We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegantly dated.”
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #41 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed at the Melia this month for a few days. I found it very relaxing, the rooms are large and well furnished. the bathroom was a little dated, shower over the bath. Breakfast was included, good variety well cooked. Piano bar in the lobby, live music. Swimming pool with bar and snacks. Apart from being a in need of a make over it was a very stylish property with very accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Next to Imbi monorail with access to the rest of the city
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menotjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,248)
There are newer reviews for Melia Kuala Lumpur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,223 - 1,229 of 2,249 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Melia Hotel is adjacent to Imbi monorail station, and Berjaya Times shopping centre. The room we had was huge, clean and had a great view of the city. The breakfast buffet was huge, the staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We chose an entry level room, direct on the net which included a daily bonus of 60 myr, it was excel...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We decided to stay at the Melia as we had experienced the Melia in Hanoi and had an amazing time there. We stayed on the Level which has its own check in and lounge area where you can have tea/coffee, breakfast, Happy Hour as part of the deal. We had experienced this in Hanoi and were blown away by the range of food and service.
Unfortunately the KL hotel does not match Hanoi by a long way. The actual hotel is a little tired, the rooms well appointed and the size excellent, but the bathrooms really need updating and our bath was actually chipped and the room just felt old.
The breakfast was nothing exciting and Happy Hour was hardly that. Nobody really around and the food OK. However the staff were exceptional - friendly, welcoming and informative. Interested in what we had planned, offering suggestions of how to get places and where to go.
We ate at the hotel restaurant the Kitchen for lunches and dinners. Excellent food - just give the buffet a miss and order from the menu. The buffet looked good value but the food was dry and tasteless.
The location is OK if you want to shop but our 2nd hotel that we stayed in KL, the Shangri-La, was in a better location we felt.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTraveller3204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband stayed at the Melia for our anniversary. We had a 'Level' (premium) room on the 14th floor. We had access to the Level Lounge, a free evening cocktail, besides unlimited drinks from 6:30 am to 11 pm, free wifi, a king size bed and luxury! The hotel staff were mostly very friendly and professional. From Level 18, we could access the open roof deck where you can look out into the city below. Security-wise, you need your room key card to access your floor.

It wasn't all perfect. I did find a strand of hair, from the previous wearer, in the pocket of my bath robe. We chose to have breakfast in the Kitchen, the hotel restaurant, instead of the Level Lounge, but the food was average. There were some construction sounds, drilling, from the floor above us, but that stopped before we could complain. Wifi signals were poor on our floor!

Pool? We had no time for swimming. There was so much to do, from visiting the many shopping centres, relaxing in the bath, or just lying underneath the comfy sheets. We enjoyed the location.

Room Tip: If you afford it, upgrade to the Level rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malaccaRulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The main asset of this hotel is its staff, who are all very friendly and very helpful. The location is very convenient, right in the middle of the shopping area. Our room on the 13th floor was large and well set out, very clean and with a separate sitting room and a small kitchenette. The view was great.The pool was small but OK. The air conditioner was quiet. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed just one night at this hotel as a stopover between Bali and Abu Dhabi.

Firstly the good points. The hotels location, absolutely excellent. Next to a metro station (imbi), opposite a mall. Lots of eateries nearby, a couple of excellent Shisha joints just next to it. Go out of the hotel and turn right walk for around 3 mins.

The rooms are big but non descriptive.

Can not comment about the breakfast as never got up for breakfast.

Now the not so good points. The decor needs updating and the bathrooms definitely needs to attention in terms of cleanliness and general upkeep. On the good points the shower was strong. The wifi costs around £5 for 24hours unlimited. I think at this day and age wifi should be free. The pool is tiny. My room faced the gym in the mall and I could see straight into it. I though it was cool but others may find it restricts privacy.

Overall I would stay at this place again, however would upgrade to the club rooms should I stay for longer.

It's a average hotel but its fantastic location makes it a good hotel for short stays.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Smhbokhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Upon check in we were first sent to a musty smoking floor which we quickly went back to reception and had our room changed to a non smoking floor. The room we had was very tired. The wallpaper was peeling, the carpet was very worn, the lounge was nearing the end of its life and the bathroom had some toothpaste stain on the vanity and I left it there to see how long it was take housekeeping to clean it. When we checked out 6 days later it was still there! Worst shower I had in a hotel and the enamel was peeling on the bath.

TV selection was poor no DVD player and movie upon requested was way overpriced considering you could buy a DVD for a 1/3 of the price. We found some staff where friendly while others avoided eye contact. Breakfast was very ordinary. Hotel is in a great location, monorail not far from the door and a massive shopping centre across the road.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SS_trip_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#35 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#53 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#48 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#40 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $68 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby, Melia Kuala Lumpur is the perfect address for business or leisure. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing