We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury Lobby, then that's it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #11 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Luxury Lobby, then that's it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

When we checked in, I was quite pleased as the lobby looked great, new, modern and luxurious so we had high expectations of the rooms. It was a little disappointing. The rooms were quite large with big bathrooms but it all looked like a Holiday Inn. A little drab, 90's style decorating and nothing like the Intercontinental in Singapore. May be we were spoiled. Not a great deal to complain about but nothing to rave about. Good location but that's it. The Shangri-La was much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear turbochap,

Greetings from Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is good to hear you appreciated our newly renovated hotel lobby and spacious rooms.

However, we express our regrets and disappointments that your stay with us was not entirely satisfactory. We are currently upgrading all our facilities to better serve our guests. We will be sure to share your comments on our interior with hotel team to seek a solution to offer our clients better comfort.

Thank you again for your helpful feedback and we hope you will consider our hotel the next time you visit Kuala Lumpur.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,295
    849
    205
    58
    44
See reviews for
418
533
172
710
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had two nights in KL on our way home from Langkawi, and settled on the Intercontinental, due to both the location (KLCC) and what appeared to be a very good price. We weren't disappointed on either front. It was a 10 min walk to the Twin Towers (even with a four year old in tow), and we were extremely impressed with the room we had (we were given an upgraded room), and the presentation of the hotel.

In reading other reviews, I agree that it IS a bit noisy, most likely due to poor glazing on the north side (which was where we were situated), but it did not hinder our sleep.

It is clearly aimed at the business market, however we did not feel out of place there, with many 'tourists' also staying in the hotel.

The breakfast buffet was quite good, without being exceptional, with the reason being that the fruit selection was not very visually appealing, and thus I stayed away.

The concierge(s) was/were extremely helpful whenever we walked past, and all the staff were extremely (and genuinely) friendly, especially to my two sons.

We would be more than happy to stay in this hotel again when we return to KL.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Matt S,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your recent experience.

We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and that our staff provided a quality, efficient service, this is how it should be at InterContinental. With that being said, we have noted your valuable comments on the rooms and fruit display. We will be sure to share them with our team to make further improvements to better satisfy our clients’ needs and wants in the future.

Thank you again for your kind words and we would look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed one night as a couple in Grand Premier Room with breakfast for 2. I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental KL the night before which has a better location, but in terms of the hotel, I liked IC more. FANTASTIC enormous king size bed, very quiet room, 8 minute brisk walk to Suria KLCC mall straight down Jalan Ampang. Breakfast very good with a person making eggs to order, but get there early, as a line formed after 9. Good lobby. The rooms are neatly laid out. Tried some room service for fun, the food was excellent, and delivered within 25 mins of ordering, it's available all night! Air con in room was also dead silent and totally effective.

Wifi was also available which we used without an issue.

Will Return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear MelbourneSab,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

First of all we would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we greatly appreciate your kind compliments on our Grand Premier Room, our facilities and food. Your positive observations will inspire all of us to work harder and to strive for excellence in providing the best to our guests.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is a regular IC, fairly good location and decent sized rooms. The breakfast buffet is pretty large. The staff is generally polite but not the most efficient or fast.
Overall a decent hotel, one that does not shine with brilliance but then does not diappoint either!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear marshalex,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our wide selection during breakfast and that our team were courteous. We will strive to increase our service standards to ensure guests have a memorable stay with us.

We hope to see you again when your travel plans bring you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I visited InterContinental Kuala Lumpur with family during my new year vacations in KL. I read about great reviews about hotel before booking the hotel. The hotel is great. It is located at the heart of the city. Very close to the KL Twin towers. We reached there on the late evening of 31st December and we were looking for a great place for New Year count down party. We asked at reception about the best place for New Year count down party. Even though there was a small party at hotel, the person recommended us to visit the Twin Towers. This was an example for true customer service. Later on when had great time seeing the fire works at Twin Towers, we really thanked the person from the bottom of our hearts.

The Rooms are very spacious and fitted with all the modern facilities. We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The complimentary breakfast with the stay was really fantastic. The Hotel staff is very cooperative. Overall we had great family time with the Hotel. I would like to convey my thanks to all those who helped us during our stay at Hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Vishal J,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your New Year’s vacation at our hotel. Indeed our concierge team strives to be “In The Know” to ensure our guests makes the most out of their stay.

Your observations are encouraging and an endorsement that we are on the right track. We will certainly share your positive comments with the team and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne AU
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked a club suite. As we were shown to our room at check in we could hear loud music as soon as the lift doors opened on our floor. To our horror the noise was coming from the room next door to ours. We just got off a long flight and we were desperate to get some sleep, including my infant son. We were very upset by the noise. The staff asked the people to turn down their music twice but there was no change. With little fuss we were moved to a suite on the top floor of the hotel, where we remained for the duration of our stay. The next morning at breakfast the staff were still talking about the disruption and concerned about our comfort. The level of service we received was very high and we really enjoyed our stay. With our young son tucked away in bwd on New Years Eve, my wife and I enjoyed in room dining a d watched the fireworks from our suite, where we could see the Twin Towers.

We only really ate breakfast in the hotel and the occasional room service dinner but the food was always very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwerdna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear gwerdna,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for staying with us to celebrate your New Year and thank you for your positive review.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time during the New Year in our hotel with your family. We will definitely share your wonderful comments to our service staff to encourage them to continuously deliver memorable and personalised service to our guests.

We have recently launched our new Chinese restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine and we hope you will enjoy this outlet next time you stay with us here in InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is the recently refurbished "Nikko" (Japanese) hotel, the location near KL Twin Towers is good however I had some problems (reservation "rate" booked inclusions) which were not addressed and the room was noisy all night due to thin windows and medium traffic in the area.

Positive points:
- room size is good
- aircon units quiet and not on your face, ,well regulated

Negative points:
- noisy in rooms as windows single pane and busy area of town
- no coffee / drinks making facilities visibility
- reserved direct after checkinh expedia thinking they had price parity, but rate did not include breakfast or the wifi (wifi is a very expensive at 17-20USD/day). FO staff said my rtae did not include so I contacted management the same evening: THREE days to get aa reply by which time had left.
- poor management service and poor enablement of FO staff
- though large rooms and "refurbished", the hotel had a sombre and dark feeling also quite impersonal (carpets on floors dark) along with old room feeling and layouts made it also quite impersonal. Needs new colours chemes, renewed bathroom layout (lucky I am not 190cm as would have problam with shower, JP heated toilet but looked old, no swivel shaving mirror, etc).

OVERALL
I will not be in a hurry to return to the intercon (or IHG) in KL and will be actively recommending people not to book on their website and to be careful as stff and maanagement will not atte,mpt to address their problems.

Room Tip: rooms are noisy in this hotel as single pane of glass in window and noisy city centre, pay attention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomp_travel_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Executive at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear tomp_travel_reviews,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us here on Trip Advisor and are glad to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful and spacious rooms.

However, it is unfortunate to hear that you did not have a completely satisfactory stay with us. We apologise for the challenges you faced during your stay in our hotel. We acknowledge the issues you have raised in regards to the error in your reservation details and the manner in which our team handled this. We have discussed with the department heads and team members on ways to increase the level of service provided to our guests. Only with feedback can we continue to improve our service standards.

We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, you will still consider our hotel the next time you visit Kuala Lumpur.

Warm regards,
Zoe Chaplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,806 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Property: InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing