We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splash out on a club room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Ranked #26 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Splash out on a club room”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed here in a club room for one night earlier in the week.

The room itself smelt a little fusty but was very clean and huge. The club lounge was a great place to relax with some wine and cheese in the evening.

We had dinner in the Italian restaurant which was pretty good if a little overpriced. Breakfast was one of the best spreads I have ever seen with endless food options from all over the world.

The room rate was good and staff were excellent throughout as you would expect in a Sheraton. Location is perhaps a little away from the hustle and bustle which can be a good thing though Dang Wangi metro is easily reached connecting you to the city.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for a club room, it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephan_sieberg, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear couple Redfella83,
Thank you very much for all your compliments and especially your experience feedback in regards to our Italian Restaurant Villa Danieli, our superb breakfast and our Sheraton Club. We all hope you will have an opportunity to return to KL soon and stay with us again.
best regards
Stephan Sieberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    996
    304
    115
    71
See reviews for
623
1,076
274
665
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and paid extra for the spg package - so worth it. Our room was huge and beautifully maintained. Very clean. the hotel was about a 30 minute walk to most of the attractions or a very quick train ride (train stop right outside the hotel). Breakfast was fantastic - so much variety. With the Spg package we also had free coffee (really good coffee) and snacks during the day and free cocktails/wine etc in the evening. We loved spending time in the Club Lounge which overlooked the city. the only negative things we experienced was some noise from night clubs nearby (even though we were on the 37th floor - i can only imagine how loud this must have been from the lower levels) and occasional slow service in the Club Lounge. Apart from that we loved our stay and would come back again if we return to KL in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatFromAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephan_sieberg, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear KatFromAussie,
We very much love your feedback and would sincerely like to thank you for the high rating and all the compliments. It is with great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the SPG Starwood preferred Guest benefits including our Sheraton Club. I definitely will forward your compliments to our culinary team in regards to our excellent breakfast buffet.
Greetings from Sheraton Imperial and best regards
Stephan Sieberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This place is dirty ... actually filthy. There’s just no other way to put it. Many people have complained that the Sheraton Imperial KL beds often caused itchiness and skin problems as I heard. I found hair on the already very dirty sofa and pubic hair on the bed lingerie! The carpet was so dirty that you can not walk on it! The smell in the room was very, very bad!
They offer us another rooms ... unfortunately the same story!
Sheraton Imperial KL is one of the dirtiest hotels in the world and for sure the worst hotel in Starwood Group!

Room Tip: Hands off! This hotel is very bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MDIspas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephan_sieberg, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear family MDIspas,
This is my personal and the teams sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused upon your arrival and the lack of cleanliness and attention to details at Sheraton Imperial. rest assured that I take these issue very serious and have involved myself with all involved to investigate the case and improve immediately. There is no doubt that the defects you mentioned are unacceptable and we share your disappointment and frustration. On the other hand we cannot agree with your statement that many people complained about itchiness and skin problems caused by lack of cleanliness in regards to our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds.
Dear family MDIspas, we all hope you still enjoy your time here in KL and will leave as ambassadors for Malaysia back to Austria. We are and have been in personal contact through other platforms already and I appreciate that you brought the issue to my attention.
best regards
Stephan Sieberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

What is seemingly an older hotel came with pleasant surprises and the benefits of an older property that has been refurbished, as in space. I stayed for three nights at a conference and the expanse of the property allowed privacy from other delegates and a variety of meeting spots throughout, in addition to the obvious convenience.

The service was warm, genuine and felt throughout my entire stay from check in, at the restaurants to the final departure. It felt like the staff genuinely cared in their warm greetings, eye contact and willingness to help. One of the best features of my stay was the spacious bathroom with the city view. I love hotel rooms with a separate closet area away from the main room and with a dressing area.

The lounge at the mezzanine level was a fantastic meeting spot where we held a few at different times of the day. The afternoon tea was enjoyable though the quality of the food was not "classic" and the treats were far too sweet. I was really looking forward to a classic afternoon tea spread with real scones and finger sandwiches. This was easily overlooked by the lovely service and space. We had a few happy hour sessions there and the waitress even remembered us the second day.

Overall, excellent value for money and apparently the location is very central (though this was irrelevant for me as I did not tour the area). Only miss, and at no fault of the hotel, was the standstill traffic in the surrounding area. I just wish it was a little easier to get around central KL.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephan_sieberg, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear canadahk,
What a superb and excellent feedback and the entire team of Sheraton Imperial would like to say Thank You for taking the time to post your experience and all the compliments and nice words. It is with great pleasure to hear that your 3 day business trip was such a pleasant one and you enjoyed your time here so much.
Thank you very much again and we hope to welcome you back in the not so far future for either leisure or business reasons.
best regards
Stephan Sieberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed in this property in April 2014 with family. Checkin and check out was OK.
Aircon was not working in our room - called the maintenance guy - came in and according to him it was fixed - which it wasnt as the room started to boil again. They didnt had any other room as they had some group staying in!

I called them again at 03:00 am at the night time to send some one but no body showed up!
Next morning - when I asked for a discount or compensation - nothing was offered!!

WHAT A SHAME!

Breakfast was ok - pool was ok - location was ok to! in the same price bracket - I would have been better off staying at Hilton or any other property!

Plus - there was alot of noice thanks to night clubs outside the hotel - I complained about it but they didnt had another room!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAMID84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephan_sieberg, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear family HAMID84,
We sincerely apologize that we have not been able to impress you with our services and the lack of attention in regards of the air condition in your room. This has been addressed already to all involved and mainly our Engineering team to immediately improve and avoid similar problems. Unfortunately as you mentioned correctly the hotel was booked to capacity and there was no chance ton offer you any upgrade or room change. We are very sorry that even no compensation or benefit was offered to you at all during your stay. This has been discussed with my team leaders and I am convinced everybody is more proactive and delivers better customer care and guest approach. Hopefully you still consider to use any Starwood Hotel in KL upon a potential next visit to convince you about the quality of hotels and services within our global chain.
best regards and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.
Stephan Sieberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

the rooms are absolutely huge and very clean. there are so much space to allow the kids to run around in the room! it even has a room within the room just to put luggage! the bed is very comfortable too

the food (buffet) quality is average but this is made up by good service and nothing ever runs out. we could eat in peace and take our time. The overall service of this hotel is excellent. very prompt and could even accommodate my request to use their freezer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lab4games
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephan_sieberg, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Lab4games,
Wonderful review and highest rating possible. The entire team of Sheraton Imperial sends a Big Thank You to you for taking the time to post your feedback and look forward to welcome you again.
best regards
Stephan Sieberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

A group of girls on a shopping trip stayed here for 4 days. Our rooms were not ready and we were asked to share a kings sized bed for the first night and move the next day. We declined as this was not what we had paid for and we didn't want to share a bed or have to move. We eventually got rooms with twin beds but without our promised Petrona's Tower views.
We had some dramas with our rooms e.g.: a leaky toilet and not enough toiletries but after complaining we had a visit from the manager Robert who was excellent and rectified the complaints. It was nice to be heard.
The lovely man, Tasa one of the Concierges was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephan_sieberg, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Helen and friends,
Please accept our sincere apologies again for the unavailability of the twin bed rooms and missing toiletries upon your arrival. I fully agree that this does not reflect the usual Sheraton Imperial standard and is not the expected arrival experience we should deliver. However, I am very glad that our Executive Housekeeper personally approached you and sorted out the problems in a connecting and personal way to ensure you all can enjoy your 4 day shopping tour to KL.
Thank you very much for taking the time to bring these issues officially again to our attention and I assure you my personal involvement to avoid such shortcomings in the future. We all hope that you will consider to revisit KL and do stay with us again.
best regards
Stephan Sieberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
1.0 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
#16 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,869 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
#35 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Property: Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Address: Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the city center and just steps away from the city monorail and LRT lines, the hotel offers seamless access to Kuala Lumpur's main attractions making it just minutes away from the city's best shopping and dining venues. For your stay, explore our Sheraton Club Suite which offers panoramic vistas of the city skyline and extra in-stay benefits with great value. Dine in our award winning Celestial Court restaurant for an authentic Chinese dining experience or a romantic dinner at a free-standing trattoria styled after a rustic country home, Villa Danieli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Sheraton
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing