We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great potential, some concerns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #11 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Yeppoon, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great potential, some concerns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Upgraded to 3 supeior rooms (5 of us) because of renovations - large, beautifully appointed for business and pleasure. Great lobby bar - subdued ambience, comfortable seating, pleasing music (local duo), good beverage list & access to bar snacks. Ended up there each evening. Great location for Twin Towers & shopping & near enough to night life of eg. Bukit Bintang. Two concerns: minor - communication with breakfast staff for service eg. entry & coffee unsuccessful so coffee order never correct & interruptions because we didn't have vouchers even though we agreed to pay for bill each day. Is this a language/training issue? major: only one staff member at pool who also had to supervise gym area as well so often each area unsupervised (risky when kids or old people around) and also bar & beverage service incurred long delays not only because supervisor engaged with crisis (eg. umbrella blowing over in wind on guests) but also service via room service. However, pool area very pleasant & supervisor service great when free.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Judie50,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear about your positive experience with our room and lobby lounge. We would like to apologize on the miscommunication of our breakfast team. Appropriate training and coaching are in place to address this issue. We take note on the comment given to the pool and gym area and we will look into it to provide our guest a safe hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    849
    205
    58
    43
See reviews for
417
531
172
709
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

In fairness, this place is not expensive, a tad cheaper than the Westin/Sheraton where I've most frequently stayed in KL.

Tried booking the Crowne Plaza where I'd stayed a couple of weeks earlier, unfortunately it was full, but as Priority Club platinum member I thought I'd give the ICH a try as they had rooms available and the Westin / Sheraton were charging an unusual premium rate, presumably due to very high occupancy for the Malaysian Grand Prix.

Room could have used a more thorough clean, especially the bathroom.

Room service food was very poor, the food left virtually untouched. The soup was so oversalted as to be inedible.

Basic things like getting ice in the room proved an ordeal requiring an hour and a reminder on the first night and ninety minutes and five phone calls on the second.

Lobby bar service good, but the thick coating of dust on the shelves was indicative of the attention to detail here. They don't stock my preferred aperitif (Ricard) and the Singapore Sling was best forgotten.

We didn't bother with breakfast, despite it being included in rate and were glad to eat out as well as leave after the two nights.

Can't think of any reason to return to this hotel. In many ways it reminded me of the dreary 4/5 star hotels I occasionally stay at in Delhi. But KL has numerous very good and sensibly priced 5 star hotels, Delhi doesn't. For Priority Club members the Crowne Plaza is a far better bet.

Room Tip: Request a clean one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lighthouse3132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear lighthouse3132,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies in relation to the less than satisfactory service received. Do know your feedback will be given to the respective department heads to address with their teams. As a Priority Club Platinum Member, we hope you will stay with us again so we may have the chance to demonstrate our property in a better light.

We look forward to the chance of welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

really enjoyed the intercon, had hoped for the Mandarin but it was all booked and the really, this was fine. Stayed on the club floor, good breakfast, good amenities. Great location. Good meeting facilities. Really enjoyed a massage in the spa, good fresh seafood in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordie_calgarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Geordie_calgarian,

Thank you for the review and feedback on your recent stay in our hotel. We are very happy to know that you have found much satisfaction in our product as well as the hotel location. Your review will be shared with the hotel team and it is definitely a motivation for all of us to strive for excellence.

In our warm Malaysian Hospitality, we would like to say “terima kasih” (thank you) and “Jumpa lagi” (see you soon).

Sincerely,
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

I went their for a business meeting and stayed 6 nights. My GF joined me for the last 3 nights.
As a business hotel, it could be a good venue: The quality of the meeting rooms and service was good and satisfactory!
Accomodation: The House keeping service is terrible; unclean bed sheets and slow service Check-in counter: staff are slow! and I got extra charges for things that I didn't use.
Both my girlfriend and myself agreed that we are not coming again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Ramy S,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment with the service provided. We have notified our team and will work to correct these errors on our end. Please know this feedback is important to us.

We hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Great location near Petronas Towers and KLCC shopping mall. Monorail stations nearby.
Staff were excellent, especially Concierge as my luggage was lost by airline and hotel called everyday to chase airline and kept me informed.
Lovely pool area with free water and fruit served to you.
Lobby under renovation but did not impact on enjoyment at all.
Cakes in the cafe are reasonably priced, but as we found, are half price in the evening!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear oanne H,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well we the service provided. It is indeed our pleasure to consistently provide a quality service to our guests. Your comments will be shared with the hotel team especially to our Concierge team. Don't forget to check us out on Facebook or send us a tweet @InterConKL if you have any questions.

In our warm Malaysian hospitality, we would like to say “Jumpa lagi” (see you soon).

Sincerely,
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

I used to stayed either in Impiana or Royal Chulan, but this occasion decided to stayed in Intercontinental for 8 nights while on business plus leisure. Both service and facilities were outstanding. We stayed in a room (upgrade to club floor) at the very top overlooking the city which afforded us superb views. The rooms are beautifully decorated with large comfy beds, and the bathroom clean and very well appointed.

I found the hotel and all the services impeccable. Everything was perfect. Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klein_carmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear dehetoxic,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the service and facilities offered. Your comments will be shared with the hotel team and this is certainly a good motivation for our team to continuously strive for excellence. Don’t forget to check out our Facebook Page or send us a tweet @InterConKL if you have any questions.

In our warm Malaysian Hospitality, we would like to say “terima kasih” (thank you) and “Jumpa lagi” (See you soon)!

Sincerely,
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

KL is our last stay on singapore- langkawi-KL 10 days trips. we stay intercontinental for 4 nights. staff is super polite and professional. room facility itself is the best 5 star hotel we ever experienced. great location, closed to twin tower and train station, even we didnt use train at all. we stay on level 28, even that, we couldnt sleep during the night, due to the noise from outside street. also the most embaressing part is we can hear almost everything my next door people says, only thing is we cant understand their language. being a 5 star hotel, my question to ontercontinental people, how could that happen?
overall, due to the very poor noise isolation, it is just not for us. sorry to say that, good SLEEP means a lot for traveller.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bing-BiLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_ICKL, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Bing-BiLu,

Thank you for your feedback, and we are sorry about the mentioned noise during your stay with us this month. You seem to have experienced a mix of street and neighbor room noise so we will send your feedback to the appropriate department team members, and they will look into the issue. Thank you again for your review, your feedback offers us a chance to correct the matter and we do hope you will stay with us during your next trip.

Sincerely,
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,467 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,792 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Property: InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing