We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but service could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #27 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel was perfectly located in Bukit Bintang, opposite Pavillion mall and close to the other shopping malls. The monorail is a short walk down the road, making it easy to access other parts of the city. From Pavillion mall, there is an air-conditioned pedestrian walkway that goes all the way to KLCC. It's about 1km and quite an easy walk.

Service was mostly excellent. Everyone greeted you with a smile. Had some issues with check-in as I had booked through Agoda but did not print out the hotel voucher. In other hotels we've stayed in, we've been able to check-in with just our passports. This time I was asked to use the computer in the Executive lounge (we were using the Executive floor check-in as downstairs was too busy) to log-in to my email to print out the voucher. A bit strange.

When checking in, we requested a late-checkout the following day as we had an 11pm flight. The lady at Reception advised us we could check-out at 2pm, but to re-confirm with Reception the following day. When we called Reception the next day they seemed quite reluctant to give us a late check-out, and eventually said we could check-out at 1pm. We repeated what we were told on our first day, and they eventually agreed to 2pm. I would have expected them to have made a note on file, or taken the initiative to contact us to confirm the check-out time.

We stayed in a Premium room. The room itself was spacious. Especially liked the large bathroom, with the separate toilet, walk-in shower, and bathtub. Bed was very comfortable, but the comforter and top sheet had visible stains. Room was modern but showed signs of poor workmanship.

Pool area was nice with plenty of sun beds. Iced water and reading materials are provided. Didn't use the gym but it looked like new equipment.

Overall, had a pleasant enough stay, but will probably stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raindropsonroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Greetings raindropsonroses

First and foremost please accept our sincere apologies for the 'not so nice' experience. After reading your feedbacks, it clearly indicates that there are some tidying work to do at our end. All of your comments have been shared with team.

On the brighter side, good to hear you like the location, room and services rendered from some areas.

Once again, we truly appreciate your thoughts and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,509)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Kuala Lumpur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,380 - 1,386 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed with my family for three nights at The Westin KL and overall it was a very enjoyable experience. The room that we booked was standard, and I'm not sure if it was upgraded or not (doesn't seem so), but it was massive! There is more than enough room to walk around. Bathroom is luxurious with double door, seperate bath tub, and shower. The only problem was we first came in the toilet was clogged up, but that was quickly resolved. And on our last night, we stayed in a different room (2615) where the two power points near study did not work.
I love their Jing tea collection and also the soft slippers provided. Our king bed and pillows were comfortable. We did try the pool and it was big enough for a relaxing swim (not lap swim of course). All of the staff from the front door, reception, concierge, room service, and pool service are very curteous and friendly. They always greet and try to accomodate you as best as they can.
Location of this hotel is very strategic being on Bukit Bintang, right across the road from Pavillion and a few minutes walk to the other shopping areas and Jalan Alor (food street).
We will definitely come back and stay at The Westin when opportunity arises to come back to Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicloe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Greetings SusanChen28

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel - happy to hear you enjoy your stay except for some minor hiccups, which were resolved efficiently and promptly.

My team and I look forward to your return soon.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stay at the Westin KL each time we visit KL but in our stay from Feb 7-11, we were disappointed with our stay. The rooms definitely need to be refurbished if the Westin wants to compete with other new hotels in KL such as Grand Hyatt KL which we also stayed for 2 nights (read our review for Grand Hyatt KL). The air-conditioner in the room is a joke because we were told that we can't control the temperature even there is a panel to adjust the temperature! The breakfast in the Living Room has also gone downhill - a real disappointment because we have enjoyed our previous visits. Even I'm a Starwood member, we won't be returning to the Westin KL next year because I don't think it worth paying a 5-star rate if we don't get to experience what we expect in a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AG1781rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Greetings AG1781rtw

We thank you for your support and very disturbed to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay.

Notwithstanding the fact that we have effortlessly try to maintain our hotel but it is indeed getting old. Obviously we do have intention to renovate but unfortunately am not able to let you know the exact date. However, as of last year, we have created a brand new Club Lounge and rebranded our Chinese Restaurant. With all this in the pipeline, it clearly shows that we are interested to stay competitive with other hotels.

With regard to the air cond temperature, it is regulated between 22 - 25 celsius. Based on your comment we are unsure whether you are indicating that the room is hot or cold. Nevertheless, we will have engineering to check on it.

Regret to hear that our breakfast adventure did not live up to your expectations. In fact, this is our signature breakfast and we have received many positive reviews. Nonetheless, we will still look at the menus and see how it can be further enhanced.

Once again, we truly appreciate your feedbacks and hope to be given another opportunity to welcome you back.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Right in the middle of Bukit Bintang, which is quite a busy place in Kuala Lumpur and bang opposite Pavilion mall, which is among the nicer malls in KL. The rooms, though small are tastefully done and look pretty chic. The lounge is excellent and serves delectable little munchies in the evening.

The staff is okay, could be a bit more attentive and pleasant. The swimming pool is big, but is surrounded by trees and walls and there isn't much open space around. With respect to food, I may not be able to say much, since we always went to one of the place in Pavilion mall or in Bukit Bintang to eat.

If one wants to get a good flavor of the city, Westin is a good place to stay. Taxis from here could easily take you to the Twin towers or other major areas in the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Greetings LizMumbai

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel - happy to hear our facilities meet with your expectations.

With regard to your comment about the service, we have shared this with the team and will definitely improve on areas where we are weak.

Once again, thank you for your feedbacks and look forward to your next stay soon.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Having a brief 1 day visit to Kuala Lumpur I booked into the Westin it's been a few years since I had stayed here and on arrival I was greeted by a warm and friendly front door staff and as a Lifetime Platinum member was whisked to the newly opened 3rd floor executive lounge. One word WOW.
THE LOUNGE IS THE FINEST EXECUTIVE LOUNGE FOR ME IN THE ENTIRE STARWOOD CHAIN. my suite was still being clean when the staff quickly arranged a room so I could shower and change and get to my meeting.
Upon my return they charged my phone escorted me to my room and the best sleep in years.
The next morning to my amazement I was greeted as were all the guests by the HM himself. Even the chef offered personal greetings.
For me Starwood Hotel and Manager of the year must go to Westin Kuala Lumpur.
Well done.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintyJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Greetings mintyJakarta

Welcome back to The Westin - good to have you with us again and extremely delighted that you were WOWed with our newly renovated Club Lounge but most importantly the personal and instinctive services extended by the team.

Do come back again whenever you return to Kuala Lumpur. All of us here look forward to your visit.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Visited on a short family vacation in January 2013. Hotel is in a very central location on a busy street and the lobby was mobbed when we arrived. Pleasantly surprised to be ushered to the lounge for Platinum SPG members - Ms Elaine Chen at the check-in desk was a star - she took care of everything while we rested with a coffee and was full of proactive and creative suggestions for our rooms preferences. We had one regular room in the tower and a suite in the Residences, which was spacious, well-furnished, and appointed with a smashing kitchen (great for a culinary trip to KL if you would ever make one). This is one of the best Westin's around - top marks for 1) club lounge - spacious, chic, happy hour was the best I've had at a Westin, 2) breakfast at the restaurant - stunning spread, broad, deep and good, 3) service - can do service, even when something cannot be easily done, they think of alternatives and good ones too. I've logged more than 55 nights of SPG last year - this one comes easily to near the top of the heap.

Room Tip: Try the residences as a suite option, especially if you want a kitchen, work area, "balcony&quo...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopskipjumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Greetings Hopskipjumper

We thank you for the fantastic reviews - it's always good to know that our guests enjoy themselves during their stay.

All of us here look forward to welcoming you back whenever you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

From the moment we were greeted at the door to the time the doorman closed the cab door on our departure we were treated like royalty. We were offered to take advantage of the Executive Floors which included access to the Club Lounge. We were so glad we did! The hotel were amongst the friendliest encountered. Our room was tastefully decorated and quite large with views to the Petronis Towers - a spectacular sight at night. The meals were delicious and the service impeccable. The hotel has easy access to all shopping centres. The Club Lounge and it's daily offerings were exceptional.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Betty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Greetings BettyL

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and extremely happy to hear you had a refreshing stay and left us feeling renewed - this is how it should feel at The Westin.

My team and I look forward to your next visit soon.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,526 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#46 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Address: The Westin Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#27 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $120 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Kuala Lumpur is an oasis located on the vibrant streets of Jalan Bukit Bintang. The strategic location of this five-star luxury hotel puts Kuala Lumpur’s best shopping, entertainment and local attractions right at your doorstep, which also includes Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur Tower and Pavilion KL shopping mall which are just minutes away. From signature Westin Heavenly® Bed to our fully equipped Westin WORKOUT®, the hotel offers world-class facilities and services that inspire you to be at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Westin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing