We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly international hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #11 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Miri, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly international hotel”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

From the moment you get down the cab to the check in counter, you'll be greeted by the warm and friendly smile by the staff there. The lobby is cosy and welcoming. The surprising thing during my check in, the receptionist recognise and greeted their frequent customers (i assume) and proceed with the check in, in short time. I was amazed. thats very sweet of them. Room are equipped with all the necessity needed and it was facing the street view. LOve the view from my room especially at night, its even awesome. In-room dining services were great as the waiter was very friendly and efficient. Probably the hotel needs to have a clearer instruction for the guests and the housekeeper with the towels and bathrobe to whether reuse it or to change it. I was rather confused to whether they change the new bathrobe and towels for me or not. Swimming pool was okay but the gym facilities was rather good. i enjoyed my jog there. This hotel gives varieties of food for selection during breakfast and it serves hot chocolate (much to my preference rather than having coffee or tea). The hotel is located near pavilion and KLCC. But this hotel didnt offer any complimentary spa/sauna sorts of service for i nhouse guest. that was a bit of disappointment. Nevertheless I have enjoyed my stayed during the one week training in this hotel. I would say i would be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adeline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Adeline W,

We are pleased to know that you had a great stay and a great time with us. As we continue to strive for excellence and create a memorable stay for our guests, we hope to garner your continuous support and we wish to see you again on your next visit. We value your feedback and thank you very much for your patronage.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    866
    206
    58
    44
See reviews for
429
546
175
725
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This would be one of my favourite Hotels Worldwide! The lobby is spacious and welcoming, the staff couldn't do enough to help me. It was close to everything and the Hop on Hop Off Bus was right out the front! The bed was so comfortable and the Biggest I've ever seen! The Bathroom was also spacious and luxurious. The Room service was on time and delicious .... can't really fault it. I traveled with my sister who is an Intercontinental member and the members lounge was also Amazing! I would without hesitation recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Kylie M,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedbacks on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and your stay in our beautifully furnished and spacious rooms. We are also delighted that you are pleased by the services provided by our wonderful hotel team. This is how it is supposed to be when staying at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur. We strive to provide each of our guests with authentic and memorable stay experience through our friendly and helpful service team.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel is well located at Jalan Ampang, adjacent to Ampang station and just less than 5 mins ride to KLCC.
I love the room, it was excellent. Furnishing were tasteful. I love the bed which was huge, superking size! Plus the bathroom is also huge!
The service was excellent. The check in was fast and smooth. They gladly obliged to my request for a birthday cake for my boy, plus it was complimentary, and the cake was really delicious!
The breakfast was pretty decent. I love the fresh fruit juices. The staffs diligently filled up the dishes quite fast.
The check-out line was kinda long due to everyone checking out at about the same time.
I had a good night sleep and the birthday boy was extremely comfortable !
I'd so come back here again.

Room Tip: I had the grand premier room, which i guess was bigger in size. But it was well worth it. You have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jTwT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear jTwT,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience with us. It is indeed pleasing to hear that you had a wonderful time at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur and you were very satisfied with your complimentary cake here. We are more than happy to extend our best services to you and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

All the staff here were the nicest and friendliest staff! Every single one! Our favourite was Calvin the concierge. Super friendly and helpful. We needed to go to KL tower and he told us the easiest way was taxi... Told us not to get the LRT... But we thought "hey that's fine, 15 min walk didn't look too bad" considering we had just walked from the monorail stop near the tower back to hotel. We didn't factor in the humidity and the time of day (lunch) so it was the most painful 20-25 min we spent walking, sweating and getting lost. When Calvin says get a taxi, listen to Calvin.

They organised airport transfer back to the airport for us a well chargeable to room (good for any IHG rewards members looking to earn points) and the spa was absolutely relaxing. We enjoyed a 90 min massage package with 25% discount using Amex to pay.

Room service was good , food delicious and prompt service. Gym is nice and big and the outdoor pool was a nice way to cool down out of the heat.

The hop on hop off bus stop is outside citibank (literally next door) and so are the free gokl and regular rapid buses. The hotel runs a free shuttle to klcc and Fahrenheit 88 too. The LRT is close as well but it's a quick walk to klcc and if you don't mind a longer walk, 15 min to the monorail that takes you to and from bukit bintang / imbi shopping areas. Also about a 20RM cab from these areas to hotel.

Wish we had more time to spend there. Definitely one of my favourite intercontinental hotels that I've stayed at.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, HotelStaff at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear chloeisacat,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Calvin was helpful! I will be sure to share your comments with them. I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great location, good lobby, rooms very average and the mini bar was empty. The second day it was empty again. Lacking in room service which could have compensated for a dull view. Great bar decor but lacked the warmth from the staff. A good premise lacking in adequate levels of customer service although there were exceptions to the case.

Room Tip: No comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BM87281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, HotelStaff at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear BM87281,

We appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We are very sorry that you were treated with an undesirable level of service. We have addressed these issues with our operations team which has taken this matter seriously. The next time you are in Kuala Lumpur, we would love to have you come back and experience a better level of customer service. Thank you once again for your comments.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in a room that was very comfortable, clean and spacious. Loved the bathroom, the rain shower and the bidet. Staff and especially those at the Club lounge were extremely polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. They made you feel very welcomed. Even the executive Chef Mr. O'Neill who was so friendly and obliging. We will definitely recommend the hotel to all our friends and family. The location was great too and not too far from KLCC for shopping and lots of local food outlets close at hand. I also have to say the taxi drivers that were waiting for customers at the hotel were knowledgeable about the area (something that is not common with many of the other Taxis) and very pleasant especially our favourite taxi man Mr. Cairul.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rupert23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, HotelStaff at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear rupert23

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will definitely convey the message to Chef Darrell and the Club Lounge team that they contributed to your enjoyment. We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Ecellent location 10 minute walk to the towers 3minute walk to the train station 15 ringit ($4) taxi ride to hard rock cafe and various night clubs..Well equipped gym good sized pool.Deluxe room were very nice and spacious. staff were extremely helpfull,breakfast had an array of Malaysian food and western food.we spent 7 nights here and the only thing i could fault was the downstairs bar in the lobby charged 44 ringitts($15) for a pint of Tiger beer and bentleys bar 40 metres up stairs was charging 25 ringits ($9) for the same all in all a great place to stay if you are ever in KL

Room Tip: We stayed on the 12 floor rooms were very spacious and had no problems..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, HotelStaff at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Mike L,

We are very happy to read your review on your recent stay with us at the hotel. We are pleased to know our hotel's prime location and facilities was to your expectations. We look forward to servicing your travel needs at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur should you return to the Kuala Lumpur area.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,589 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,883 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Property: InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing