We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Perfect Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #10 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Perfect Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I already wrote a review about this Hotel earlier but I would like to take the time to write another one as this is probably one of the better places I stayed in compared to other Hotels of this brand. The service is excellent and the facilities (excluding the Gym though) are great as well. I would recommend this for family and business equally.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larsdominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Iarsdominic,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your support and taking the time to share your feedback with us again. It is indeed pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our personalised service and updated facilities and that you would recommend our hotel. We will be sure to share your positive comments with our team as it will inspire us all to do our best to serve our guests.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,262
    833
    203
    56
    41
See reviews for
408
515
168
695
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Having returned from spending three weeks at the Kuala Lumpur Intercontinental, I am compelled to write this report. I had enough time to observe the hotel in operation, with some of the previous Tripadvisor comments in mind.
My conclusion is that the contributors to Tripadvisor with the vehement complaints are:
1) downright malicious
2) have a hidden agenda
3) are under the illusion that the staff have become their personal servants.
At all times the staff was professional, courteous and would bend over backwards to make sure that you were happy.
I suggest the unhappy contributors spend some time in Paris or NY hotels to find out what bad service is all about.
There is an old saying that goes:"you catch more flies with honey than with vinegar".
Go figure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear CeeMel,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to provide us with your valuable feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. It is indeed our pleasure to consistently deliver quality service to our guests and we are pleased to know that you had a fantastic stay. Your comments will definitely encourage all to give our best and to strive for excellence in providing the finest to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
769 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Compare to most of the IC hotels around the world this is a super affordable one, and perhaps for that reason it does not live up to the normal IC standard?
As a priority club member was never greeted at check in, no explanation to the benefits, no welcome amenities, even with an email requesting special amenities setup was never arranged.
Room was upgraded to a grand deluxe, description given online doesn't really state the different between their standard deluxe rooms but never mind. Came with free Internet access as well which was the only plus to the whole experience. The housekeeper was coming out from the room as I was about to get in! Wonder why.
Bathtub with hair, sink also, pretty disgusting, with white paper debris on the floor, this hotel needs proper housekeeping!
Room itself is of good size standing at 42 square meter.
Waited at least 30 minutes before my bags arrived! I was in such a hurry I called up 2 times before running into the bell with my luggage on the floor! The service was so slow at a point it took them 1 hour for my firm pillow and bath gel to arrive!
Got woke up at 1am I thought I was dreaming of someone knocking on my door and ringing the bell but then a phone call came and asked me to go open up the door for the adaptor, which I'd never requested for!
Location wise it's pretty convenient. Just 2 minutes away from the ampang park stop and 45 minutes taxi ride from the airport. Not sure if I would return for a second visit though.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Man_U_canuck,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are terribly sorry for the challenges you faced during your recent stay. We have duly noted your comments with regard to our service, housekeeping and front desk and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We have highlighted this to the department heads and rest assured, we are looking into the matter seriously. We always strive to ensure every guest of InterContinental Kuala Lumpur be it on business or leisure leaves the hotel contented and we believe that it is only with feedback can we continue to improve.

We hope that despite this disappointing experience, you will still consider InterContinental Kuala Lumpur in the future.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is by far the worst IHG experience I have had to date. As a Platinum Ambassador status, I stay a lot at different Holiday Inn, Crown Plaza and Intercontinental Hotel. It was one big disaster from start to finish. I was going to stay there 4 nights. I checked out after 1 night. They got my airport transfer wrong. The check in process was beyond joke and I was assigned a room right next to a construction site. Please beware that there is big construction going on in close proximity to the hotel which I was not informed of. The hotel room is old and dated. The Club Floor is very basic and breakfast range is very poor. And there was no WiFi or Internet!!! I was woken up at 7am by noisy house keeping staff - shouting across the corridor!! - The hotel is also not located close to the shopping and restaurants of Bukit Bintang. The other hotels provide a much better value and service. This experience has made to re-evaluate as to whether its worthwhile to renew my Ambassador Membership once it expires. The most disappointing aspect of this experience is that I brought all these issues to the attention of the Senior Management of the hotel. They had no solution or remedy. It was an absolute and total rip off! - I highly recommend Park Royal Club Orchid Floor - amazing rooms, great location, great club benefits, complimentary laundry, great selection of canape and alcoholic drinks including Argentinian wines and cheaper than Intercontinental KL.

Room Tip: There is a big construction site going on in close proximity of the hotel. So there is jack hammerin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paymaan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear paymaan,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges during your recent stay with us. We view this very seriously and have taken this issue up with the team members to identify areas that require further improvement. We will be sure to convey your feedback to the team particularly regarding the noise, and quality of the Club breakfast.

At InterContinental Kuala Lumpur we are currently upgrading all our facilities to better serve our guests. We will also be sure to share your comments on our interior to seek a solution to offer our clients better comfort.

We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

When we checked in, I was quite pleased as the lobby looked great, new, modern and luxurious so we had high expectations of the rooms. It was a little disappointing. The rooms were quite large with big bathrooms but it all looked like a Holiday Inn. A little drab, 90's style decorating and nothing like the Intercontinental in Singapore. May be we were spoiled. Not a great deal to complain about but nothing to rave about. Good location but that's it. The Shangri-La was much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear turbochap,

Greetings from Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is good to hear you appreciated our newly renovated hotel lobby and spacious rooms.

However, we express our regrets and disappointments that your stay with us was not entirely satisfactory. We are currently upgrading all our facilities to better serve our guests. We will be sure to share your comments on our interior with hotel team to seek a solution to offer our clients better comfort.

Thank you again for your helpful feedback and we hope you will consider our hotel the next time you visit Kuala Lumpur.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had two nights in KL on our way home from Langkawi, and settled on the Intercontinental, due to both the location (KLCC) and what appeared to be a very good price. We weren't disappointed on either front. It was a 10 min walk to the Twin Towers (even with a four year old in tow), and we were extremely impressed with the room we had (we were given an upgraded room), and the presentation of the hotel.

In reading other reviews, I agree that it IS a bit noisy, most likely due to poor glazing on the north side (which was where we were situated), but it did not hinder our sleep.

It is clearly aimed at the business market, however we did not feel out of place there, with many 'tourists' also staying in the hotel.

The breakfast buffet was quite good, without being exceptional, with the reason being that the fruit selection was not very visually appealing, and thus I stayed away.

The concierge(s) was/were extremely helpful whenever we walked past, and all the staff were extremely (and genuinely) friendly, especially to my two sons.

We would be more than happy to stay in this hotel again when we return to KL.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Matt S,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your recent experience.

We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and that our staff provided a quality, efficient service, this is how it should be at InterContinental. With that being said, we have noted your valuable comments on the rooms and fruit display. We will be sure to share them with our team to make further improvements to better satisfy our clients’ needs and wants in the future.

Thank you again for your kind words and we would look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed one night as a couple in Grand Premier Room with breakfast for 2. I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental KL the night before which has a better location, but in terms of the hotel, I liked IC more. FANTASTIC enormous king size bed, very quiet room, 8 minute brisk walk to Suria KLCC mall straight down Jalan Ampang. Breakfast very good with a person making eggs to order, but get there early, as a line formed after 9. Good lobby. The rooms are neatly laid out. Tried some room service for fun, the food was excellent, and delivered within 25 mins of ordering, it's available all night! Air con in room was also dead silent and totally effective.

Wifi was also available which we used without an issue.

Will Return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear MelbourneSab,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

First of all we would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we greatly appreciate your kind compliments on our Grand Premier Room, our facilities and food. Your positive observations will inspire all of us to work harder and to strive for excellence in providing the best to our guests.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Property: InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing