We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice to visit Kuala Lumpur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

It was the first visit for our 3 children.
They have enjoyed the buffet for the breakfast, the friendly welcome and the design of the hotel
The location is very practical to visit KL, KL Tower, Pavilion, ...

Room Tip: King bedroom and twin bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
3  Thank BianchiniJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,995 - 3,001 of 7,294 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our first visit to KL, which is a far less exciting city than we had thought. The hotel is well located with metro/train nearby. We experienced excellent service, staff was very helpful and friendly, room was very comfortable, tidy and quiet. We enjoyed the swimming pool in the evening when kids were gone. Excellent multicultural breakfast! Surroundings are not optimal, but this is due to KL infrastructure deficiencies. Would go back to this hotel, but not to KL.

Room Tip: We had a higher floor which was fine concerning noice. View in general is not excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dietmar_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your first visit to Kuala Lumpur. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We do hope that you would visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

we stayed in this hotel in July 2014 on our way home from Vietnam.
The luxury was a beautiful experience at an affordable cost.
We had a long flight back to Ireland and to spend the last few days here to chill out and relax is well advised.
We could not recommend this hotel enough...especially if you have been travelling for 6 weeks and need to rest before returning to reality!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Executive which is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Liza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Started our honeymoon at the Shangri-la and stayed there for 2 nights in a suite on the 24th floor. Excellent service from the moment we stepped in the hotel. We checked in via the Horizon Club (due to staying in a suite), lady who checked us in was very helpful. The suite we stayed in was very luxurious with double walk-in wardrobe, living and office area, grand bedroom and massive bathroom with walk in shower big enough for 4 people and separate bath! Toiletries and complimentary water restocked every day (even at evening turn down if you had used anything!). Horizon club was excellent. Varied breakfast offering Asian and continental foods as well as hot items made to order. We went to afternoon tea in the horizon club which was good as well, different sandwiches and pastries. The cocktail service in the evening was fantastic - all drinks available not just cocktails and lots of different canapés as well. Swimming pool looked nice but we didn't get to use it due to poor weather. Check out was very sufficient and hotel advised us on different taxi services. We chose to take a standard cab to the airport as opposed to one of the blue cabs in the hotel as it is about 50 ringgit cheaper (the hotel were very honest in pointing this out and happily ordered one for us!). Currency exchange at hotel was quick too. Hotel is about 7 mins walk to the Petronas towers and in a good location to malls and some local restaurants. Taxi to airport cost 80MR, taxi to Batu Caves cost 40MR (definitely worth the visit), taxi to Little India 15MR. We also visited the Bird Park which was really good and recommended to. If going to the Petrinas Towers, order your tickets on line in advance - you can pick them up at the towers if you don't have a printer to print them! One negative was the Mini bar prices - 27MR for a Tiger beer that was the most expensive we saw in all the 5* hotels we stayed in in Malaysia. Avoid if possible!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon recently. We are so glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and it was indeed a pleasure to be of service to you. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Shangri-la is mostly great but if you want dissapointment stay in KL. The property is a grand old lady...now more old than grand. The Club lounge is a kids playground, flip flops, shorts and no style. Where did it all go?? The pool is from very old and not attractive, not well maintained it tearms of class and style. Anyway in KL stay at the the Grand Hyatt and pay about the same and get it 10 times better. A true dissapointment and not recommended...if you are looking for the usual shangri-La style and class....this property does not deliver it.

Room Tip: Don't pay the supplement for Club Room, it's not wort it..... and at drinks time.....the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. We have taken note of your disappointment and thank you for having stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Spent 4 days at this hotel and had first class service from the moment we arrived. Very central to all the sights. Breakfast is great but would recommend eating early to avoid the crowds. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KaP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in 2011, had a wonderful time and happy to say even better experience in 2014. A luxurious hotel with wonderful suites and incredibly helpful staff. Horizon club has many benefits including delicious complimentary afternoon tea and happy hour. Staff excelled in every way and were so kind to our children. Suites beautifully appointed, care and attention take to every detail. Location within KL v good as a base and close to great Central Market, Petronus Towers, short commute to many other tourist sites. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return some day soon :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingGekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
10,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
4,255 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
904 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $118 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing