We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Perfectioni have travelled the world and this is one of my very favourite hotels the hospitality is second to none, the food is superb and the rooms are amazing, the best bed I have ever slept in, I would definately return if I ever got the chance !!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutronomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,092
    1,360
    350
    76
    48
See reviews for
1,272
3,007
422
1,293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Upon arrival in Shangri-la, all the staffs are very warm and very welcoming. The atmosphere when you step inside the hotel is very grand and all the staffs are helpful and led us to the front desk for check-in.

The room is nice and traditional, but very clean. Their breakfast has a wide spread of food variety, from vegetarian to chinese to western dishes. Staffs in the restaurant are very attentive. We tried their dinner buffet and it was very good and has a reasonable price. Our room view has the Petronas tower view. Usually, when looking for a hotel in KL, we usually want the hotels near Petronas because of the easy access to the mall, however, this hotel has shuttles going to and from Petronas and also other malls which is very convenient. There are also taxis lined up outside if you need one. We also had our laundry done and when they said they'll deliver the clothes at 6:30 am, they are right at our doorstep at 6:30 am. We also had room service and their chicken satay was really really good, however, their burger is a bit dry.

Overall, I would definitely go back here for our future trip to KL.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank time_traveller123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. From your nice review of our hotel and our services, we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure being of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Just another 5 stars for this hotel, absolutely amazing. While this hotel is amazing in it's own right, the thing that stands out is the incredible customer service. We booked a signature suite, got in extremely early one morning and left late the next day and the hotel allowed us to have our room from 9am through until 4pm the next day. From the moment we walked in the doors we felt welcome, through to the point where they delivered flowers to my wife for our honeymoon straight after we got to our room.

This place is number one on Trip Advisor for a reason, do not hesitate in staying here, simply brilliant.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rohan954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The most amazing hotel combining luxury with homeliness! All the hotel staff made that extra effort to ensure that our experience was truly memorable. There was not a single glitch in our 7 day at the hotel! Wow! I would readily recommend the place to all of you!

Room Tip: Great view of the Petronas Towers from my room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank aditya_huria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
258 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We went because the person making the booking wanted her Shangri-la points. Despite being an avid non-collector of frequent flyer and loyalty points, I agreed. It’s a grand hotel. The internal architecture reminded me of the Shangri-la Hotel in Manila. It has an rnormous arboretum by the lounge. There are three story windows to show it off. Service world class, feed very good. The Shang Palace is worth two visits. You can argue whether the Chinese food there is as good as anywhere, but taste is not worth arguing about. It is a very fine dining experience.
Pay the difference for a Horizon Club Premier Room. It is a bit over the top, but if you are going to stay at this hotel, take advantage of the best.

Room Tip: Horizon Club Premier Rooms are a good investment. Check them out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roemanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our second visit to The Shang and was every bit as good as the first. What makes this place is the Horizon Club (HC) and the attentiveness of the hotel's staff. If you can take a room which gives you access to HC - great complimentary afternoon tea and drinks/nibbles from 5 - 7pm - fabulous to come back to after a day of sightseeing/shopping. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite (huge - we didn't even use the separate lounge area) with a nice view of one of the towers. The breakfast spread in the Lemon Cafe is huge (never experienced such a vast variety of food options) although it can feel a little cafeteria like with the abundance of people. Took advantage of the pool area this time which was nice and relaxing.

The bed and pillows are fantastic. Blockout curtains work a treat.

There is building work going on across the road so ask for a higher room if possible.

Taxis can be accessed on the street if you want a budget cab - hotel uses premier (more costly) ones.

With a late flight we were able to leave bags and then use the gym's bathroom facilities to freshen up.

Concierge staff are fabulous - booked show tix for us on their own credit card when ours wasn't working.

Room Tip: Building work is going on directly across the road (ground footing works in April) so check noise le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandB-Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. We are happy to note that you enjoyed our Horizon Club and we certainly look forward to being of service to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is probably the best hotel overall that I have ever stayed in. The issues that were problematic during my last visit have been cleared up and now it is such a great place to stay in KL and I do not want to leave ever, but we have to leave Shangri La at some point and return to each.

The rooms are great and the Horizon Club manages to be both fun and peaceful - the food is great and the service is outstanding. The breakfast on the ground floor has so many choices and is so good that you would be in danger of becoming dangerously obese if you stayed too long in the hotel.
The flowers in the Lobby are changed every five days and they are stupendous - how they manage to change the flowers with such minimal fuss is extraordinary. The door men have been at the hotel for years and recognise you as an old friend, I know that they would look after you if there was any trouble and they certainly find you when you car has arrived, no matter where you are hiding ( Probably because you do not want to leave).
The swimming pool is warm and great for gentle swimming in the early morning. However be careful on a Sunday. I was very bitten by the mosquitoes and was told that as it was a Sunday they do not do the usual brilliant pest control! However this is such a minor mishap that it shows that even the best hotel in the region has one little problem, but probably as with us all the mosquitoes can't keep away. This I know will be sorted out by this Sunday as with all the very minor glitches that happen in this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Horizon club, it is well worth it and will make your visit to KL memorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarygosling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. We would also like to thank you for your very nice review of our hotel and our services. It was indeed a pleasure to be of service to you and we are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comment regarding the mosquitoes at the poolside has been looked into. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
9,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing