We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Fantastic hotel, 5 star, Spotlessly clean, Excellent restaurants, Brilliant Gym, swimming pool area clean with lots of fresh towels and comfortable loungers, the water looked blue and sparkling. The hotel staff are absolutely charming and very polite. The rooms are well equipped with tea coffee facilities mini bar, safe and the beds wonderful so comfortable as was the linen superb quality. The location was within appprox 7 mins of the Petronus towers and you had a good view of these from the pool area, turn left out of the hotel and the monorail was a couple of mins walk, very easy to get around. It's no wonder this hotel is voted no 1 in Kuala Lumpur. Our package included a free Buffett breakfast which was very good, so much choice, something for everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Currycricketcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,420 - 3,426 of 7,276 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very rare to get good service at a large hotel. With its vast lobby ares, pool, gym and choice of restaurants, you can't fault the shangri la at KL. Recommend it for any business person due to its professionalism and well trained staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed 3 nights and was very impressed by the staff, service, rooms and overall facilities. Room was very good, spacious and well equipped. Great location for the KL city centre and getting about the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed for three nights attending some business meeting. Liked the perfect service and the way they appreciate the guest. Hotel location was perfect, close to city center. If I'm having a family holiday I don't think it is suitable for my family.

Room Tip: Take a Pool side Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nandishh_v1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I had booked a stay at the Shangri-La, KL for our anniversary holiday in Malaysia. We were there for only a day but their attention to detail is amazing. I have stayed at some of the top hotels across the globe in London, Singapore, California and some European cities. But I should say that this hotel deserves a loud round of applause for their dedication to service. Right from the check-in, which was a breeze, (Compliments to Diana Lim at the reception who takes good care of you) to the time of departure, everything is anticipated by their staff. I really feel sorry that I did not have more days at Kuala Lumpur, so that I could feel pampered by their staff for more number of days...
We were there on our anniversary, so they provided us a cake and fruit basket to celebrate the same. That was a nice touch. Thank you!
I would recommend booking any room with their Horizon club access. They provide evening snacks free and tea/coffee free throughout the day. They even have cocktails free from 5 to 7 in evening, though I had not used the same. The room is kept immaculately clean. Their housekeeping staff seems to work real hard..
For breakfast, I would recommend going to the Lemon garden cafe instead of the Horizon lounge as the former has more options for breakfast as it caters to all the guests. The variety available for breakfast is really amazing. We wanted to try out vegetarian options for the day as we were visiting the Batu caves temple. Even the veg Indian food they had tasted the same way as they do back in India. I was surprised that they even had Upma and Idiappam(probably due to Malaysia's large Tamil population). I could also see the regular English breakfast options as well as a noodles counter and a healthy foods counter which was gluten-free,..
The fruit counter was good and they had wonderful tropical fruits and fruit juices. I would rate the breakfast buffet a 10/10 for the variety and the taste.
The other advantage of Shangri-La is that it is located in close proximity to prominent city landmarks such as the twin towers, KLCC Suria complex, Bukit Bintang, etc. They also have a complimentary shuttle service from the hotel at pre-fixed timings.
Overall, this stay was an excellent one. The best that I had so far. The people running this place are doing a fine job!!

Room Tip: Choose any room with Horizon lounge access. These rooms also have a late checkout option, till arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed for three nights attending some business meeting. Liked the perfect service and the way they appreciate the guest. Hotel location was perfect, close to city center. If I'm having a family holiday I don't think it is suitable for my kids. Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayman0mohd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us for three nights during your recent business trip to Kuala Lumpur. It was a pleasure being of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, one they way home to the UK. Staff and very pleasant and helpful. We were offered an up grade, which we took, we given our normal room as the up grade room was not ready yet !!!! once we had freshened up and went for a walk about . Came back to find that the upgrade room was still not ready, due to guest still in the room !!. once in our room and thought better of it and decided to stay in our room as we would be paying for something we have not had full use of. Room was excellent. great swimming pool with seating area.

Room Tip: 403, well away from the lift, and in it's own corridor. View over the pool and can see the twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us on your way home to the UK. We have taken note of your unpleasant encounter with the check-in and the upgrading of room. We would like to assure you that the whole issue has been investigated and look into and we would like to offer our assurance that there will be no such recurrence in future. In the meantime, we look forward to you according us another opportunity to prove our services to you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
10,018 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
897 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4,248 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $117 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Splitty, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing