We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, would definitely stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #29 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent Hotel, would definitely stay again”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Excellent. The hotel is in a great location, excellent service, friendly staff and a sensational breakfast buffet. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and would recommend to others.
We stayed at this hotel as part of a deal booked through My Malaysia Holiday Centre - it was great value, our trip, transfers etc. worked well; I would book through them again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Greetings Trevor J

We thank you for your support and taking the time to review our hotel - extremely happy to hear you enjoy your stay.

Please come back again whenever you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    799
    260
    97
    59
See reviews for
528
635
165
689
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I booked this hotel through its website and was offered an upgrade to its executive floor for an extra amount. It took me nearly five hours trying to contact the hotel by email and phone to confirm the costs and room type.We were travelling the next day.
No reply to emails, phone not correct number etc...

Booked the hotel limo, he did not have our name so again took a while to find him. Checked in and was given our password for the wifi. This was incorrect and took another half hour to sort out.

Next morning I went to the Executive Lounge for coffee, no one in sight to serve the coffee, went to the gym and pressed the bell that said " I will come running". Pressed it five times over 20 min as I wanted to get into the change room. Again no one around.

Now for the positives, the hotel is very well located for Bukit Bintang shopping. The brand new Executive lounge looks fabulous, plenty of light and overlooks the Pavillion shops.
The food is beautifully presented although the range is extremely limited.

The gym and pool are also great. Had a lovely swim with water temperature just right.
Our room had a fabulous view of KL. Beds comfy and room large. A touch warm for sleeping.

This hotel just needs to improve it service to make it fabulous,

Room Tip: High floor. I liked the view away fro the city as the surrounding hills are quite scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diffiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Greetings Diffiv

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges experienced. Honestly this is not the norm and I have no reasons or excuses - I am equally disappointed and will definitely addressed this with the team.

On a positive note, delighted to hear that like the location, food, gym, pool and our new Executive Club Lounge.

We hope you would give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The beds are great like all Westin's. Thats the only good thing i can say.
The staff are nice and friendly but lack training. They have no idea what they are doing. The service is a nightmare. When my room A/C wasn't working it took them and hour to respond and they were fixing it in my room till 2am (took 3 guys 2hrs to eventually give up till the morning)! The duty manager at the time was a complete moron.
The walls seem to be designed paper thin so you can hear your neighbors TV all night.
4 nights i stayed there and couldn't get a single good nights rest.
Even the breakfast is S***!
Definitely the worst 5 start hotel experience i have had!

Room Tip: Get a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Assad_Omar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Greetings Assad_Omar

We thank you for sharing your stay experience and please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges. Honestly it is very disturbing to be branded as the "worst hotel in KL".

Obviously the air cond problem could have been handled differently i.e. our team should have organized a room change. As for the breakfast, we are sorry to hear it did not live up to your expectations because it is our signature breakfast incorporating SuperFoods and we have received many positive comments from our guests.

We understand you did not have a good stay but please give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of days on a business trip. All I want to say is "wow". The hotel is amazing in all respects, especially ambience and food variety. But, the killer feature of the hotel was its location. Right in the middle of the shopping areas and malls, it is the most convenient location to stay. Awesome !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjaypkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Greetings Sanjaypkothari

We thank you for staying with us and extremely happy to hear we have WOWed you.

All of us here look forward to your next visit.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were a party of 5 family members and had booked Executive Floor Twin Tower View rooms. We had advised that 3 of our party would be arriving late on Thursday night with 2 to arrive early the next day. While our party of 2 who arrived next morning were given breakfast and all the privileges of the Executive Floor they didn't get access to their room till around 4.30 pm as the person in their room had late checkout. A slight let down for us.

The rooms were very spacious, clean and well laid out. The bathroom was lovely however there was no rain shower (a feature we have come to expect in Asia and provided in the Traders KL). The views of the Petronas Towers were not as good as from the Traders but then the Traders is not situated as well for other things.

The Executive Lounge was lovely and we took full advantage oF the Afternoon Tea and drinks and canapés each night. Beer, wIne and spirits were available as was lovely finger food and desserts.

The major advantage of the Westin is its location. It is just across the road from the Pavilion Shopping Mall. Shopping heaven. There are also a lot of restaurants close by.

We sampled breakfast in both the Executive Club and downstairs in the main restaurant. There is more variety downstairs however the ambience of the Club is better.

We visited the Petronas Towers and felt it was a great experience.

Would we stay at the Westin again. Absolutely.

Room Tip: The Club rooms provide excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EWCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Greetings EWCanberra

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies that the other 3 guests who checked in late were only given the rooms after the check in time. Without denying the fact that this could have been handled in a different manner i.e. our Front Desk could have at least offered your guests access to the Club Lounge first. I have personally shared this with the team.

On a lighter note, we are happy to hear all of you like the food and facilities in the Club Lounge.

Once again, we appreciate your feedbacks and look forward to welcoming you back whenever travel plans bring you to Kuala Lumpur again.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The location of hotel is very good for people who love shopping and it's near the local food street.

Westin has known to have the best beds and it certainly has been the case. Bathroom was modern and looks pretty new but the toilet area was squashed into a tiny space.

Furnishing in the room was a little worn out and no effort was taken to touch up. Carpet had some stains too.

Room service food wasn't great. And they charged for bottle water at the gym!

Reception service was good and at least the service staff could mostly speak fluent English.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellyellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Greetings Ellyellie

We thank you for your support and appreciate you taking the time share your stay experience.

For your information, the bed is one of our signature products called heavenly bed - glad you like it.

With regard to your comment about the room being a little worn out, we do have plans to refurbish but is not able to communicate on the exact date. Please bear with us.

Yes we do charge for bottled water but the water from the dispenser is complimentary.

Once again, thank you for the great feedbacks and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The decoration of the hotel is very nice. They have good choices of foor and restaurants. Swimming pool is nice. Breakfast has a lot of variety with healthy and low fat food. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Rooms have good size with Twin Tower view (for some). Nice amenities in the bathrooms. I had the club room with high floor (up to 34 floors).
When booking a club room, you will be entitled for a club lounge access where you can enjoy the "happy hour" between 5:30 to 7:30 pm with a lot of good food (snacks) with wide variety of drinks. You can have also a private reception staff who are amazing in service.
The area around the hotel is good and always busy as it is a main shopping center with malls and restaurants. There is a nearby bus station for Hip-on and Hip-off tour. Also, the metro station is only 3-5 minutes away from the hotel.
All in all, I recommend this hotel to everybody.

Room Tip: Club Rooms with Twin Tower view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Greetings MohammedK

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your stay experience. Good to know you like the services and facilities provided by the hotel.

My team and I look forward to your return again, soon.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,565 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Property: The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Address: The Westin Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#29 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Kuala Lumpur is an oasis located on the vibrant streets of Jalan Bukit Bintang. The strategic location of this five-star luxury hotel puts Kuala Lumpur’s best shopping, entertainment and local attractions right at your doorstep, which also includes Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur Tower and Pavilion KL shopping mall which are just minutes away. From signature Westin Heavenly® Bed to our fully equipped Westin WORKOUT®, the hotel offers world-class facilities and services that inspire you to be at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Westin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing