We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Honeymoon stay”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Started our honeymoon at the Shangri-la and stayed there for 2 nights in a suite on the 24th floor. Excellent service from the moment we stepped in the hotel. We checked in via the Horizon Club (due to staying in a suite), lady who checked us in was very helpful. The suite we stayed in was very luxurious with double walk-in wardrobe, living and office area, grand bedroom and massive bathroom with walk in shower big enough for 4 people and separate bath! Toiletries and complimentary water restocked every day (even at evening turn down if you had used anything!). Horizon club was excellent. Varied breakfast offering Asian and continental foods as well as hot items made to order. We went to afternoon tea in the horizon club which was good as well, different sandwiches and pastries. The cocktail service in the evening was fantastic - all drinks available not just cocktails and lots of different canapés as well. Swimming pool looked nice but we didn't get to use it due to poor weather. Check out was very sufficient and hotel advised us on different taxi services. We chose to take a standard cab to the airport as opposed to one of the blue cabs in the hotel as it is about 50 ringgit cheaper (the hotel were very honest in pointing this out and happily ordered one for us!). Currency exchange at hotel was quick too. Hotel is about 7 mins walk to the Petronas towers and in a good location to malls and some local restaurants. Taxi to airport cost 80MR, taxi to Batu Caves cost 40MR (definitely worth the visit), taxi to Little India 15MR. We also visited the Bird Park which was really good and recommended to. If going to the Petrinas Towers, order your tickets on line in advance - you can pick them up at the towers if you don't have a printer to print them! One negative was the Mini bar prices - 27MR for a Tiger beer that was the most expensive we saw in all the 5* hotels we stayed in in Malaysia. Avoid if possible!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon recently. We are so glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and it was indeed a pleasure to be of service to you. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,227
    1,387
    356
    78
    49
See reviews for
1,320
3,055
436
1,334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Shangri-la is mostly great but if you want dissapointment stay in KL. The property is a grand old lady...now more old than grand. The Club lounge is a kids playground, flip flops, shorts and no style. Where did it all go?? The pool is from very old and not attractive, not well maintained it tearms of class and style. Anyway in KL stay at the the Grand Hyatt and pay about the same and get it 10 times better. A true dissapointment and not recommended...if you are looking for the usual shangri-La style and class....this property does not deliver it.

Room Tip: Don't pay the supplement for Club Room, it's not wort it..... and at drinks time.....the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. We have taken note of your disappointment and thank you for having stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Spent 4 days at this hotel and had first class service from the moment we arrived. Very central to all the sights. Breakfast is great but would recommend eating early to avoid the crowds. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in 2011, had a wonderful time and happy to say even better experience in 2014. A luxurious hotel with wonderful suites and incredibly helpful staff. Horizon club has many benefits including delicious complimentary afternoon tea and happy hour. Staff excelled in every way and were so kind to our children. Suites beautifully appointed, care and attention take to every detail. Location within KL v good as a base and close to great Central Market, Petronus Towers, short commute to many other tourist sites. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return some day soon :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingGekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights while in KL. It's close to the monorail station and there are a couple of bars and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel itself is beautiful and the service was second to none. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

the Shangri -La Hotel in Kuala Lumpur is a simply marvellous place to stay .. the staff are SO helpful and attentive .. the hotel has the most wonderful ,happy atmosphere and is very ,very helpful . I paid just a bit extra for an upgrade to an Horizon Club Room -- and was very glad that i did ..this includes an excellent complimentary afternoon tea and complimentary canapes and cocktails in the evening --so WELL worth the money ..! it is also a lovely place to enjoy an excellent breakfast and the staff are SO pleasant and helpful ... they are just marvellous ..!!

Room Tip: make sure that you take an Horizon Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank nigeltoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed here with my wife as well as my parents (2 separate rooms).

Location - The hotel is very close to the shopping district and within walking distance of a lot of the malls around here. There is no doubt that if you want to be close to malls and great shopping, this would be a great place to stay. Very convenient.

Decor - The hotel is very modern and exudes luxury in the lobby while the rooms are also nicely decorated. Very comfortable bed and very suitable for business people. The rooms are well set up and very comfortable.

Sleep quality - Very comfortable king bed and definitely had a couple of good nights sleep here.

Amenities - All the amenities you need from a 5-star hotel and nothing was missing.

Service - Friendly service from the valet to the reception during check-in/out and the rest of the staff. There was a high standard of service here for sure.

Value - The price was at an expected level for such a hotel and was worth it!

Overall - One of the better Shangri-La hotels around and well worth it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJJC_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,589 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing