front of one of the newest Shopping Center Pavilion with all the greatest (and expensive) brands all over the world. Try to go to the upper floors, and you’ll find some good deals, just a suggestion.

Room: Great room, with a lovely panoramic window. Bathroom with a nice window through the room.

Breakfast: lot’s of variety (good natural fruit juices, and cakes)

Concierge: Not to good. Every time we wanted to go out and see something, they didn’t helped us too much. Something to improve. Please seriously consider to be kinder.

East restaurant: very well decorated area. The food is amazing. The staff very helpful.

Hotel’s bar: good during the week, but at the weekends it becomes a prostitute bar. Or I guess it was… It seems like... I don’t know, but we didn’t felt very well there...

Swimming pool: it’s enough for a city hotel. Don’t have sun in some parts of the day. But it’s ok.

The city itself: Very nice and safe. We were 2 young girls, and never had any problems walking around alone during the day. At day we always catch a low cost cab. If you want to go out, go to the Hilton’s bar, always with life music, good entertainment.

Tips: Catch a low taxi from the airport to the city, it’s not so expensive as the VIP one, and also has air condition; Do a sightseeing tour to see all the most important monuments, and then decided by yourself the most important ones to you and then visit them by taxi. It’s cheap… Visit Petaling Street, Malaysian Eye, Petronas…

Overall, the hotel worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sofilop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed in Westin for 2 nights, arriving from a long flight from Europe, and we had such a nice stay! The design of the hotel is just great. The lobby is beautiful and so trendy, with music playing all the time, and candles all around at night time. The rooms are classy and large. The bed is just fantastic. They call it heavenly bed. It makes it difficult to get out of your bed in the morning! Breakfast is amazing with so many items available. You can get Japanese, Indian, Chinese, Malay, and the best of western. The breakfast room is gorgeous, so you don't feel like in a buffet restaurant.
The hotel is well located too. It is right in the center of the town. Across the street is one of the best KL shopping center, with a large choice of restaurants and designers boutiques.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romu73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0 mi away
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur
#15 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
2,682 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#49 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
3,034 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
2,786 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Address: The Westin Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $120 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Kuala Lumpur is an oasis located on the vibrant streets of Jalan Bukit Bintang. The strategic location of this five-star luxury hotel puts Kuala Lumpur’s best shopping, entertainment and local attractions right at your doorstep, which also includes Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur Tower and Pavilion KL shopping mall which are just minutes away. From signature Westin Heavenly® Bed to our fully equipped Westin WORKOUT®, the hotel offers world-class facilities and services that inspire you to be at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Westin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing