We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

If you are considering staying at this hotel consider the Horizon Club upgrade. It is well worth the money. Besides the brilliant service, you will avoid the breakfast crowds by having access to the Horizon Lounge which always has a refreshing juice or soft drink available throughout the day. We also enjoyed the evening Happy Hour which not only included a good selection of beer and wine but delicious canapés.
We thought the location was good. We either caught the monorail or walked. The hotel also has a courtesy bus that will drop you off at certain locations but check the timetable.
Also, the hotel team were most helpful at providing local advice and we enjoyed eating at the hawker markets they suggested.
We enjoyed our afternoon swim in the hotel pool. The water temperature was surprisingly refreshing which was a welcome relief. The actual pool and surrounds are somewhat dated but is clean and well staffed. Plenty of fresh towels and an ample supply of water. We even had a complementary shoulder massage from members of the spa team.
We stayed in an executive suite and had no complaints. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would certainly stay here again next time I am in KL.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M1J13068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Malaysia. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your comments regarding the pool and breakfast crowd had been noted. We do hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,010
    1,339
    344
    73
    48
See reviews for
1,252
2,969
414
1,265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

After living in KL for 4 years Ireturned for a short visit to see friends etc. the hotel us still good but the breakfasts are not as good as they were a couple of years ago. A number of the stations especially the fish have reduced in size, if I still lived there it is not a place to take visitors to sample a multi menu breakfast Malaysian style.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiaramas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest
It is so wonderful to learn that you have returned to stay with us after 4 years and that you found our hotel is still good. Thank you for that nice compliment. Your other comments have been well noted and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. The service, in particular, is almost regal. There are friendly faces everywhere to look after your every need....without over-doing it. It is a grand place with nice rooms and a good location relative to the centre of the city. It is probably more of a business hotel, but we felt very comfortable as a family. In fact, sometimes there are less people around during the day becuase they are off doing businessy things......more space at the pool. The rooms and some parts of the pool lining etc could do with a refurbishment though. Overall, a classically perfect Ahngri La experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Such an amazing experience from the moment you roll up out the front of the hotel. Staff straight away ready to assist you with your bags, smiling and making you feel welcome.
Our room was great, everything we needed and fabulous view to the Petronas Towers.
The food was outstanding never disappointed and the staff again were amazing.
All the detail in the furnishings was just beautiful and the options for food and drink were numerous. Probably the only thing we could say was that we were not aware of one of the restaurants that was tucked away and that could have been communicated to us earlier in our stay! But otherwise I would most definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blacky321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Location is good - short distance to Bukit Bintang (max 10 min walk), quiet environment, near to Twin Towers. Restaurants in hotel are good quality, and stay experience ranks top class in the East Asia region.
I would recommend this hotel to friends/colleagues.

Room Tip: Spacious, clean, user friendly, quiet, quality restaurants available. Wireless connection a tad s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank geeknick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

I loved this hotel and the staff couldnt do enough for you! Horizon club is a must absolutely amazing! They took us there to have a drink and something to eat while they checked us in! Great position could walk to the Petronas Twin Towers and to two huge shopping centres. Would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Gorgeous and everything you would want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

So impressed that I feel the need to share this with future guests . My final night at the Shangri la with my family . The food has been amazing , breakfasts in particular is worth getting out of bed for !
The deluxe rooms are indulgent but not ostentatious .
Best of all are the staff . In particular Fazrul , at the concierge desk . Nothing was too much trouble for him to organise , itinerary changes , reservations at a rival hotel , hailing budget cabs ! And when we were running late for a restaurant reservation he summarised the whole philosophy " you are our guests off course it's no trouble ! "

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDS101964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing