We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #11 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay at as it is walking distance to everything in KL. The staff was good , some a tad stuck up at the door as they get all the nice cars coming in at night with the who's who crowd. The buffet at breakfast carries a very wide variety for everyone and very nice quality. The rooms are slightly dated but spacious. Overall no doubts in picking this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senator76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Senator76,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with feedback from your recent stay experience with us. It is indeed pleasing to hear that you had a great time at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur and particularly enjoyed the selection at breakfast.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,297
    851
    206
    58
    44
See reviews for
418
536
172
710
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were greeted the moment we stepped from the taxi, and escorted to reception. Checkin was rapid and efficient. Once in the room, we were delighted. I have never seen such a wide double bed at nine foot, but it was very comfortable with quality pillows.

The room attendant called to make sure everything was ok, and was there anything we would like. All in all we really felt spoiled and very comfortable.

Breakfast service on the first morning was a little chaotic, since everyone seemed to arrive at once, but once seated the choice was excellent and the staff could not do enough to help. The following two morning were were seated more or less immediately, and again the service was excellent.

We used the swimming pool on the fifth floor, but were a little surprised that there was no steam room or changing area.

The hotel is next to Ampang Park underground station. It is easy to connect to the airport express train at Sentral which is 2 ringets on ghe underground and 35 ringets on the express which takes half an hour. You can check you bag at Sentral as well.

Room Tip: Good views from the higher rooms. Presently some construction going on on one side of the hotel, so...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BobBrighton_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear BobBrighton_9,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We thank you for support and taking the time to share your experience with us. We are truly delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at InterContinental Lumpur and that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, delectable breakfast at Serena Brasserie and convenient location. Your valuable comments will definitely encourage all of us to work harder and to strive for excellence in providing the best to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you again for your kind review.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed for for 2 nights at towards the end of our stay in Malaysia in January 2013. We wanted to stay in a slightly different area from our usual choice of the Golden Triangle area.

Overall, comfortable and nice rooms. Most of the staff were friendly although the receptionist that checked us in was quite grumpy and inattentive. The gym was undergoing renovation which was a little disappointing. The pool area looked alright for a city hotel but it did not really have a nice vibe to it due to it being shaded by the skyscrapers around the hotel's surrounding.

In terms of location, it is still pretty good as it is only walking distance to KLCC but you can catch the LRT train for RM 1 (one way) on a hot day. There are some food places to choose from across the hotel and the surrounding areas. This hotel would probably be better for those travelling on business but that's just my personal opinion as I prefer to stay in the Bukit Bintang area when in KL.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay_Dhillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Jay_Dhillon,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your valuable feedback. It is indeed pleasing to hear that you had comfortable stay here at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.

With that being said, we have duly noted your comment with regard to the attitude of the receptionist and we will be sure to convey this feedback to the team members. We also apologise for any inconveniences you faced due to the renovation of the gym. We are currently upgrading our facilities and services to better serve our guests and we hope on your next trip you will be able to see the final result.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Staff are so friendly and helpful - made me feel very welcome
The hotel is close to shopping centres and transport.
Rooms are excellent.
Only as short walk to almost everything.
Close to the convention centre and there is an air-conditioned covered walk way linking to the Pavilion shopping centre

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjbdwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear pjbdwn,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It is indeed our pleasure to deliver quality service to our guests and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.

All of us here look forward to welcoming you again when your travel plans bring you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ii, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for almost a week early 2012. I was given an Ambassador upgrade to a room that included the club room access. I have to say it was one of my best stays anywhere, including other ICs.

Every morning I had breakfast at the club level. It was perfect, excellent food, service and atmosphere. Nice views as well. I also spent time many times there in the afternoon when they served champagne and other drinks and always the service was flawless. The Ambassador treatment was top quality all the time starting from the reception.

My room was tidy with enormous and comfy king bed. Biggest I have ever had.

I also stayed a few days at Shangri La during the same visit. Even though the interior of the public places, reception etc. are much luxury and posh at Shangri La, I was a regular mortal staying there without upgrades so my room at IC was many times better than the one I had booked with regular rate at SL. I accidentally had club room breakfast at Shangi La as well as I got lost the first morning. I have to say that IC lounge was better as an experience overall.

As an ambassador member I would most probably return. I had a nice stay. The location is quite alright as well and the taxis are cheap on western standards anyway.

Room Tip: Ambassadors get upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikkoFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear MikkoFinland,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we greatly appreciate your kind compliments on our Club lounge, rooms, and personalised service. Your positive observations will inspire all of us to work harder and to strive for excellence in providing the best to our guests.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here during the Fomula 1 weekend. Apart from a little difficulty with the staff at check in the stay at the hotel met my expectations but it did not exceed it. The area is nice and the staff is helpful with giving advice and hailing cabs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloWorld_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear OsloWorld_traveler,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that our staff were helpful and attentive during your stay.

With that being said, we have taken note on your points written regarding your difficulty during check in and we thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Only with feedback can we continue to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Location:
Near the metro station
Center of the city
10mins walk from KLCC great mall

Breakfast:
Many choices from eastern to western food.There breakfast is considered to be excellent

Lobby is always crowded

There rooms are dark not luxury as other intercontinental branches around the world

Wifi is said to be free but i got charged for using it in the room guess the loppy wifi is free only

my flight was at 8pm so spoke to the reception they told me i can check out till 1pm with out an charge and could keep my luggage with them and pick them any time before i go to the airport without any charge.So i did not worry where to leave my stuff after my check out.

Swimming Pool was clean but small compared to other InterContinental hotels.

Finally enjoyed my stay and will definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Sarah T,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We thank you for taking time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear your recent stay at our hotel was comfortable and that you enjoyed the excellent breakfast at Serena Brasserie as well as personalised service at the concierge lounge.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,484 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,451 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Property: InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing