We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in March 2010. Straight in the city center and walking distance to the Twin Towers this hotel was simply beautiful. We had a Horizon Club room and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the Horizon Club.
Simply there are no downsides; all was really as it should be for a hotel of this class.
We would clearly consider booking this hotel again for our next stay in KL.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dana_christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,153
    1,367
    352
    77
    49
See reviews for
1,289
3,024
427
1,318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as part of a multi centre trip and although we were only here three nights we were made to feel very special from the minute we arrived. As with every Shangri-La, they welcome so well.

We always opt for the Horizon level as it just makes sense, a private breakfast room on the top floors and free drinks and canapes in the early evening make it someting very special.

In every Shangri-La I have stayed in it is the staff that make it a fantastic experience and this hotel was no different!

Rooms - The Horizon room was very spacious and we had a view of one of the Petronas Towers. Room service was very quick and I cannot fault any aspect of the room.

Facilities - We used the free internet in the horizon lounge and found it very quick. The spa looked fantastic, although we didn't use it.

Location - Only a 10-15 minute walk to the Towers. The first evening we headed out for a walk and within 5 minutes we had found a local place to eat at a very reasonable price.

Transportation - We used taxi's and the undergroud serivce to get around the city, all very easy and clearly marked and cheap.

Another great stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jame5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We had an executive room which was superb, lovely room, comfortable bed and great bathroom and toiletries which pleases my partner. Breakfast was excellent, staff is great, no problems at all.

The only slight problem is that the western option at the evening buffet dinner was pretty hopeless for the price. I've noticed this at a few Shangri-La hotels lately which tend to focus on seafood pushing up the price. I suspect they market to locals and see western tourists as not sensitive to price or quality. So if you plan to have dinner take a look first at what you are likely to choose and ask yourself is it good value. You don't have to eat dinner at the hotel so I don't see this as a real problem.

In summary, the Shangri-La is great, it does what you want, a comfortable nights sleep, great breakfast and friendly, efficient service with a touch of opulence.

We also stayed at Traders which is very pretty but doesn't provide a good nights sleep.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banglaore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Great place to stay and experience being pampered. The Shangri-La is well located, just a short walk from some decent food choices, two metro stops and the Petronas Towers. The room was nice, spacious rooms. Everything was fine including a great breakfast every morning, free broadband, and a nice poolside area. Spend a loads of time with colleagues in "The Pub" and amazing place with great drinks and not to forget the happy Hours and the live band that plays on there some times.. Food is simply great.....Enjoy you stay !!!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajeshKumarSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2010

The most luxurious hotel I've ever been. Top service, top restaurants, fantastic view, great pool, superb rooms.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RonB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs,england
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed in one of their Horizon club rooms , normal size ( not as big as the one in Singapore ) but everything you could need was provided. One thing we liked was that the fruit bowl which was replenished every day made use of local fruits rather than the usual western fruits.
We have stayed there before some years ago and am glad to say it is as good now as then. Lovely foyer with the Lobby lounge where you can sit and relax and watch the world go by . The Lemon Garden main restaurant provides excellent buffets catering for most tastes i.e Chinese , Japanese , Malay , Indian , seafood , Italian ( ?) and Western general. Their desserts are to die for.
Service polite efficient and cheerful from start to finish.
The Pub is a pleasant place to relax and listen to live music in the evening ( Lobby lounge also has live music in evening )
The advantage of the Horizon room is that you can use the Club facilities, the lounge has been recently refurbished and was a pleasant and enjoyable spot to relax . Free snack and drinks available in the evening. You also check in and out at the Club itself rather than at the main reception. You also have a good view on the traffic and people on the main road ourside , fascinating watching the cars and especially the motorcyclists.
Garage parking is underneath the hotel.
No complaints

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somecity, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Everything was ok during my 3 night stay at this hotel. The hospitality and the cheerfulness of the staff was overwhelming. Guests are half business travellers and half tourists. Generally decent people.
After I refused the first room (which was totally ok, but on a lower level) I was complimentaryly upgraded to a room in a Horizon Level.
The room was perfect. Location is very good with a view to KL tower and Petronas Towers. Monorail is a 3 minbutes walk. From there you can get everywhere in town without bothering traffic jams. After shopping you can relax at the pool and have a soothing massage in the spa. The afternoon tea in the lobby's cafe is a must. Turn down service every night when I was in the Pub for a sundowner.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrT097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
9,723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,556 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing