We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Ranked #28 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

its a business hotel with the rooms living upto the Sheraton name but the wash-rooms are amazing!! and the view from the hotel rooms, just simply amazing! The breakfast is fit for a king...both in quality and variety!!

Room Tip: don't miss the breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank far_valli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the overall stay experience in the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again when you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,505
    962
    293
    112
    69
See reviews for
590
1,038
260
634
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

First They check us into a room that's not properly cleaned - half drunk bottle on the table, slippers next to the bed...

But the staff who brought us to our Club Room was sharp enough to detect this. He asked us to wait at the club lounge and enjoy the cocktails while he gets another room ready for us.

After about half an hour, he comes along to pass us the key cards to another room with the executive housekeeper in tow. The gentleman promptly apologizes for the inconvenience and admits there's no excuse for such an oversight by his staff.

When I call guest services to pick up the laundry, the lady asks me to hang the sign on my door and I do exactly what she told me.

Then I discover the bidet in the commode is malfunctioning - leaking water onto the floor. I call guest services again and ask for someone to come over to fix it and leave for some shopping.

However, when I return more than 2 hours later, the bidet is not fixed and laundry not picked up.

I inform the staff at front desk again before leaving for dinner and upon return find nothing done.

I really don't understand how this is a business hotel as they don't fulfill their free laundry and pressing (4 pieces of clothing only), what's the point of offering this then? What if my husband required the clothes urgently for a meeting the next day?

Another thing I notice about Sheraton hotels is that there's a lot of wear and tear but very minimal maintenance - stayed in Sheraton Langkawi Beach Resort in June. Here in KL, the outer facade looks very sad (the brown colour looks really gloomy), the lampshades and mirror panels in the rooms were dusty, the room had a musty smell. The bathtub's overflow valve was faulty and I nearly flooded the bathroom when I climbed into the tub.

As for the complimentary snacks in the lounge, the selection needs to be improved. I think I had better variety at the Sentosa Movenpick Heritage Hotel's WOW bar! The drinks selection and the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetchumiJaiganth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your comments on the areas we lacked on details and this has been brought during our briefings to ensure we don't repeat such mistakes.

We hope the isolated incident wont deter you from returning to Sheraton Imperial again when you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is located a few minutes from an LRT (which takes you directly into KL Sentral station) and even closer to the Monorail (not directly into KL Sentral station). Given its very high-quality rooms (I was upgraded to a club room on the 33rd floor, with impressive views), ambience, and good-looking lobby area, it is an excellent choice for Kuala Lumpur. However, I found there to be a surfeit of staff, many of whom often didn’t say anything and seemingly didn’t do anything. And I had to ask people a couple of times until what I had requested (to provide me with an in-room dining menu, which was missing from my room) despite promising me that it would be done. So the ‘hard’ product is excellent and the ‘soft’ product needs some work but it’s good. Nevertheless, it is, overall, very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the location of the hotel within the train stations, quality of the room and lobby. Also, thanks for highlighting the service level issue and we don't compromise on service feedbacks. I have shared your feedback with the team so that their aware of shortfalls.

We look forward to welcoming Sheraton Imperial when your travel plan brings you to KL again. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Recently, I had the chance to revisit Sheraton Imperial Hotel in KL. Although the exterior of the hotel needs a bit of updating, the rooms of the hotel are spacious and airy.
I managed to get a room on the high floor and enjoyed the view and quietness. The beds are really comfortable.
Although the hotel is on the outskirts of the busy part of KL, Bukit Bintang and KLCC, there is a monorail and LRT train systems nearby.
And just outside the hotel, there are lots of drinking places and restaurants to wet your lips or soothe your hunger pangs.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, if possible, facing the Twin Towers of KLCC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesTanSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed, room size and location of the hotel within the train stations.

We look forward to welcoming Sheraton Imperial when your travel plan brings you to KL again. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A hotel which is with a age.
Into city area, but not really convenience for public transpot.

Room look normal with a little bit old feeling, but with amazing bed. International plug make us feel more convenience to connect our IT prod to TV or charging

Service crew are well train, friendly & nice

food are nice especially desert.

looking forward to stay again if room doing some upgrading

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrawfordTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed and hospitality port in the room. Glad you also noticed our associates friendliness and ever ready to assist on any queries. One of our key strength is also the location of the hotel that's within the monorail and LRT access because you avoid the traffic congestion in KL with these 2 options.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again! Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We recently visited KL and stayed at the Sheraton Imperial. Upon arrival we were welcomed and ushered straight to our room.. This was awesome as we did not have to wait around or check in after a 9 hr flight. The staff were very polite and the room was superb, clean and well equiped with more than you would expect. The food was great especially the breakfast in the resataurant which had a spread of anything one could desire. All the staff from the reception, concierge, restaurants, club room and drivers were exceptionally polite and helpfull. All the ammenities such as pool, gym and spa were clean and well maintained. The location is great, just a short stroll to the monorail and train stations. I have only good things to say about my experience at the Sheraton Imperial and would highly reccommend this hotel. I will certainly be staying here the next time I am in KL. Thank you to the management and staff for such good service.

Helpful?
Thank Ikraam A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the overall stay experience in the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again when you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

After an eight and a half hour flight, it's great to be looked after. Spend the extra money for an airport pickup and Club access (especially if you're a wine drinker - wine can cost MYR50 for a glass in the bar!). Quite possibly the most comfortable bed I've slept in for years. Staff attentive, cordial and friendly.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for Club Access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitamorgan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the overall stay experience and we are glad you have enjoyed the Sheraton Club lounge benefits.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again for a great comfort sleep on our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed! Best Regards, Chuck Abbott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,363 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
#18 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Property: Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Address: Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#28 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the city center and just steps away from the city monorail and LRT lines, the hotel offers seamless access to Kuala Lumpur's main attractions making it just minutes away from the city's best shopping and dining venues. For your stay, explore our Sheraton Club Suite which offers panoramic vistas of the city skyline and extra in-stay benefits with great value. Dine in our award winning Celestial Court restaurant for an authentic Chinese dining experience or a romantic dinner at a free-standing trattoria styled after a rustic country home, Villa Danieli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Sheraton
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing