We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly city stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #27 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Heavenly city stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed a night on the very last weekend of 2012 with my wife using my Starwood complimentary night voucher. I also think that Westin is the best choice for SPG within Klang Valley. Tourists sure like it due to the close proximity of Golden Triangle for shopping, friendly and attentive staff and not forgetting the heavenly bed, which is a must after a tired day out.

I was put to higher room and manage to get both KL Tower and KLCC view, although the Pavilion Residence right in front of the hotel has obstruct some of the view. This is not my first time staying as this hotel, throughout the years it never disappoint with clean room and comfortable heavenly bed.

I am able to get a late checkout at 4pm due to SPG Gold status, which allow me to have plenty of time to enjoy the weekend buffet brunch at the Living Room. Reservation is highly recommended at the hotel restaurants as they usually frequent by local residents as well as tourists.

The only thing that one need to take note is the traffic at Jalan Bukit Bintang, where the hotel is located, is unpredictable which you will always find yourself stuck at the traffic jam in peak hours. So it is advisable to plan your visit carefully and allow more time for transport during peak hours. Also, the nearby monorail is at least 8-10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennyCheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Greetings KennyCheah

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel - it's always good to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their stay.

On behalf of the team, we wish you a very happy 2013.

Take care and look forward to welcoming you back again.



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    775
    250
    93
    55
See reviews for
507
615
163
655
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I´ve been staying my second time in this hotel. Rooms and hotel services are quite good as expected from this category of hotel and as it is usual in The Westin hotels. Having a nice swimming pool, different restaurants, a very well equipped gym. The room are also quite comfortable.
In this particular case I would like to emphasize the extraordinary location of the hotel. It is in the centre of Kuala Lumpur, not far from Petronas Towers.
It takes around 1:00 to 1:30 hours to arrive from KL international airport, according with the traffic.
Once you are in the hotel it is just in front of Pavillion Shopping, a big mall where you could find all main brands same than full of places to have breakfast, lunch or dinner. At same time the hotel is just 2 blocks from KL monoriel which allows you to move around the city. Also it is 4-5 blocks from Low Yat Plaza, the well known computer and technology mall.
For additional options for lunch or dinner it is at walking distance (around 8-10 min) from Changkat Bukit Bintang, an area full of restaurants and pubs.
In conclusion, the hotel have all the services expected plus a great location.
Pros: good hotel in excellent location
Cons: considering the big offer of 5 star hotels in KL this hotel is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ochrisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Greetings ochrisr

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience - delighted to hear you had a great stay.

Please come back again whenever travel plans bring you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Having visited Malaysia during a world tour, I instantly recognised the warmth, the friendlyness and the beautiful smiles of Malaysia which I had never forgotten and in January 2013 I was fortunate to be able to share with my husband, on our Honeymoon, those eyes with a smile. The Westin creates an aura of peace and an ambiance of tranquility in the Breeze and Splash Dinning Area, its majestic gardens, Spa and beach. Always someone with a beautiful smile appears from nowhere and gives you their undivided attention; they are creating the atmosphere you need for unforgetable stay to the start of an unforgetable journey. Wherever I have travelled, may it be to a 5Star luxury hotel or to an ordinary B&B, it always seems to be the little extras which are priceless that matter and become soo important. Thank you, The Westin and all it's staff.... You are all priceless.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EW2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Greetings E W

On behalf of the team, welcome back to Malaysia and thank you for staying with us - extremely happy to hear both of you had a great time.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back again to celebrate your anniversary.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Westin was my husband and I's first hotel stop on our honeymoon and it was the perfect hotel to rest up after a long flight from Oz before a couple of days in KL. Great location opposite the Pavillion shopping complex and walking distance to the Petronas Towers and other key sites. Friendly & attentative staff including a surprise delivery of chocolate dipped strawberries!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Greetings TeriL

Congratulations on your honeymoon and on behalf of the team, we wish you a happy married life -happy to hear both of you had a great stay but most importantly our staff provided personal, instinctive and renewing experiences.

We look forward to celebrating your annivesary.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights on a business trip. Overall it was a great experience, staff was very helpful and attentive. Room in excellent condition. Internet connection very good. It is centrally located and I could get around to meetings easily.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Greetings Carl G

We thank you for the great feedbacks and very happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is an excellent hotel for business or shopping in the heart of Bukit Bintang. Service was generally attentive and personal, though though perhaps a little patchy in some of the restaurants. I used the hotel's limousine service to and from the airport which made the arrival and departure very smooth - a worthwhile investment after/before a long flight, in my view. The room (I used SPG Suite Nights to guarantee an upgrade) was spectacular. I could easily have hosted a party for 15 in the suite's living room, though the opportunity sadly didn't arise. The room service menu was particularly good, with the local options being highly recommended. The Cigar Bar was also a welcome amenity, though it will not be to everyone's taste. All in all a good experience and a hotel I will not hesitate to use again on my next trip to KL.

Room Tip: If you're an SPG member, you will want to guarantee a suite. Well worth splurging Suite night aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Greetings Jhlatl

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and very happy to hear you had a great experience.

All of us here look forward to welcoming you back whenever travel plans bring you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great Hotel.
Rooms very clean. Accessible . Food was quite okay. Staffs was very friendly. One of the best hotel in my opinion. For those of you who think to visit Bukit Bintang do not miss to stay with this hotel. I will definitely come back to this hotel if i have another trip to Bukit Bintang. Keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HratchKhatchanian, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Greetings RichardK

We thank you for the fantastic feedbacks - it's always good to know that our guests enjoy themselves during their stay.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well


Hratch Khatchanian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#46 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Property: The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Address: The Westin Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#27 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Kuala Lumpur is an oasis located on the vibrant streets of Jalan Bukit Bintang. The strategic location of this five-star luxury hotel puts Kuala Lumpur’s best shopping, entertainment and local attractions right at your doorstep, which also includes Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur Tower and Pavilion KL shopping mall which are just minutes away. From signature Westin Heavenly® Bed to our fully equipped Westin WORKOUT®, the hotel offers world-class facilities and services that inspire you to be at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Westin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing