We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor standards” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #44 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poor standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

This hotel must trade on its location and not much else.

The rooms are old and there was a funny smell in mine, old, musty but something worse near the entrance. Because of the worn out status of the rooms, it seems the staff don't care much about cleaning. Not much dusting. Broken clothes hanger still kept in the wardrobe. The guest folder of information stopped at the letter 'G' or something. No maps or location explanations about the hotel.

Hot water - in spite of the piece of paper and plaque in the bathroom stating the green credentials of the hotel, it took a good 2-3 minutes before any hot water came out of the shower head. I reported this and they sent 2 technicians who declared that despite this wastage of water (particularly as neighbouring Selangor was subjected to water rationing), they declared hot water to be available and there to be no problem whatsoever. This is not good enough!

The beds pretend to be double or queen but are actually single beds pushed together. At check in, seeing I was alone, I was told oh there are only two-bed rooms left. I refused to accept this and the man relented, giving me a double/queen bed he said - at the end of my stay however, upon closer inspection, it turned out the 'one bed' was two beds pushed together.

The restaurant The Kitchen was a bit hopeless and slow. If you are going to be open til 1am then ensure you have the staff to work the floor and the kitchen. Plenty of staff preparing for breakfast the next day but a simply stir fry vegetables and rice took 45 minutes to come. Then I had to fetch my piece of paper showing a 60RM voucher for food for them to photocopy (took more time), then I was told I needed this piece of paper each time I chose to eat in the restaurant. Cumbersome.

The next day Sunday, breakfast, required queueing for 15 minutes. If you are in a rush and expect to have breakfast straight away you would be in trouble. The range of food was quite good. Service was reasonably attentive.

To not have Wifi throughout the hotel is a bit pathetic when so many cafes all over KL supply wifi. The hotel is therefore full of guests lounging around all over the lobby buried deep in their devices.

The reception staff was not very friendly. It was always the door staff hanging around who were left to deal with me whenever I approached reception. Reception was just interested in my bills and accounts, but not to help me with a simple query about getting a bus to Melaka. Reception staff just haughtily floated away. I was very very impressed with the Gran Melia staff in Jakarta and it was the reason I wanted to stay again at the Melia, but the KL staff left me so disappointed.

Also the taxi parked outside the hotel never wanted my custom. The doorman always hailed one for me from Imbi St and inevitably these taxis never wanted to use the meter, putting on inflated prices (triple the meter price) for me. This practice is supposed to be illegal (not putting on the meter and haggling), yet the Melia staff go along with this when taxi drivers do this to the hotel guests.

For some A$100 this is a very poor standard hotel. The rooms are forlorn, the reception staff are haughty, Jalan Imbi is busy and charmless.

Ultimately Berjaya Times Square isn't that great a mall anyway. Being located opposite Berjaya is no great reason to stay at the Melia.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotraveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear eurotraveller04,

First and formost, we sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience that you had.

The condition that you have discribe for the hallway to the room that you have stayed, are truly unacceptable and we sincerely apologize. Obviously on this occasion we have failed to live up to your expectation and possibly eroded the confidence that you have in our Hotel. We indeed have no excuse, but our commitment to take corrective measures to address them in the shortest possible time. Having said this, there may be certain areas that need more time and effort and we hope that you would bear with us for the time being. Please accept our sincere apologies for the frustration caused.

On this note we are pleased to share that we have plans for a complete guest room renovation by end of this year.

Pertaining to the hot water, we will brief our team accordingly on this as due to water rationing has actually nothing to do with our hot water as last month we have some pipe upgrading and servicing, therefore the water take few minutes to warm. Sincerely apologize on that as we will provide more training on this certain issue.

For any special request on room accomodation it is subject to hotel availability and we truly hope that you understand the situation and your kind comprehension is highly appreciated.

For breakfast as we will take more consideration on peak season to resolve this matter and management has taken note on these issue.

Kindly be inform that all our Melia Guest room there will no in-room wifi available due to upgarding the service and facilities and hopefully will completed by end of July 2014.

Your comments on the services rendered by the Reception Counter have been brought up to the attention of the Department Heads concerned. Please rest assured that corrective measures including a review of our training programmes has been taken so that our valued guests can enjoy only the highest level of hospitality.

last but not least, on the taxi fares are actually beyond hotels control as we are not handling any public taxi as i believe you aware of only certain taxi are using meters. Our team could only assist by flag taxi and mentioned our guest destination to the driver.

Trust the above is clear and should you need any further information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    915
    381
    132
    83
See reviews for
514
782
164
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This hotel was booked by our travel agent for a one night stopover on the way back from the UK and it didn't disappoint. It is located across the road from a 10 floor shopping centre where we spent most of our time. It is very close to one of the monorail stations too which was great for us travelling to Petaling Street at night for dinner. The room was big and modern, although we had to remind housekeeping to provide the bed for our daughter and we had to sleep in two single beds. The room guide needs to include information about which TV stations broadcast in English. The wi-fi was being upgraded so was only available in the foyer. Breakfast was an extensive spread of all types of cuisine. We arrived by premium taxi from the airport which cost RM150, but that was still cheap by Australian Standards. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Susan T,

Thank you for your review. Pleasing to know that you had a great stay with us.

Pertaining to your comments on the room compendium for the TV guide will definately be considered by the management.

We are delighted that you had enjoy your breakfast at The Kitchen. We at melia certainly look forward to welcome you back for another great stay.

Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Expeience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Good location to walk around Kuala Lumpur.
Walking distance to shopping and tourist attractions, nice pricing and decent rooms makes this a nice choice.

Be careful and check if you are booked to new or old rooms in this hotel, they are very different.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for the new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanPabloChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear JuanPabloChile,

Thank you for your review. Great to know that you enjoy the location of our hotel and you had a pleasant stay with us.

I am pleased to share that we have completed our guest room renovation plans and hopefully starting by end of this year - which will help us better cater to the changing needs of our discerning guests such as you and allow us to stay competitive against new hotels.

However, Melia team will certainly look forward to welcome you back in our newly renovated room in the future.

Best regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for 3 days... the first thing you can notice the unfriendly staff except the door man.
The room was so outdated, no robe no slippers.. very small bathroom(no bidet toilet seat).
We booked a room with a Wi Fi service when we checked in they said they are upgrading it and it is not avilable but they can make it avilable for 85 MYR per day!
The food is good not bad.
The only good thing is the location no more no less.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Eman R,

Thank you for staying at Melia Kuala Lumpur and for your feedback.

We regret that your stay with us have had not been a pleasant one. Obviously on this occasion, we did not live up to your expectation. Your comments on the services rendered by the Reception Counter have been brought up to the attention of the Department Heads concerned. Please rest assured that corrective measures including a review of our training programmes has been taken so that our valued guests can enjoy only the highest level of hospitality.

As mentioned earlier in management response, we have completed our guest room rernovation plans which are schedulued by end of this year. We indeed have no excuse but our commitment to take corrective measures to address them in the shortest possible time. Having said this, there may be certain areas that need more time and effort and we hope that you would bear with us for the time being.

With regard to your comment on allocating a hose in the washroom, they will definitely be given serious consideration.

For the robe and slippers it is available only upon request. We have taken note your comments on the Wi-Fi connection, as all our Melia guest room are currently still in upgrading process. However, for the in-room Wi-Fi connection it is available in our Premium and Executive room. We sincerely apologies for the inconvenience and frustration caused.

Eman R, we would like to thank you again for your feedback as this will enable us to continuously monitor, improve and maintain the highest standards of service our valued guests expect of us.

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Just one night transit, nothing much can do. Check in and check out process a bit slow. No complain about room cleanliness and condition. Times Square view. But Tv brightness is too dark. Barely to see movement if night scene. Part of that "big" problem, i had a nice stay. Hope can see you again 805.. ;-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHahn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear MrHahn07

Thank you so much for your great review! It is wonderful to know that you had a nice stay with us.

Melia team will certaily look forward to have you back staying with us in the future!

Best regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Having taken 4 hours from time of plane arrival to the hotel does not help but then facing the longest ever time to check-in for a pre-booked room that I have experienced is guarranteed to impress in the wrong way.
Malaysia's general attitude to smoking is very mixed but the rule at this hotel is, bewilderingly, if you are on carpet you can smoke - if you are not, then you cannot!
None of the computers in the bar area were working leaving a solitary one in the business centre room.
The facility book in the room is way out of date.
This is the only hotel out of the six that we used in the Far East that charged for water.
The door staff pointedly refused to get us a metered taxi, there invaiably being access to one that wanted, illegally, to charge an inflated flat fee.
We will not return here.

Room Tip: Keys to bargain price rooms, usually on the lower floors, do not allow automatic entry into the busi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Gary P,

First and foremost, we would like to apologize for your unpleasant experience staying with us. Pertaining to your comment on the computer at the bar will be taken note and will take necessary action.

On the other hand, regards to the taxi arrangement, kindly be inform that any taxi charges are beyond our hotel control as normally our team will flag the taxi for our guest and inform the driver of the guest destination. Hope you understand.

Lastly, with regards to the room condition, I am pleased to share that we have plans for a complete guest room renovation which scheduled by end of this year. Hope you will bear with us and your comprehension is highly appreciated.

Anyway, our team will certainly look forward to welcome you back in our newly renovated room in the future.

Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed at the Executive Room as the standard rooms werent available. The rooms were big, spacious and clean and had a nice view of the Times Square. There were some issues going on with the WiFi connectivity so incase you are a business traveller be sure to check that before confirming your accomodation. The staff at the hotel were pretty helpful at any moment. Overall I would recommend this hotel to any traveller

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepak_bhauwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Deepak_bhauwala,

Thank you for your great review and recomendation to other travellers in tripadvisor.

It is delighted to know that you did had a great stay with us and enjoy the location of our hotel as well as the service you received.

We certaily look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel!

Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#35 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#51 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#52 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#49 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#24 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Property: Melia Kuala Lumpur
Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#41 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, amongst all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby, Melia Kuala Lumpur is the perfect address for business or leisure. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. A swimming pool and gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveller looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing