We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Shangri La Brand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Quatre Bornes, Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Shangri La Brand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Although this is a business hotel in the city centre, the level of service and quality of products/food/etc stand out in comparison with most other hotels. The staff really go out of their way to attend to each and every request of all guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Shailesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,002
    1,335
    344
    73
    48
See reviews for
1,251
2,963
413
1,262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed there from 1 dec 2013 for 6 nights. ( 2adult and 2 kids)
We came to KL by coach from Singapore. The drop off point was Corus Hotel. From there getting to the hotel which is about 1 km away was a bad experience because several Taxi refused to take us because it was not very profitable for them. Had to negotiate with one of them on the price before he accepted to take us to the hotel.
This type of experience can ruin your vacation, but thankfully we stayed at Shangri-La. From the moment we stepped in the hotel, the staffs took care of us. Checkin was done in a flash. Of course we booked online prior to checkin. We chose the Horizon Club room. We were given room 2310 with view on the Petronas towers. The room is excellent. It has everything including a Nespresso machine with refills. Very clean room and bathroom. Rooms are cleaned twice per day and the staff regularly enquiring if we need additional facilities. We had the choice to have an additional bed for the kids free of charge but we did not need it because the King-sized bed was more than sufficient.
Breakfast... Wow. You can eat till you drop. What do you want, Japanese, Indian, western food, Chinese, French, you name it, they have it.
Tea time... Between 3 and 5 p.m. We enjoyed that.
The cocktail 5 to 7 p.m. Another great experience.
The room service.... The food are excellent. Choose anything from the grill, you won't regret it. The kids loved the pasta. The price is very affordable.
The hotel provide a free shuttle service to major shopping mall. We used it nearly everyday. The monorail station is 3 minutes away. And with the free shuttle service the LRT station was also accessible through the KLCC station found in the Suria shopping mall.
The kids loved the swimming pool and the kids area in the lounge.
The hotel staffs were very helpful and always willing to help. Always smiling.
The hotel itself is on a league of its own. Very beautifully decorated. It's glamorous.
Professional staff, excellent food and great atmosphere... This is how we can summarize our stay there.
Did I mentioned that non alcoholic drink was available whenever required free of charge.

Thank you Shangri-La for making our vacation a memorable one. Will come back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shashi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Kuala Lumpur recently. We were indeed very happy to note that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the kind and wonderful review. It was a real pleasure for us to be of service to you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakar, Bhutan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Im one of regular guest of shangrila, they have standard service for every shangrila in the world, nice room and perfect location, Restaurant always busy every morning because they have delicious taste, good job all,

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw,Scotland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights on a recent business trip to KL.

Everything about this hotel is just about perfect. Staff are friendly and efficient and housekeeping is excellent.

I stayed in a Hoirizon Club room which is highly recommended and added to the experience. Excellent breakfasts, free afternoon tea and early evening drinks and snacks combined with free availablity of meeting rooms meant this was simply ideal for our needs.

The hotel is an oasis of calm in a very bustling city and if travelling for business or pleasure you won't do better in KL. Fully justifies its No 1 rating.

Room Tip: Horizon Club is well worth considering
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i_m_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We spent two nights in a Horizon room which gave us access to the Horizon Club for breakfast, high tea and happy hour with free everything. No need to buy any other food. The rooms and hotel were immaculate and the service impeccable. Well located near the monorail and if you wished an easy walk to the main shopping area. Wished we could have stayed longer. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alipie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisun City, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was our first stay in KL, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Rooms were amazing, spacious, and clean. Every afternoon the rooms were replenished with complementary bottles of water and fresh dragon fruit. The beds were nice and comfortable. From our room we had a great view of the Petronas towers (The view of KL was so impressive from our room at night). Lobby was stunning, and the staff was always helpful. The breakfast buffet was mouth watering, with two different chocolate fountains. I have spent some time in Vegas, and the buffet rivals anything there. The location could be a little better, but isn't bad. I am almost 100% sure we will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trowre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur and thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. It was a pleasure being of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Took my dad out of the Nursing Home to enjoy a night at this fabulous hotel. we were given an upgrade and spent the evening in sheer luxury. Thank you staff for your sensitivity to the old old , and for pampering us so much. Lunch buffet was also excellent. It's everything a 5 star hotel should be!!!

Room Tip: Staff at reception was v accommodating , and the concierge was a wealth of information. Our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana522013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing