We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel”
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #42 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I spent there the best 3 days of service,good place, good staff & excellent foood , everything is wonderful except for the wifi, it was not free but other things are perfect , thx alot for their effort

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Sherine M,

Thank you so much for the review and the generous commendation that you have given us and will definitely be shared with the Department Head.

Your positive observation will definately motivate them more and that they will endeavor to work even harder so that our valued guests can enjoy only the highest level of hospitality.

Lastly, Thank you for have chosen and staying with u. Melia Kuala Lumpur Team and I will look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Regards and be well,
Natasha kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    963
    395
    140
    84
See reviews for
551
821
177
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

breakfast was alright. room was a bit unsatisfactory. bathrooms should have bidet and water spray. the carpet in the room doesn't look very clean. hairdryer in bathroom should be replaced as it looks too ancient. there's no mirror at the dressing table area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Nazeera23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear SenoritaN,

First and foremost, pertaining with the shortcomings on the condition of the room, we would like to apologise that we did not live up to your expectation during your stay with us. We also have taken note to your comment on the allocating a hose in the washroom, they will definitely be given serious consideration.

We would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention as only through our guest feedback that we are able to improve and maintain the level of service our valued guest so expected of us.

Apart from the above issue, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback on our breakfast. We will endeavor to work even harder so that our valued guests can enjoy only the highest level of hospitality.

May we look forward to welcoming you back to the Meliá Kuala Lumpur in the future.

Thank you and regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

we stayed at the Melia for 3 nights and the the hotel was everything you would expect from a Melia hotel. The location is very central, opposite the Times Square shopping mall and close to the malls on Bukit Bintang. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable and if you get a front room you have a view over the Times Square. There is also a monorail station just outside the hotel, so you do not have far to go to use the transport system.

Breakfast offered a wide selection of western and local foods, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. There is a pool on the 2nd floor, but only gets sun for the middle part of the day. It was quiet both days when we used it, so no problem with getting a sun bed.

The only complaint was that check in was a bit on the slow side (not what you want after a long flight). Apart from that, a good location for a KL stop-over.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room facing Times Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan_m58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Stefan_m58,

Thank you for choosing and for staying at the Meliá Kuala Lumpur also for taking time to write us your kind review.

We are indeed delighted to know that our services met up to your expectation. We will continue to strive harder so that our valued guests can enjoy only the highest level of hospitality.

pertaining to the slowness service that you received at reception upon arrival, we will take note and monitor very closely with the Department Head to improved the service. We would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention as only through our guest feedback that we are able to improve and maintain the level of service our valued guest so expected of us.

The team and I will look forward to the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you and regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Although i wasnt excited for planning to visit kuala but the room view and hotel location was amazing to the extend that makes me found of the city..time square is agreat mall and the view from z room straight forward to time square with the preparation and decoration for christmas...breakfast was great and full of variety...but i didnt like the house keeping ...

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Semsema25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Semsema25,

Thank you for choosing us and staying with us.

I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us as well as Kuala Lumpur as a destination.

My colleagues and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Melia Kuala Lumpur again in the not too distant future.

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The ambience of the hotel is good. the bedroom is large however the
bathroom is a bit small. it's hard to close the door as there is not much standing
space. the gym and swimming pool are well kept. the location is the best,
close to Bukit Bintang.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Chor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Chor T,

First of all, Thank you for have chosen Melia Kuala Lumpur and greatly appreciate on the comment that you gave.

Pertaining to the room and toilet infrastructure, please be informed that we have plans for a complete guestroom renovation starting In the middle of 2014. Nevertheless, your great feedback is essential to the hotel, ensuring the hotel team can continually improve the hotel services, facilities and offerings.

Once again, Thank you for your kind patronage. We would certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Melia Kuala Lumpur in the near future.

Best regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Upon checking in, I requested to have king size bed for both rooms and that trainee at front desk acknowledged my request. However, when I entered the room, I realised that she still gave us connecting room. I then went back to the front desk and confronted her whether did she understand my request. She then explained the there was no available room with king size bed at that moment. She should have told me earlier and offer me to make request for a room change on my 2nd day of stay. Very unprofessional.

This is my 4th stay with Melia and 2 out of these 4 stays ended up with bad experience. The aircon also very weak.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Peck Hwee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Peck Hwee N,

Thank you for have chosen and staying with us at Melia Kuala Lumpur.

First and foremost, we would like to apologise for the shortcomings that you have had encountered during your stay here with us. We shall renew our commitment to work harder and to monitor, improve and maintain the level of service our valued guest so expected of us.

On the issue with regards to our trainee, these have been highlighted to the Department Heads concerned and assure you that remedial actions have been taken to improve on it.

May we look forward to welcoming you back to the Meliá Kuala Lumpur and assure you of our best services always.

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I booked our room through the hotel website, giving us 30% discount and 30RM/day/person to spend at the hotel restaurant and lounge--a good deal! Although there are cheaper alternatives, the hotel is worthy cent.

I chose the hotel primarily because of its location. It's right next to the Imbi Station, which is within the shopping mall district, Bukit Bintang. There's a 7-eleven next door, a Starbucks, and Berjaya Times Square is across the hotel. It's walking distance to the hawker food street, Jalan Alor, and popular shopping malls like the Pavilion and Lot 10.

The second reason why we liked the hotel is the breakfast buffet. They have a wide selection, ranging from Asian, Indian, Continental, etc. They even served mini steaks one morning! We actually saved a lot of food money during the day because of the heavy brunch we ate.

Although the hotel is not new, the rooms are spacious and sheets were clean and comfy. There are newer hotels, but I've done my research and you can't get a better value with the room size, location and breakfast. Check-in/out was fast, and the crew at the restaurant and lounge were pleasant. The only downside, in my opinion, is the lack of free internet.

All in all, we had a very nice stay at the Melia and would definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear whattheLisa,

Thank you for staying at the Meliá Kuala Lumpur and for sharing your stay experience with us on Tripadvisor

We are indeed delighted to note the generous commendation that you have given us and will definitely be shared with the Department Head. I am sure the staff will be motivated by your comments and that they will endeavor to work even harder so that our valued guests can enjoy only the highest level of hospitality.

On this note, we are pleased to share that we have plans for a complete guestroom renovation in the middle of 2014 which will help us better cater to the changing needs of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the MeliáKuala Lumpur and assure you of our best service always.

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#34 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
3,301 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#56 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#52 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Property: Melia Kuala Lumpur
Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#40 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby, Melia Kuala Lumpur is the perfect address for business or leisure. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing