We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #11 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I only stayed two nights at this hotel but I arrived early in the morning from Europe and my request for an early check in was welcomed once I arrived.
Good vibe when I entered the hotel lobby and my room was a great size. Everything I needed was there in the room and the fruit platter in the afternoon was a great touch.
I found the hotel to be a little far from any kind of night life but a taxi only costs $4AUD if you want to explore some bars. Concierge was more than helpful suggesting some places for a single guy to visit. The Irish bar within the hotel complex had a good atmosphere and the staff there were very friendly but there was not too many people there enjoying themselves.
The hotel arranged for a hotel car to take me to the airport early after I checked out. Without any hassle or stress I was catching my flight.
Overall, I would stay at this hotel again as the service and the amenities were top notch, but I would prefer a room with a view of the city if possible rather than a view of the side of another hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCOTT G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear SCOTT G,

Thanks for your gracious comments about your recent stay at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur! Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,305 - 1,311 of 2,657 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our second stay at this well located hotel and again it didn't disappoint. We arrived a little early and as our room was not quite ready we were still accommodated in another excellent room. One of the Ambassador perks is a late check out something we have often taken advantage of so the room not being ready was only a slight inconvenience when we have had the benefit often of early arrivals and late check outs. We were moved efficiently only a few hours later. The club lounge is small but staff are attentive and friendly. Rooms are outstanding with super plush amenities and towels in the bathroom and super soft linen and bedding. Pillow menu a bonus. Short walk to KLCC which makes for easy shopping and dining. The spa here is excellent offering a very reasonably priced menu compared to most 5 star hotels something other hotels should look at as we used the spa which added to the relaxation and total enjoyment. A great hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane-Bruce-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Jane-Bruce-P,

Thank you for your patronage and your support as an InterContinental Ambassador. We value your feedback and we are pleased to know that you had a great stay with us. Appreciate the special mention, our associates are constantly going the extra mile to ensure our guests feel welcomed and we will definitely share your positive comments with them. We look forward to welcome you again soon!

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Iam a royal ambassador platinuim
member
I stayed 3 unforgiotable nights
They offer me club room with club access
The staff all over the hotel very nice to me espailey in the club lounge and the guest relation desk

I like to mention mark from club lounge and jaleel from concierge and Ms Ameera also from guest relations

Room Tip: higher floors nice for nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bnghanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear bnghanem,

Thank you for the review and we would like to take this opportunity to convey our appreciation for your continuous support. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Kuala Lumpur with continuous positive impression.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Breakfast at the hotel was only available until 10 which wasn't very convenient. The service in the hotel wasn't great. The location of the hotel was decent. We would probably stay at a hotel that is closer to KLCC next time. This wouldn't have been rated as a 5 star hotel in my books. This hotel was a little cheaper than other 5 star hotels. I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anhtrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear anhtrann,

We appreciate your feedback on the level of service at our hotel. We regret to read that the service rendered was not up to your expectations. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope to have you staying with us again when your travels bring you back to Kuala Lumpur as we look to keep improving.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

What a great hotel - very central and reasonably priced. Our room was spacious and very clean. The bed was so large its virtually had its own postcode! Had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. The breakfast buffet is fantastic with a huge choice of hot, cold, western and eastern dishes. Lunch is also good although the service was a little slower. The dinner buffet is well worth the cost - I just wish I had been really hungry as the food was so good! Above all what sets this hotel apart is the staff. Without exception they were all friendly, efficient and so welcoming. Jason at the breakfast buffet deserves special mention for his quiet, kind and helpful manner. Highly recommended for a stay in KL.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somerferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Somerferg,

Thank you for your valuable and humourous feedback especially from a top TripAdvisor contributor! It is indeed our pleasure to consistently deliver quality service and facilities to our guests and I am pleased to know that you had a fantastic stay with us. Your comments will definitely inspire all of us to work harder and strive for excellence in providing the best to our guests. We will also ensure Jason gets a copy of this review. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I booked the Executive Suite and pretty happy with the room, bed and service except the fact that 3 things happened -

1. one of the towels had chewing gum with hair *yuck* on it after I used it. Duh!

2. The coffee machine doesn't work. Gave us cold coffee. Hahaha

3. Club lounge breakfast is not as good as level 1 cafe breakfast.

If they work on the 3 points, then it would be a 5 stars review!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Max T,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur. We understand that you encountered an opportunity with the cleanliness of your guest room and we sincerely apologise for this. This is one of the area's that we are very vigilant in to ensure maximum comfort and satisfaction for our guests. We are so sorry that we were unable to meet the expectations. Based upon your review, we will also look into the other 2 areas that you have mentioned. Thank you again, we appreciate your honest feedback.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked one day before out trip and we got a very good rate! The hotel staff was very helpful during our stay. The room was great, the bathroom is also great! The breakfast buffet is ok! The hotel is walking distance from Suria KLCC. Overall we enjoyed our stay. And we got a complimentary room upgrade when we check in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werdcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear camwerd,

We appreciate the time you took to share with us your experience during your recent stay at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur. Glad to know you had a great time with us! We would be delighted to have you back for your next visit.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
7,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
9,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
2,853 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
4,189 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $114 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing