We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had two three night stays at the Shangri-La on our way to and from New Zealand from Ireland. After a long and tiring journey the warm welcome from the staff at the entrance was much appreciated. The foyer is very impressive and the hotel facilities are excellent. Staff were always very pleasant and helpful. Our room was compact but very comfortable. Internet access throughout the hotel was very good. The breakfast buffet was amazing. Although the hotel is very central to the city our room was quiet (we had a room looking over the pool). The gym is very well equipped and the swimming pool area very relaxing. The very relaxing environment of this hotel is an excellent antidote to travel weariness and jet lag!

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the pool was quiet despite this hotel being in the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgmflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,097
    1,360
    350
    76
    48
See reviews for
1,274
3,010
422
1,293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ekero, Sweden
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had three rooms for two night at Shangri-la at the beginning of april. The rooms were nice and well appointed, two rooms were higher up in the hotel (floor 15 and 18) with partial views of Petrona towers and the street below while one was on floor 9 with views towards houses and a green area - despite being below most buildings around us it felt very undisturbed. I would have thought such a big hotel would have put us close to each other as we were on the same booking, so if you have more than one room and wish to be close to your companions this may have to be requested.

We were happy with the rooms, the bar and the lobby. The breakfast buffet was huge! I myself did not find the breakfast room very enjoyable and had we been a smaller group I would have brought my breakfast out into the garden or into the lobby café which was also a possibility.

The only drawback I can think of was that as we left we ordered taxis to take us to "the airport", and even though KL has two international airports the hotel did not ask us which one - naturally we ended up at the wrong one.

The location is also great, we walked very easily to Petrona towers and KLCC, and KL tower and maybe 25 minutes to get to Bukit Bintang and Jalan Alor.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a group and want rooms in the vicinity of each other, request it as it does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Lovely rooms, great location but unfortunately I expected more from a 5 star hotel. Our luggage took 45 minutes to arrive (it was lost) and the bar service was truly dreadful. Quite a few staff but no-one wanted to serve us. Have since stayed at a 4.5 star hotel in Hong Kong which was far superior. I am afraid the Shangri-la has put me off staying at a large chain in the future

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Kuala Lumpur recently. I am disappointed to learn that you had an unpleasant experience with your luggage delivery and that the bar service was not up to your expectations. We will definitely rectify the issues highlighted by you and do hope that you will accord us another opportunity to prove our services to you again in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. It's a beautiful tasteful hotel with a fantastic breakfast buffet (there was a huge choice and everything tasted very good), very nice pool area with daybeds and a fish pond with garden, but unfortunately the deluxe rooms are a little small and do need some modernization here and there and have just not enough drawers and hanging space for two people. The food in the hotel restaurants and room service (and also at an evening event we attended at the grand ballroom) was really tasty and service a lot of times very good, but unfortunately not consistent as there were also times (on different days), were service was slow and one had to wait forever on orders to arrive or service just to take an order.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecureuil_voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur. We have taken note of your comments regarding our services. We will definitely look into those issues highlighted by you. In the meantime, we do hope to have another opportunity to prove our services to you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for St Patrick s weekend and attended the annual St. Patrick s ball which was a fantastic and elaborate event held in the huge ballroom.
The rooms themselves were lovely with very comfortable beds. The bathrooms were nice but could have been a little bit bigger and offered more storage.
We got room service for lunch one of the days which was delicious and hood value.
The breakfast variety was huge and very satisfying.
The pool area was lovely, although it was raining while we were there so we didn't get to enjoy it.
One thing I loved about the hotel was the huge floral arrangement in the lobby which was exquisite.
The Shangri- La ticks all boxes as a great 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great location, courteous staff, warm hospitality & value for money in a 5 stars environment.
I strongly recommend to stay on the Horizon Floor and enjoy the ambience & hospitality at the Horizon Lounge.





Room Tip: Clean, cozy & warm environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Elbertng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Staffs are excellent, really very helpful and friendly. Decor of the hotel with fresh flowers makes place very appealing and colourful rather than the usual art decor you see in other hotels. Good job


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank singapore2012a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
9,663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing