We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here over and over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #11 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Would stay here over and over”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We loved our stay in this hotel. THe room was fantastic, breakfast was great, staff were friendly and very helpful and the doormen the best.
I fid it hard to understand that people who wrote poor reviews stayed in the same hotel as us.
Great location - down the road from KLCC/Petronas Towers and train station nearby.
We loved this hotel also because we came on the Express from KLIA and then only had to get on the normal train in the same building (not the monorail which is a fair walk with heavy luggage over uneven ground in another street)
WOuld stay here again and again and would highly recommend - agree with the bed and pillows!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10Lisa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear 10Lisa10,

G'day Mate and greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to provide us with your valuable feedback.

It is indeed our pleasure to consistently deliver quality service to our guests and we are pleased to know that you had a fantastic stay.

Your comments will definitely encourage all to give our best and to strive for excellence in providing the finest to our guests.

Do let us know when you're planning your next trip to Kuala Lumpur.Our friendly and knowledgeable Concierge Team are delighted to share with you our "In The Know" Local Knowledge where you get to experience Kuala Lumpur like a local.Try our local Malaysian food and explore our traditional games,dances,arts and crafts.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to the hotel soon.

Terima Kasih :)


Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,383
    886
    211
    58
    46
See reviews for
464
565
179
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
KL, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed here for a function and didn't have much expectations other than the place being new, I suppose that's a good thing. Will list down the things that I like:

1. Nice lobby - love the whole silver thing going on
2. Good service all around from the event manager down to the porter, very attentive
3. Nice cafe that overlook a nice small fountain garden - great for small or day parties
4. The bed - is high which is a sign of quality, soft and the pillow is to die for. I have travelled quite abit and find that this is the best so far for me...in this hotel
5. Nice room service menu and food

Not too crazy abt the deco used for the toilet but at least its clean and part of the hotel is still under renovation. All in all, great!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielwongkaifai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Danielwongkaifai,

Salam Mesra :)

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and your comments will be shared with the hotel team members.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Terima Kasih dan Sampai Berjumpa Lagi :)


Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Partly refurbished. Ask for a refurbished room if possible, otherwise you will get a nightmare. Location is good, walking distance to the train station, KLCC. More important, next to the highway entrance and exit. It is easy to get on even during peak hour.
Service has rooms to be improved from Front office to house keeping. It is in deed very disappointing especially knowing the name is Intercontinental but it is nothing better than a Holiday Inn Express.
i have faced multiple issues and causes this is the worse experience I ever had in Intercon during these years especially this is a IHG managed hotel not those franchising with just the name of Intercontinental property.

Room Tip: Partly refurbished hotel. Ask for a refurbished room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VolVic71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear VolVic71,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback.

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies in relation to the experience you received during your recent stay.

As you may notice during your stay with us,we are currently undergoing renovation process to upgrade our facilities and premises for the convenience of our guests.

Should you have any further enquiries,feedbacks or suggestions,please do not hesitate to contact me via my direct line at +60 3 2782 6302.

The team and I hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a beautiful, newly renovated hotel just around the corner from the famous Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur. The hotel lobby is gorgeous!! This hotel has lots to offer for the business traveler and anyone else looking for a luxury hotel stay with all the amenities! Excellent restaurants with international cuisine! The room we had was recently renovated and very comfortable. Service all around was excellent, and would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to KL!

Room Tip: We had a higher room for the views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardengal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear gardengal50,

Salam Mesra :)

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to know that you and your partner had a wonderful stay in our hotel and your comments will be shared with the hotel team members.

Do let us know when you're planning your next trip to Kuala Lumpur.Our knowledgeable and dedicated Concierge Team are more than happy to provide you with the InterContinental "In The Know" local knowledge where they can take you to experience Kuala Lumpur like a local :)

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Terima Kasih dan Sampai Berjumpa Lagi!

Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

All around, this hotel was very good. We just had a seminar with customers there and I spent 2 nights at the hotel. The room was very nicely appointed, as you would expect for an Intercontinental, and it was quite large too. The service was excellent all across. From the staff for our business meeting to the staff at the restaurant, everything was impeccable. The only thing possibly a bit negative and the reason this is not earning my 5 star is the fact that the hotel is in need of refurbishing. For example, the bath room of my room could have been made a little bit modern. That being said, this is details and anyway, they were doing renovations when we were there. I strong recommend. Note: this is walking distance from the Petronas Towers and the beautiful park there is in the center of the City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear BBreton,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your valuable feedback! It is indeed our pleasure to consistently deliver quality service to our guests and I am pleased to know that you had a fantastic stay with us.

Your comments will definitely inspire all of us to work harder and to strive for excellence in providing the best to our guests.

We look forward to your next stay.

Terima Kasih dan Sampai Berjumpa Lagi! :)

Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Last weekend we had a break and went to KL for a short break and stayed at intercontinental. Our expectation was at least 5 star service but we had something 3,5 hotel. The room itself was a disgrace. The bathroom did not look any good either with dirt marks everywhere. I understand this hotel used to be Nikko and they took it over last year and we did not understand why they did not do any work before branding it to Intercontinental. Service was very ordinary as well. We waited 15 min at the lobby to get our room as the your guy could not find our reservation.
NOT IMPRESSED at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Damien H,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies in relation to the experience you received during your recent stay.

We have taken the time to discuss the matter with the hotel team members, ensuring the team members focus on providing memorable experiences for all guests and maintaining the consistent standard of the InterContinental brand.

Should you have any further enquiries or if you would like to make some suggestions,please do not hesitate to contact me via my direct line at +60 3 2782 6302.

The team and I hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed for a weekend to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary.

Intercontinental KL is located at the premises of the former hotel Nikko in Jalan Ampang.

A relatively quiet part of KL, the hotel is in close proximity to KLCC. The hotel offers free shuttle transport to and from KLCC and Bukit Bintang.

Check in was prompt and efficient (i'm a gold Ambassador). Room (premium deluxe) was modern with lots of practical touches. Internet was excellent.

The room was lacking in color and warmth, else it would be up there with the best of KL hotels.

When we returned at night, the room had been done up with balloons, rose petals and a cake - a very nice touch - thanks Intercontinental!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi-Bandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, Marketing Communications Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Adi-Bandi,

Greetings from InterContinental Kuala Lumpur!

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur.

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and your comments will be shared with the hotel team members.

We're glad that you like the surprise from us!The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.


Sincerely,

Nur Farisya Abdul Shukor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
7,082 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,681 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
4,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Property: InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing