We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #44 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Good value, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights recently. Very courteous and helpful staff. Excellent location especially for shopping. Good value although the charges for the 2 short phone calls made to local mobile numbers were extremely expensive. Buffet breakfast spread was good. No free wifi was disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    931
    385
    135
    84
See reviews for
524
794
167
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maclean, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Three nights only, The Hotel very central to shopping walked everywhere. Monorail accross the road, terrific local eating places accross the road.
The Hotel restaurant put on a fabulous smorgasboard at a very reasonable rate. The Staff very helpful, calling cabs careing for luggage and directing us to shopping malls etc. Had to be out of our room by 11.30am but very happy to be able to shower and change before catching our late flight.

Room Tip: Remember to book non smokers area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 700JillT700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stay at this hotel because of the training that's held at the same location. Although the location is ok but the service is terrible. I went to my room at 2pm and it hasn't been cleaned yet and the laundry hasn't been picked up while the maximum time for the same day regular service is at 11am.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarskyLicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We encountered no problems , room clean , staff efficient .Location good , surrounded by shopping , restaurants .Stayed two nights as a stop over. have ticked the box to say I have been here , probably will never return . I really did not like Kuala Lumpur very much at all . My heart belongs in Thailand . I don't think there is double glazing on the windows , you can hear traffic and noise from the street. Our room was facing Berjaya times shopping centre

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wittsNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is my 2nd time staying with Melia KL.
Everything was good except that We was unable to open the door.
Felt so tired after driving up to KL,wanted to rest ourselves after getting our keys.
But we just couldn't open the door despite my hubby went down to front desk to verify the key card again.
Felt so frustrated when we are unable to open the door for the 2nd time. We went down to front desk again to verify.
They got their technician to help us out and the door did opened in few seconds.
Guess what..... Their technician pushed the door handle on an opposite direction. (Instead of 90 degrees downwards, it was 90 degrees upwards.)
In the end, we wasted about half an hour just to wait for the door to open.
I think Melia should rectify this problem so that there will not be any 'victim' like us again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lsq_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Lsq_20,

First of all, thank you for staying with us at Melia Kuala Lumpur. We regret that this has happen to you. Thank you for sharing your comment with us. We has review your comments with the department involved so that we can take actions and not to fail in these aspects again.

Such information indeed enables us to monitor our facilities while simultaneously allowing us to rectify any shortfalls.

We wish to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and greatly appreciate your kind patronage.

Kind regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great central location. we travelled with our son and his girlfriend, who arrived 5min earlier than us to the Melia to begin the check in process. we arrived on an early flight so were aware our room may not be ready. Interesting they said our room wasn't ready but if we wanted a room immediately we could have one with 2 single beds, we said no we would wait, we were then offered one on a smoking floor, again we declined. we continued with checking in and at the conclusion we were given the keys, i asked if we could store our luggage somewhere until our room was ready and she said, much to our surprise, "your room is ready now' ???
turns out they played the same game with our son, who accepted their offer of the 2 single beds, this was a far inferior room to our own. My husband and son approached the manager and queried this, and our son and his girlfriend were immediately given the premium room as originally booked!! it is hard not to conclude that this was a cunning plan to occupy less desirable rooms and leave free the premium rooms to re-sell.
This did put a slight damper on our 3 night stay. We did have internet issues which were annoying as they charged for a poor wireless internet service.
Over all the hotel was a tad tired, but clean and suited our purposes for this trip, a stop over in KL before going to Langkawi, probably would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't get fobbed off with an inferior room if you arrive at the hotel early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonnzuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear NZUK-15,

Warm Greetings from Melia Kuala Lumpur!

First of all thank you for choosing Melia Kuala Lumpur. We apologize for any inconvenience caused that you had upon arrival. However, check in time is at 2pm.

We are most concerned to note of your comments. I am pleased to inform you that we have review your comments to the departments involved not to fail in this matter again.

We wish to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and greatly appreciate your kind patronage. We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Meliá, Kuala Lumpur in the near future.

Thank you and kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_hh81
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

stay in melia hotel frm 1st until 5th (check out).ok room for standard was good size facing the Berjaya Time square building.Location is good but its busy ..

Its an old hotel need few and bit refurbish .Once you out from the lift and the hallway to room its smelly ..

Its a bit noisy as its facing the main road tho...

Nice stay people is nice and warm there.However just not my cup of tea.Good location but there is a lot of hotel in KL offer the same thing.

The pool side is boring.There is nothing wrong with hotel ..good area not too bad but it just not 4 star standard to be honest

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Hannah I,

Warm greetings from Melia Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your kind feedback. We will take into account on your comments as your opinion will be very important for us to improve and maintain the level of service our valued guest so expected of us.

On this note, we are pleased to share that we have plans for a complete renovation in the near future which will help us better cater to the changing needs of our discerning guests such as you and allow us to stay competitive against new hotels - unfortunately we are unable to let you know the date and hope you understand.

We look forward to your next visit.

Take care and wishing you a happy and prosperous 2013.

be well

Thank you and Kind regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#37 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#53 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#24 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Property: Melia Kuala Lumpur
Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#41 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby, Melia Kuala Lumpur is the perfect address for business or leisure. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing