We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and excellent breakfast”
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #43 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and excellent breakfast”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staff at the Melia were extremely friendly. Location is excellent - next to the Imbi Monorail station and Bukit Pintang, and Pavillion. Breakfast was excellent with good choice of fresh fruit, Indian, European and Chinese dishes. Coffee and tea wer freshly brewed. Carpet was slightly dated and require good steam cleaned. They charged for wifi internet, but you can easily get free wifi in Starbuck and Coffee Beans next door. However, the room rates are very reasonable. The staff are very helpful and they reminded us about pick pockets and protecting our valuables everytime we left the hotel building. I don't know whether the crime rate is that bad, but it is reassuring that the hotel staff do care for their customers. The pool was slightly small and was under utilised. They do provide towels at the poolside free of charge. We'll definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GL6152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    956
    392
    139
    84
See reviews for
542
815
177
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bayona, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Melia hotel has been there for a long time and the property is getting old, I first steped into this hotel in 1994 and it was not new then. The rooms are "old" and would require to be renovated. The amenities are alright, but the pool is now "boxed" in by tall buildings sourounding the property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wibbelink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at melia KL for 2 days for some shopping in KL , the location is very good , just opposite the timesquare , and you can go every where with monorail because just opposite imbi station,
But the look is very old for for star hotel and modernism , the carpet is very dirty that have dark spot every where like long time melia don't have time to wash it or change it.
And the most disappointed things is " THERE IS NO free WIFI " , just ashame for big and four stars hotel , also no free wifi in area lobby. I think so many below 3 stars hotel in KL offers free high speed wifi ..
The breakfast so so lar.. Same menu every day

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank San D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

ery business-oriented, and there is really nothing much to do at the hotel otherwise.

Location-wise, it is in the golden triangle of KL, so commuting between meeting places is easy.

The restaurant was quite quiet most times and while they did get my orders wrong 90% of the time, the service was quite good and the staff were more than willing to help.

Rooms are basic and comfortable.

I would only return if my meeting venue is in the vicinity or want somewhere very near Berjaya Times Square for a little shopping.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank wintryposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel is in a good location on Imbi Road with Imbi sky train stop right outside.
The room we had was a standard one which was a nice size,much like most city hotels all the usual things fridge,tv, iron and ironing board etc,nice size bathroom and very clean.The room we had was at the front of the hotel on the 9th floor overlooking imbi road and times square shopping mall(which is as tall as the hotel) and as imbi road is a very busy road and the mall is so tall i found the noise at night when trying to sleep a bit much but my wife had no problems(maybe take foam ear plugs like i do).The rooms that overlook the rear of the hotel do have a view of the towers and maybe less noisey but they also look over roof tops with a/c units on etc not pretty.
Buffet breakfast catered for western and eastern palettes and was a good selection.
Hotel is in good location to visit all attractions twin towers30mins walk,little india(if you go here call at the Coliseum Hotel for a drink brill dead colonial),Chinatown(Petaling Street we went in the day not to crowded but at night might be abit mad) both of these about 35/40 mins walk,Lake Gardens 55 mins walk to top end near war monument(best end to start cos then your then walking back towards hotel).Jalan Alor(great street food) and Buckit Bintang are a couple of blocks behind hotel.
All in all good hotel great position.
We got the best price by going direct to the hotel not by booking agents.

Room Tip: As high as possible to avoid road at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aqualungcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel it self was very good for the money and was well situated. But after that, we were very disappointed! Internet was supposed to free but when we got there for our 6 night stay we discovered that they wanted 58RM(20USD) per night for internet (Wireless g). Our electrical appliances were incompatible with Malaysian systems and they would not supply(Sell$20.)adapters. No ice machines, ice buckets or wash cloths.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location and great amenities. Rooms were quite big and nicely furnished, perfect location to get around - across the road is berjaya Times Square with everything you'd ever need. Starbucks next to and across the road. Monorail basically outside the hotel. If only they offered free wi-fi then I'd have given it a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverfiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3,253 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#22 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#56 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
1,117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#26 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#79 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Property: Melia Kuala Lumpur
Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#38 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby, Melia Kuala Lumpur is the perfect address for business or leisure. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing