We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry state of buffet at the esteemed Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Ranked #27 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Went for lunch buffet today. I was so thrilled to see the spread at Essence. There were lamb, lamb, chicken, chicken and more chicken dishes. If you are into curries this would be just the place to come to. Practically every dish is spicy. Oh, and one overdone roast lamb. There was chicken satay - the best tasting meat item today. The ketupat was hard though. Same for the meat dishes.

Over at the Japanese section, the rice for the sushi was dry and hard. That's alright - one must adapt to different styles of preparation of food.

The salad bar was passable.

Was wondering how come during this one month where no Malays are having lunch, there wasn't any Chinese fried rice or fried noodles, or chinese style fried veggies, steamed fish? Oh ya, there was no fish today. The steamed green beans were not green - they had morphed into some yellowish stringy looking things....so sad looking. I particularly didn't want to disturb that dish.

There were NOT many lunch guests today but the used plates were not cleared promptly. We just placed them on the empty tables next to our table.


Was I at Sheraton Imperial Hotel? THE Sheraton chain hotel??? Really???


Because this is a Sheraton hotel, I would have to rate our lunch experience as poor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juz_do_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your feedback on the buffet lunch on not meeting your standards. On daily basis we rotate the menu's to ensure our guests enjoys a good mix of Asian and Western cuisines. Nevertheless, I have personally shared your feedback with the F&B team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,786 - 1,792 of 3,432 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our visit in early July 2013. It is situated right alongside a monorail station and 10 minutes walk away from a metro station. But it is a couple of stations away from KLCC, Bukit Bintang, and Central Market/Chinatown respectively on different directions. But around the hotel there is really very little to do except for a couple of dodgy clubs that nobody visits.

The service was superb. We were delayed in our check-in and was given free wifi for our 4 nights by the manager as compensation. The free internet was really helpful as we needed to use the internet to search places to visit and restaurants to eat at during our stay at KL. Also, for 3 people we were given 6 large bottles (750 mL each) of water EACH DAY. This was more than enough and ensured that we had enough water for our excursions. The rooms were large and beds were comfortable. We would recommend this hotel as long as location is not the first priority for travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tibetanrangertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the hotel location within the train hubs, service level and room size. Our hotel location also gives you access to some of the historical places like Independence square, Little India and others. But again, it solely depends on what you want to do but train access allows your to quickly move around the town during high traffic.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again when you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This property is nicely located, Petronas towers are reachable with foot. Service is friendly and satisfying overall. Public areas are stylish and clean. We stayed at club room on the 37th floor, and room itself was nice with views to the city skyline. Club lounge at 38th floor was better than average and laundry service was superb. And special thanks for remembering our special day!

But can`t be totally satisfied. Can you believe that the ground floor night bar thumping was heard clearly in our room!?! It started about 11pm and ended about 4am. So if you have any problems to have a sleep, consider this property with care. Our room was towards the street passing on the side, so we don`t know about situation in other sides. But it was huge disappointment.

Pool area was ok. Quite small though, it needs some freshen up or renovation. And jacuzzi needs some bubbles. You may also criticize the service at some points. You don`t expect to need to: repeat your orders, renew key cards one after another once again, ask for housekeeping to clean your room... Pool bartender also had some problems to put our orders to the room bill (technical), Club lounge staff didn`t say a word about the hotel when checkin in. So we had to ask if wanted to know about hotel restaurants by ourselves.

But when you think you are going to 5-star hotel... not.

Room Tip: Try other sides than side street side, on the right side of hotel if looked in front of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZorroF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the friendliness of our associates, public areas ambience, cleanliness, Sheraton Club lounge and laundry. Also, thanks for sharing some of the areas that we can further improve to deliver higher level of guests experience. I have personally shared with the team to review some of your points highlighted as guests experience is our key focus.

We hope the isolated incidents at hotel wont deter you from returning again to Sheraton Imperial. So we look forward in welcoming you again Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed on March 2013, only a night but very comfortable. The hotel is nice, I like the design. Staff are also friendly, located nearby the public transport station which is so GOOD. Got the room that facing KL tower and that was nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritzcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the hotel ambience, friendliness of our associates, location of the hotel within train hubs and room view facing KL Tower.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again when you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotel is very conveniently located 5 minutes walk from the mono rail , a very good buffet breakfast on level one, but quieter in the level 38 lounge. Conference facilities worked well. Lifts could be frustratingly slow, hotel backs on to Heritage row , an area very likely best avoided.

Room Tip: Stayed on level 35, no disturbance from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the location of the hotel within the train hubs, signature breakfast at Essence and conference facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again when you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

5nights in Kulualumpur I spent in Sheraton. It is little bit away from city centre eventhough nearby mono station is useful to catch trains to city centre.

Breakfast buffet stand was really good. Especially fresh fruite stand was with enough varieties of ripen and delicious fruits and fresh juices (I didn't try any other meal since I opted only BB).

From cleanliness perspective, rooms were clean in general but some kind odor was little bit distrubing somtime. I think it is time to rennovae the property.


  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bu Hamad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the location our hotel within the train hubs and signature breakfast at Essence with our fresh fruit juice options. Also, thanks for sharing your concern on the smell and I have personally shared your views with the Executive Housekeeper for room cleanliness improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again when you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. Upgraded to the Exec Club rooms at a 50% reduced rate through an e-mail offer... I'm so pleased I did... 6, pieces of laundry, lounge access with cocktails, drinks and snacks, Internet and breakfast were well worth the extra paid...

Room was 42sqm with fantastic views and good decor throughout... The lounge facilities and staff in the property were very attentive to detail and polite. I especially enjoyed the Villa Danieli Italian restaurant...

Complimentary shuttle services to the Petronas Towers and some local malls on a one way basis, so it gives you ample time to explore and make your own way back in your own time... Also numerous blue taxis await outside the main entrance to take you where you need to go... Or during the peak travel times you can travel by sky train very easily around the city...

Overall... I would be happy to return... 'Supremely Imperial' Sheraton at it's best...

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor and if you have the opportunity, upgrade to use the club facilities... You won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thaibeachlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the Sheraton Club benefits, room size and Italian cuisines at Villa Danieli. Great to know you took advantage of our shuttle service and during peak hours, using the sky train helps!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again when you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
1.9 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
4,412 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
7,411 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,755 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Address: Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#25 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#27 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $99 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the city center and just steps away from the city monorail and LRT lines, the hotel offers seamless access to Kuala Lumpur's main attractions making it just minutes away from the city's best shopping and dining venues. For your stay, explore our Sheraton Club Suite which offers panoramic vistas of the city skyline and extra in-stay benefits with great value. Dine in our award winning Celestial Court restaurant for an authentic Chinese dining experience or a romantic dinner at a free-standing trattoria styled after a rustic country home, Villa Danieli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Sheraton
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing