We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but need improvement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #10 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good but need improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Stay here for a week, the lobby is very beautiful, food is nice. I stay in the room when my husband went to work. The housekeeping guy who come to clean our room keep asking me what he need to do. I wish he just do what he needs to do! I'm busy handling my 3month old baby. The result, he didn't take the rubish out and he didn't replace the empty mineral bottle.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank QeylaAleeqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Qeyla A,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving your feedback. We apologise that the water was not replenished and the rubbish not taken out. We will definitely address this to ensure there are no repetitions. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you soon.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    833
    203
    56
    41
See reviews for
408
515
168
695
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

the bones of this hotel are all good - grand entry, all the facilities, loads and loads of staff but the collective efforts did not make the experience I expected.

when I write a review, I also think in my mind, what that brand or that price tag should be delivering - lets face it, Intercontinental is a great brand - this hotel, does not in my find fully deliver on the brand or the brand promise.

the rooms are a great size and in really good condition - clearly maintenance and housekeeping are doing their job and need to be recognised.

the hotel though is let down by service delivery - the staff to guest ratio must be one of the highest in a hotel that I have stayed in for a long time - all those people though do not manage to provide consistent and incredible service.

some examples - room service dinner - the wrong order delivered, check out over 20 minutes from the time I stepped up to the receptionist, concierge - very off hand with instructions on how to find a chemist, house bar - over three nights, three wrong orders, breakfast - very hard to get a second cup of coffee (although the buffet was superb), room servicing not till 4.30pm in the afternoon.....I could go on with a few more examples but bottom line - the staff were there, the attention to detail wasn't.

Location wise, I have stayed in the past at the Parkroyal in KL and would recommend that - I felt a little isolated at the Intercon as there was very little to do outside of office hours.

I expected more - it was ok.

Room Tip: Location wise, try the Parkroyal - there are malls and shops close by. this hotel is just a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear matt s,

We appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We are very sorry that you had a less than satisfactory experience. We have addressed these issues with our operations team which has taken this matter seriously. The next time you are in Kuala Lumpur, we would love to have you come back and experience a better level of customer service. Thank you once again for your comments.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed with my family during Chinese New Year period & we definitely enjoyed our stay at Intercontinental! Location was excellent, check-in was seamless, breakfast buffet spread was good & rooms were reasonably clean. Requested for both rooms to have a view of Twin Towers but unfortunately was blocked by some condominium. Overall, it was a pleasant stay & will recommend it to my business partners & friends.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline_Wee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Pauline_Wee,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the world. It was a delight to read that you had a great experience here at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur. Hope to see you soon!

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We spent two nights here and absolutely loved it.

Check in went very smoothly and facilities were pointed out, lobby was impressive and porter was friendly.

Room was amazing, bed extremely comfy and the shower was great (these are the two main things I look for in a hotel).

We had room service the first night and it was the fanciest room service I have ever had!

We had breakfast in the restaurant at the buffet, great selection and very friendly staff.

We had dinner in the buffet as well and whilst it was nice, I wasn't overly impressed with choices... I may just be incredibly fussy.

The best part of the hotel was the complimentary shuttle that left every hour (I think?) that went to Petronas Towers and Fahrenheit 88 which was across the road from the Pavilion Shopping Centre.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JesskaTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear JesskaTwo,

Thank you for your review. We're very happy to read that you found the room up to expectations especially coming from a senior TripAdvisor contributor with so many hotel reviews. We will definitely share this with the team as it will definitely encourage and motivate our associates to keep the high level of standards.

Again, thank you and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and there was a good choice but it was very busy. On the Saturday morning there was a queue of 33 people waiting to get in although on the Sunday it was better as the hotel opened the lounge area as an overspill. The pool was clean and very well maintained as was the gym. The staff obviously took great pride in the appearance of both.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_PB8755VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear John_PB8755VG,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We would like to apologize for the queue during breakfast and we're glad to read you found facilities up to expectations. Hope to see you soon...

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stay here for event and bring Doctor's delegates from Indonesia.We are very thankful to the hotel staff were kind & friendly to all our needs especially Ms. Yee Yee (Hotel Manager). She can manage all of our delegates for check-in & out, arrange dining table & etc. All of delegates very satisfy the room and service. Good place to bring big groups and having event in hotel. Also good location if you want tour around KL. Very near with KLCC, Bukit Bintang, Jalan Alor (best place to get seafood & durian). Room was great and very comfort. - From Pantai Holdings Bhd.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HishamRahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear HishamRahim,

Thank you for staying with us here at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur. It's a particular delight to read the name of our associate. We will be passing your comments to Yee Yee as it would encourage and motivate her to keep the high service standards.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
455 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful welcome at the Ambassador desk! After a long flight, landing at 7am a fabulous greeting and smiling faces from the ladies at the desk. Early checkin and upgrade was very much appreciated. The room large by Asian standards, great bathroom with separate rain shower and bath (shower could do with a shelf for shampoo etc). The pool area is probably one of the most stunning city hotel pools I've been to, like a mini tropical oasis, so beautiful and relaxing, wait until 11am when the sun hits and if you sit on the chairs by the waterfall wall you can get free wifi from the food mall next door. The hotel has a buffet, Chinese and Japanese restaurant, we tried the Japanese (separate review) was has a great value 70r set lunch. The promos can be a little hard to find out, the website isn't updated. I tried the online reservation service for the Chinese restaurant but no one ever confirmed so I don't think that is monitored. The weekend buffets are quickly shown on the tv screens, which look great value. There is a nice pub which has a happy hour. But happy hours in KL are not as good value as you might think or like home, with most only discounting around 1USD a beer, so there's no need to rush to get to happy hour. The staff can be a little distracted in the pub and on one occasion it was a 20min wait for the bill, then a staff member passing said "are you still waiting for check?" Yes we said, but she didn't actually do anything about it, another 10mins and we tailed a person until they gve it to us. The in room dining was excellent, very quick to come, easy telephone ordering and very affordable compared to other 5* hotel pricing. The lobby staff were great and I can't recomend the shuttle service enough. The 2 times we used taxis was a disaster and ended in arguments, no meter, rip off pricing blah blah blah. Would be great if the shuttle went a little later, say 10pm so you could use it after dinner and that it goes to the Golden Triangle every journey not every second. Wonderful service, easy, use it! A great hotel, near Petronas. As a tourist now I've done Petronas I would probably stay nearer to Pavillion next time, just to be closer to the action but I really loved this hotel, will never forget that lovely greeting and that lovely pool area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SumoDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear SumoDoha,

Thank you for your detailed review! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again on your next visit. Again, thank you for the great review.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Property: InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing