We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disastrous start to a good finish”
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #41 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2009

I booked the Melia online for my visit to KL for 4 nights. The reservation was very simply. Yet the hotel managed to screw it up (after confirming what I had requested!).

After 24 hours of screw-ups, I was upgraded to an executive floor. Executive floors have access to the V Lounge on the top floor. I visited and was treated very brusquely (I suspect on account of being an upgrade). I felt very unwelcome. I emailed a detailed complaint to the management of the hotel, who profusely apologized on behalf of their 'not so well-trained staff'.

The advantage ot the hotel is its location. It is at the foot of the Imbi train station which makes travelling very very easy. And it is at the back of Bukit Bintang (although I discovered Bintang is really a very seedy and downscale area, not to waste your time with).

Melia is at best a three star hotel (for comparison for Pakistanis, it is not better or worse than Avari in KHI/LHE). The buffet breakfast was very good and had a lot of variety.

Stay if youre on a budget, otherwsie, go closer to The Pavillion, where all the nicer hotels are.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilalMasood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,736 - 1,742 of 2,301 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2009

I stayed at Melia K L for three nights, every thing went well from the start , a quick check in by the friendly staff, the room was clean, spacious with a well equiped bathroom. Breakfast had a good variety of food and the hot food was not allowed to go cold. Good location with the Mono Rail just outside the front door. Every thing was so convienient. Most of all the staff of the hotel were wonderfull.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jomarAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

im travelling with friends, just a break from work, so we go for practicality, and we wanted to do our travel as do it yourself style, like riding in train, bus ( as calls for it) even by "walking" to know the place well.the hotel so accessible coz its next kl monorail imbi station ( went to genting riding in the train to kl sentral... petronas twin towers riding in the monorail to bukit nanas)....around the area, various malls like imbi plaza, berjaya times, sungwei plaza. low yat , pavilion and lot 10 along bukit bintang.....the room so nice and the staff so duper accommodating...ive been to singapore and thailand, but it seem i like my visit to kl better...

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanid0sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

very good 4stars hotel i stayed 4 nights it was wonderful

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mar3y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I had stayed at this hotel for a total of two nights and was clearly impressed by the overall experience of staying here. The hotel lobby looked bright and cheerful upon checking in and appears better than some of the four stars hotels I had stayed in around the area. However, I had to wait longer than usual before my room was ready even though I had arrived at around 4pm. Room was standard and considered huge for hotels at this location (there’s even enough space to have another pair of beds!), beds were comfortable but pillows a tad too soft. Room amenities were also standard for a business themed hotel like this and this level of standard extends to the bathroom. The hotel also has a decent pool and a well equipped gym for guests and they are empty for most of the time, so you can work out thoroughly at your work pace. One thing I like best about this hotel is that the elevators have access control to the room levels. It may sound standard but this is the only hotel I’d stayed in this city that features this (some hotels in this area has this function but was disabled). Location wise, it is situated almost right in front of Imbi monorail station and right across Berjaya Times Square, so you will not have much trouble finding your way to other parts of K.L. and for food and shopping. My only gripe with this hotel is the small breakfast area and the understaffing. Luckily, my mates and I had arrived early for breakfasts for both mornings but for those who came down late, they had to wait for a good 5 to 10 minutes before getting a table. Overall, I’m very pleased with this hotel and would choose Melia again on my next visit to K.L.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

This is the second time we have stayed in the Melia & I can truely recomend this as one of the best value for money iin S.E Asia.
We stay at the hotel as a rest stop on the long flights to & from Australia using Air Asia for the cheap rides. The hotel is right on the monorail so is easy to get to & from KL central where the airport shuttle drops you, & is the best way to get around the city 'cause the traffic jams are horrendous & its quicker to walk than take a cab.
Hotel staff are exceptionally efficient & quick, 1st floor breakfast room serves an excellent (inclusive) spead, the rooms are clean & quiet from the street noise, what more do you need.
Location is central to all the sights or transport to the sights & its on the Golden triangle.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KJ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Don't be discouraged by the negative reviews on this site, as we found the Melia to be a more than adaquate choice of hotel.We found our room to be perfectly clean and comfortable,with quiet air con,and a working t.v.,road noise could be heard,but this it to be expected because of the hotels' location.As regard house keeping,our room was missed once in a 9 day stay,but,so what! so the bed wasn't made,big deal.
We found the breakfast buffet to be excellent,yes,queues did form,but toward the end of the serving times.
Best of all was the location,close to everything that you could need,shopping,monorail or food.
Overall we found the Melia a good choice and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VmaxMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
3,470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#51 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#54 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,162 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#40 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $63 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing