We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best location, great features, but the rooms are just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #29 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
125 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The best location, great features, but the rooms are just OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stay here if you want to take advantage of the best spot for shopping and access to dining and nightlife.

I travel to KL quite a bit, and usually stay at the other Starwood properties – the Meridien Sentral and the Sheraton Imperial. Because of the good reviews, I thought I would try the Westin this time.

As the other reviewers point out, the location in Bukit Bintang is excellent. You are just minutes walk from some of the best shopping in KL and a short walk from Changkat.

The hotel features are good as well. The newly opened executive lounge on the third floor is expansive and bright, with a really abundant choice of bites at happy hour and excellent selection of wine and spirits. The service in the lounge is also warm and attentative.

The breakfast buffet was huge and spacious, but the downside is that it was so spread around that if you are in a hurry, it can take some time to find what you want. When I went on my long trek to find a croissant, the staff seemed too anxious to want to clean the tables that in my absence, I found that my table had been cleared. I had to ask for a new table setting, go back get another juice and later ask for another newspaper and then once again ask for another coffee pot and no apologies from the service staff.

The gym is OK but not great. The outdoor pool is a nice place to take a break, but not really interesting or fun to spend a lot of time at but do appreciate to have this in the heart of the city.

For room quality, I think the Westin falls short of the other Starwood hotels in KL As an SPG Platinum member, I did get an upgrade to club floor which was appreciated but at the Meridien I usually can get an executive suite upgrade more often than not. The club floor room did have a good view, but the rooms were not so spacious and were showing signs of wear. For instance, the wood flooring at the entrance was pretty scuffed and old and the sofa looked a bit tired. Not what I normally experience at other Westin properties.

My recommendation is that if you have the time and desire to enjoy the benefits of the location, then the Westin is a good choice, but if you are looking for a nice room, the Sheraton Imperial or Merdien Sentral are typically 100 to 150 RM less and are much better values.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripwarriors_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Greetings Bruce_Tripwarriors

We thank you for being our guest and taking the time to review our hotel except for the challenges during breakfast. A staff should have explained the set up and walked you through first. Also, will talk to the team to be more cautious when clearing tables and not to be over anxious - my sincere apologies.

Despite our constant efforts to maintain the hotel, without denying the fact that the building is indeed getting old. We do have plans to renovate (as you can see the new Executive Club Lounge and rebranding of the Chinese Restaurant, Five Sen5es) but unfortunately we are not able to let you know the exact time.

Once again, we thank you for the feedbacks and hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    785
    255
    96
    57
See reviews for
515
624
164
665
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel won me over not just by its walking proximity to Pavillion, but the fact that they have a kids club where I can safely leave my daughter in their good hands while I have time for myself. She was the happiest and didn't want to leave when it was closing. Plenty of games and toys, and new friends to play with. Everyone was so helpful, cheerful, smiling and graciously tend to my 2.5yr old daughter at the breakfast table when I walked away. It wasn't something that I asked over but there were 3 staff who passed by to looked over making sure she's fine which I'm truly grateful.

We had a room upgrade facing to the twin towers, nice and spacious, the bathroom is huge, complete with luxurious amenities, bed and pillows are comforting plus the free flow drinks at the lobby was welcoming after a long walk at the malls. We ordered room service daily. Food always come on time, served hot and nicely presented. Pool in the morning after breakfast wasn't crowded and well maintained.

I couldn't have picked a better venue and will definitely come back again. Only issue was after rushing to leave for a morning flight, I realize my spectacles was missing. It took 5 days for them to reply after I send another reminder through the online web system. The turnaround time to respond could have been shorter and maybe chances of its whereabouts could still be traced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pUtRi_YaNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Greetings pUtRi_YaNi

We thank you for the fantastic review - it's always good to know that our guests enjoy themselves during their stay.

We are terribly sorry for taking so long to revert to you - trust me, this is not the usual scenario. Will communicate this to the team.

Look forward to your return soon.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Firstly must say service at this hotel is amazing.

Ivy really made our stay unbelievable by making it a special treat for our anniversary so thank you for that!

The hotel is an old property but what it lacks in modernity it gives you in service and vastness.

Location is great, right next to the pavillion shopping centre and I would check out Lok10 if you want chinese hawker style food.

Unfortunately didn't get to check out the all you can eat dimsum breakfast in the five senses restaurant but it is a must next time!

Room Tip: Try to be on a high SPG floor for a great view of the petronas towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer_SH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Greetings Explorer_SH

On behalf of the team. congratulations once again and happy to hear both of you had a great stay but most importantly Ivy provided personal, instinctive and renewing experiences.

Look forward to celebrating many more celebrations with you.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

When walking around in KL it sometimes seems like it's one big pile of five star hotels, one more luxurious than the other. To me the Westin hotel was a perfect place to spend four days of business in KL, very well located, great and very friendly staff, a nice and spacious room, very well maintained and with nice bathroom.
The breakfast area is quiet confusing at first as it is so spacious and the with so many different counters. But the quality and the choice of the breakfast was wonderful.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a Starwoord membership card!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Greetings Leuven

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and appreciate the great feedbacks.

Regarding your breakfast experience, one of the staff should have explained the set up and walked you through first. Please accept our apologies for the confusion but good to know you like our breakfast adventure.

Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is right smack in the middle of the town of which what we are looking for (Do note, if you like quiet surroundings, go and choose other hotel). It's very convenience with the eatery place and great shopping mall. Nice if you have shopping part of your to-do-list! The room is great, spacious and very clean. Of course the Westin Heavenly Bed make a good night sleep after all the shopping....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanazwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Greetings Wanazwan

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel - it's always good to know that our guests enjoy themselves during their stay.

Look forward to your next visit soon.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

After being met at the airport by a comfortable current model car we were driven to the hotel, whereupon arrival a lovely host named Intan greeted us at the car and escorted us directly to our room, completely bypassing the check in process at the lobby. Awesome! Perfect welcome and just how a guest dreams to be treated/welcomed, thank you Westin and Intan! It made our day. I assume the special welcome was due to my wife and I being on honeymoon. Upon entry to the room we discovered rose petals throughout and some chocolate dipped strawberries, beautiful.

Great location, walking distance to Jalan Alor street food and plenty of major shopping malls,the famous Lot 10 food court, and the Bukit monorail station. At breakfast buffet on the first morning, be sure to have a good wander around to locate all the food as it's tucked away in various nooks and crannies throughout the restaurant. Good wifi connection throughout the hotel. There were a couple of mistakes on our bill at the end of our stay, so it paid to closely check before settling at check out. The staff swiftly corrected the bill, so it was not a drama. Then a couple of days later we received an email for a bill for some wine that we did not consume. After informing the hotel of such, I assume this also has been amended.

Staff were pleasant, professional and helpful across the board and I would happily stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Greetings Mark F

On behalf of the team, wishing you and your wife a happy honeymoon and a wonderful married life - very happy to know you had a great arrival experience.

Please accept our apologies for the billing blunder and will ensure the team has better control over this.

Once again, we appreciate your feedbacks and look forward to celebrating many more celebrations with both of you.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Westin KL , Good location right in the action, shopping , night life, Petronea towers etc. Staff was exeptional and so helpful. Rooms comfortable and spacious, very clean. I can highly regomend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattitii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Greetings mattitii

We thank you for staying with us and the great review - happy to know you had an enjoyable stay.

Please come back again when you return to Kuala Lumpur. All of us here look forward to welcoming you back.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#47 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Property: The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Address: The Westin Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Kuala Lumpur is an oasis located on the vibrant streets of Jalan Bukit Bintang. The strategic location of this five-star luxury hotel puts Kuala Lumpur’s best shopping, entertainment and local attractions right at your doorstep, which also includes Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur Tower and Pavilion KL shopping mall which are just minutes away. From signature Westin Heavenly® Bed to our fully equipped Westin WORKOUT®, the hotel offers world-class facilities and services that inspire you to be at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Westin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing