We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DisappointIng As a very tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Ranked #27 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here over 15 years ago and nothing as changed or been updated in that time,now I know why the suite we had was a good price,soon as we got to our room the furniture was so dated and the carpet was tatty and looked dirty but a may have just been worn out? The staff were very friendly and obliging,the club room was also good service with great views.the whole hotel just needs a big investment in the upgrading of every area,I wouldn't go back unless it gets the revamp and it would be money well spent.

Room Tip: The best view is of the twin towers so ask for a room with that view,but don't go unless the who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoffreyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your feedback regarding to the tiredness of the hotel but we did have a refurbishment since the last 15 years. Nevertheless, i have personally shared your feedback with our housekeeper. Glad our associates were able to meet your expectation from service standards.

Again, thanks for your feedback. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,665 - 1,671 of 3,264 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in a club room. First our room was just perfect, the bed was so comfortable. We had the most amazing view, of the towers. We spent some time in the club lounge, so relaxing. It is so good as there is a cool drink in the foyer to greet you, it's those little extras that make the difference. The staff are extremely helpful and are so keen to help, nothing's too much. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely be staying again when we next visit Kuala Lumpar.

Room Tip: Could not fault the club room, if you love city views ask to have a view of the towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CazWaz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the overall stay experience at hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again when you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Got a room overlooking the twin tours for a couple of nights. friendly staff. Very helpful will definitely stay there again next time I visit Kuala Lumpur. Easy to miss if you don't know the area. GPS doesn't work as well if you are used to North American and European style of GPS. the location is convenient if you know where to go. Unfortunately I didn't find the shopping street till the last day of my trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the twin towers, great view in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Estate555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the overall stay experience at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again when you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was in this hotel on business for a weekend. I didn't get to use any of the hotel facilities apart from the room service, but this was very good. The first impression on entering the room is 10/10 for a business hotel. Much larger than a Novotel or Grand Mercure (similar price range in SE Asia) with a spacious bathroom, a proper bath - instead of one eight inches deep - and a practical desk.

The room is a pleasure to spend time in, in fact, and seemed cleaner than what I would expect with a hotel of this age. The front desk staff were friendly and check-in was prompt. They helpfully called me a taxi and charged it to my room bill which saved a lot of time.

I would (and hope to) stay here again on my next visit to KL.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YourLocalGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the room service, room size and friendliness of our associates.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again! Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a double and I was pleasantly surprised at how large it was. Everything was clean, and there was a ton of free bottled water (6 bottles). I couldn't figure out if that was because you're not supposed to drink the water or if they were just being generous. I didn't have any issues, however, and was using the water from the bathroom tap to brush my teeth. We had great view of the Petronas towers too.

The location was interesting. I found out later that this was an area that had lots of bars and clubs. It's not the main partying area, but we could see the bars getting ready for the weekend partiers.

But the standout that would make me return was the breakfast buffet. Wow. Asian buffets are so much better than Western hotels. There was a Chinese soup station, Indian food, Malaysian food, Western breakfast items, juice bar with a chef on hand to freshly squeeze your juice, homemade waffles on the spot, and even gluten-free pastries! I could have stayed there for hours.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelspye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the room size and location. Glad you also enjoyed our signature breakfast at Essence! Our F&B team puts in lots energy to get the signature breakfast lively.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again! Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stay at high quality hotels worldwide and must acknowledge this one as one of the best. Stayed in an executive suite which was the size of my first house! What a respite from the tiny little rooms in our Asia tour - an actual walk-in closet to boot! Great location near the PETRONAS Towers and close to major attractions. Club room was good and the breakfast spread unmatched anywhere in my travels - what an incredible selection of foods. If you stay there - talk to Ms. Gayethre at the concierge - she is hands down the best concierge I have ever come across - the word "No" is not in her vocabulary - she just gets it done, whatever you need, it's handled. Great experience, wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in KL.

Room Tip: Chose an executive suite - you'll be happy you did
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aziz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the location, room size & attributes, signature breakfast Essence and friendly team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again when you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a Club Room on the 33rd floor. Check-in and out was simple and no-fuss.

The hotel is close to Medan Tuanku monorail station (120m from steps to front door), and if you are coming from Sentral, you could wheel your luggage from it to the hotel, as the surface is quite level and mostly under cover, but the steps down to the pavement might be difficult. Also the monorail tends to be crowded at most times so having luggage in there might be difficult too. But its a great facility to have nearby for exploring the city.

The room was, frankly, one of the best we have had in a 'tower' type hotel. It was large, functional, practical and everything worked as it should. Nice view to the Pretronas Towers (pity about that new building which now partially blocks the towers :-) ).

Lots of bottled water in the room; power points convenient on the desk, aircon easy to use - quiet and responsive to changes in the set temperature etc. We really liked this room!

The Lounge on the 38th floor was good. Service a bit tentative but very friendly, food offerings tasty and not in short supply. The views in the late afternoon to evening are great. Breakfasts were varied and tasty as well.

We were disappointed in 'Essence' but that might just be a matter of taste. I ordered a plain old fashioned vanilla milkshake, and it came with a MR28 price tag (abt US$9.30). Yikes. In fact drinks prices of all variety were expensive (glass of wine was about the same price). One expects then to be a bit above average in a Sheraton, but these prices were a bit of a spoiler on our enjoyment.

The pool was good, with nice sprays at one end to give a bit of variety.

Now to the problem. As many others have noted, nearby night clubs produce a great deal of noise, into the early morning. We were on the 33rd floor, and not directly facing the clubs, but we still had the noise. Actually, the first night (Tuesday) there was nothing, and we thought we had escaped. But in Wednesday came the noise and we donned earplugs. Thursday night was again no noise. I imagine Friday and Saturday would be 'lift off'.

If you stay here, ask specifically about nightclub noise at check in and ask about timings, and how you can avoid it.

Room Tip: Ask specifically about nearby nightclub noise. Do not accept a room that faces onto the street with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Imperial_KL, General Manager at Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about the location, Sheraton Club rooms and speed of check-in/out. Also, thanks for your constructive feedback on price for milkshake and in terms of noise from Clubs, we are working with city hall to ensure we have some control on noise level.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Imperial again when you're in KL. Best Regards, Chuck Abbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
2,800 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
7,219 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Address: Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $84 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the city center and just steps away from the city monorail and LRT lines, the hotel offers seamless access to Kuala Lumpur's main attractions making it just minutes away from the city's best shopping and dining venues. For your stay, explore our Sheraton Club Suite which offers panoramic vistas of the city skyline and extra in-stay benefits with great value. Dine in our award winning Celestial Court restaurant for an authentic Chinese dining experience or a romantic dinner at a free-standing trattoria styled after a rustic country home, Villa Danieli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Sheraton
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing