We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$75
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$90
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$201
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$139
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$125
$95
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$75
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,816)
Filter reviews
2,816 results
Traveler rating
1,444
892
291
109
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,444
892
291
109
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly bedpregobukit bintangkids clubbedroom residencepavilion mallexecutive clubliving roomspg memberexecutive floorstarhill galleryshopping districtgolden trianglechinese restaurantpetronas towersfood courtf b
Filter
Updating list...
1,444 - 1,449 of 2,816 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at the KL Westin over a Friday, Saturday, Sunday night on our way to Phuket for a week long holiday. Our time in KL at the Westin was nice. We stayed in an Executive Residence, which is a fancy name for a 2 bedroom serviced apartment. It was addequate for our needs, if not a bit expensive at around $400 USD/ night. It was nice that access to the Executive Lounge was included with our room rate, so breakfast and light evening refreshments were made available.

Service at the Westin was exceptional with lots of smiles and helpful directions. I would comment (along with what previous travelers have stated) that the facility seems rather "tired" and is aging. The carpet in the coridor to our room was very loose and had bumps in it. The hardwood floor in our room had many, many scratches. In each of the bathroom sinks, if you turned the water on at the sink to high then water would spray out all over the mirror and counters. This is a problem due to the high water pressure, coupled with a lousy faucet head that is possitioned too close to the sink basin. If you turn the water pressure down to avoid splashing, you barely have enough pressure to wash your hands comfortably... I found myself washing my hands in the tub or kitchen on multiple occassions.

Lastly, when getting ready for the day after out first night, I noticed water leaking (dripping) from the ceiling in one of the bathrooms. There was an access pannel in the ceiling, so I lifted it up to take a look before calling for maintenance and to my surprise there was a towel stuffed in the space which was a valve control location for water pipes and AC lines... the towel was soaked all the way through, and the drip was caused by a leak in the AC condensate line. Maybe it was a guest, housekeeping, or even a maintenance tech that stuffed the towel up there to temporarily "stop" the leak of water onto the floor, but whoever put it there was of very low class and quite lazy in my opinion. A call to the hotel front desk quickly had the issue resolved and it didn't leak again for the duration of our stay. I even checked to see if another towel was simply put in the ceiling and there was not.

Nice stay??? Yes. Good value for money??? Maybe not so much, given the "tired" nature of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendanlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Greetings brendanlk

We thank you for staying with us during your recent vacation - good to know we have a great team.

Despite our constant effort to maintain the building, the hotel is indeed getting old. We do have plans to renovate but unfortunately we are unable to communicate the exact time. Please bear with us for the time being.

Regarding the towel found in the air cond duct, this is truly embarrassing, unbelievable and unacceptable. This has been shared with the team. We apologize for this.

Once again, we thank you for your feedbacks and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed for the first time in March this year and loved the location! Esp as there is now a fully a/c walk way right to the KLCC area.

We stayed In the 2 bedrooms residency but ended up moving due the food smells coming into our room - we had EXCELLENT service from the duty manager! he could not have been more helpful! Will route his name out...

The club floor was very good, good selection of food and drinks. Service excellent as was the check in -very efficient.

We had breakfast In the main area downstairs and food selection was good but service was very slow in clearing the dirty plates away and the tea caddies were luke warm.

The pool was a little too chilled for me although my children were swimming every day.

We have actually booked to return to the hotel for 6 nights this Friday and I must say I am very much looking forward to it.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Greetings Paula H

Thank you for your support and loyalty - truly appreciate you sharing your stay experience. However, we apologize for having to move you to another room.

Glad you like our breakfast adventure but most importantly our team provided personal and instinctive services.

See you again soon.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our fourth stay at The Westin, KL, and we always leave extremely satisfied with our stay. The Westin staff are very friendly and helpful. Then there is the breakfast - which is possibly the best ever in South East Asia by far. The location, the friendly kids club, the pool, the breakfast, the service, the rooms, the bed, the breakfast and the closeness to shopping and street food makes it such a fabulous hotel for a short stay in KL..and did I mention how good the breakfast is??!! As a family, we always look out for hotels that can accommodate our children and we have always been able to have connecting rooms or where they aren't available, we have been upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. Our girls love the activities in the kids club and the staff are always helpful and very friendly.

Thank you The Westin, we'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLansdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Greetings TheLandsdowns

We thank you for your support, trust and loyalty - extremely happy to know you had another great stay, as always.

Also, happy to know you like our breakfast, which is our signature breakfast adventure incorporating SuperFoods.

Once again, thank you and see you again soon.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The position of this business type hotel is good, located in the hustle and bustle of the golden triangle not far from the Petronas towers and all the brands (that are available everywhere in the world). There is a great street food market, 5 mins from the hotel, where can eat fresh seafood, cooked as you watch for a very reasonable price, followed by some wonderful local fruit for dessert. I say this, as the food in the hotel sadly is awful, having witnessed the breakfast and taken a look in at the dinner, I avoided anything the hotel had to offer apart from sleeping.

The positives about the hotel were, lovely friendly staff, but all were a little clueless. The rooms are tired and the corridors, bending, dark and again tired.

My toilet was broken on arrival, but was fixed quickly.

The big issue was something bit me in my bed in the night on both feet and still a month on I have discomfort from what ever the creature was. I reported it in the morning and the hotel seemed concerned and the bed was changed (room moving was offered) and the duty manager did say it had been reported to the management! (would of hope so), but I didn't receive any message from them.

To sum up, the hotel is BLAH, a typical 3/4 star at best soulless business hotel, with no character of its own, I could have been anywhere in the world.

The staff were friendly, but not in anyway empowered, so anything you asked had to be referred to someone else and inevitably wasn't dealt with.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveloracle1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Greetings traveloracle1964

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. Regret and disappointed to note that apart from the heavenly bed and our friendly staff, food wise, we were unable to meet your expectations. We view this very seriously and have communicated to the team.

Sad to advise that in spite of our tireless efforts to maintain the building, the hotel is indeed getting old. Obviously we do have plans to renovate but unfortunately we are unable to communicate the exact date at this point in time.

We know your impression of us has been tarnished but we sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to make amends and welcome you back.

Once again, we truly appreciate your feedbacks and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Westin in Kuala Lumpur during the first two weeks of September.2013.
In the past we had stayed at the Grand Millennium (also known as the Regent until about 6/7 years ago) three times. The Grand Millennium isituated opposite side of the road to the Westin, also in Bukit Bintang. Our last stay there was about four years ago. At that time, we felt the hotel was getting tired and standards were slipping. So, this year based on trip advisor and other reviews, we decided to stay at the Westin. As per usual, we used it as a base whilst travelling around Malaysia.
We usually stay in a deluxe room, which was adequate for our needs, but this year we upgraded ourselves to a premium room for a change. The first room we stayed in was large and clean. The view of the city was fine. And the bed, as they say in their promotion, was “heavenly.” The gym was well equipped and the staff pleasant. Like the Millennium, they were helpful, about leaving our luggage behind while we went on short visits lasting two or three nights.
The carpet however could have done with some steam cleaning and the position of the spray tap at the washbasin could be changed to flow smoothly and bent more inwards into the basin. Both may be fashionable but not practical for shaving. My husband had to fix the sink plug in order keep the water in the basin while shaving (it was literally coming out of the tap and going out of the plug hole due to a poorly fitted plug). The pool was in the shade and the shallower end had rotting dead leaves and cotton wool (probably from baby nappy) floating in the water.
We went away and returned for a one-night stay and this time we were given a terrible room at the same rate. The carpet was dirty and stained. We felt uncomfortable to stand on it. The sink had the same problem as before. We did not complain as we were leaving the next morning.
We returned after two nights to spend our last three nights in KL. This time, the desk light and two of the three bulbs in the standard light were not working. The problem with the sink was worse. We complained to housekeeping in the morning but noticed nothing had been done when we returned in the evening. When we contacted housekeeping, they told us that they had put the job out to the engineers and it was out of their hands.
The next morning we reported it to the reception staff. When we returned in the evening, the sink had been repaired but the lights had not been touched. We packed our bags in poor light as we were leaving at 6 am to catch our flight. Most annoying.
The layout and the quality of the food at breakfast were poor. None of the foods labelled local to Malaysia (e.g. Indian, Chinese and Malay dishes) were any-where near authentic. It seemed a fusion, which no one could explain. I asked for a large bowl for the soup noodle to replace the tiny one but the chef could not find one in the whole of the kitchen area. The food at the food court in the Pavillion shopping mall is much superior! We ate there most of the time. ( But the Indian restaurant in the Pavillion is awful. I would avloid it at all cost the next time).
There were loads of little cards and leaflets and bags left around the room on Fridays as part of their weekend promotion, which I found most irritating and dumped them in the bin. Westin needs to try and replace the hype with a little more real quality.
We are not sure what to expect from a five star hotel any more. We would be interested to find out what are the standards from fellow travellers. We plan to return in the next two years as we enjoy Malaysia and have friends there. We were hoping to try out the Marriott the next time but an incident outside their hotel in KL, Bukit Bintang, has put us off for good.
We were returning from dinner one evening and found a young Indian man lying under the palm tree in the front courtyard of the Marriott among expensive cars parked next to the tree. . He was part of a group of people on training course/convention. (We recognised the uniform he was wearing which we had seen earlier at our hotel worn by a group of people). He looked unconscious. Vomit was flowing out of his mouth with red streaks in it, which we thought was blood. We alerted the door attendants in uniform at the front of the hotel and asked them to call an ambulance. They took turns to come and look at the young man and returned to their position saying he was drunk. We were joined by another passer-by with an American accent. Together we went to the reception and asked if they had called an ambulance. They started looking for the number. There seemed to be a lot of confusion. No one was responding to us. We kept on telling them that the man may die. We returned to the victim and as we were standing there trying to get some attention from the hotel staff ‘the American accent man ’ saw an ambulance stuck in the traffic jam outside the hotel and flagged it down. The ambulance men took the young man away moaning about him being drunk.
The next day we popped into the hotel to find out what had happened to the young man. The woman at reception was pleased to see us and wanted to thank us for calling the ambulance. She claimed that she was present at reception when the commotion took place and was not sure who called for an ambulance. However, once she realised we were not residents at the Marriott her attitude changed and told us that the head of security was trying to find out on progress. She promised to ring us at the Westin with information, but we never heard from hear.
The lack of humaneness and social responsibility and ethical behaviour at the Marriott has put us off for life. As the man with the American accent said, “they would do the same to me because I am fat. They would let me die saying he has eaten too much”!

Room Tip: Be assertive and ask for a change of room if you are given a poor quality room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAA38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Greetings CAA38

Having read your review with deep concerns, I would like to extend my profound and sincere apologies for the disappointments and aggravations you went through. There was no excuse whatsoever on our part to offer such sub standard service but our commitment and promise to you that such unpleasantness will not recur in future.We have immediately taken remedial actions where identified to avoid repetition.

No doubt the incident has marred your impression of our hotel but we only wish that you give us another opportunity to demonstrate to you that the incident was an exception to the norm.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. We thank you for your feedbacks, as it will help us to maintain, upgrade and improve on our services to our valued guests.

Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews