We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable Hotel, Amazing Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Though I haven't been here long, I have to say that the Shangri-La is an excellent hotel. The food is probably what should be mentioned first, because the breakfast spread had well over 40 different food items, some Indian, some American, some local and even some Japanese, involving sushi, 7 types of dim sums, a dozen types of pastry and a healthy section with smoked salmon sandwiches and smoothies. It is not to be missed, if you're looking for a great buffet service. The rooms are also nice. Mine was a regular room with 2 beds, which were spacious and comfortable, but my son required another bed which they brought up and set up for us. It was also very comfortable. The service is great. The staff are all kind, enthusiastic and great with customers, making us feel like family. When I couldn't find my father, the bell-boy even pointed him out to us. There is a small convinient store near it that really does have the plain essentials and only a 5 minute walk to KLCC where we did most of our shopping. I love the location, love the building, love the food, love the Shangri-La.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skyla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,313 - 4,319 of 7,286 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

We decided to go for short trip in KL, the first hotel which came to our mind is "Shangri - La", as we know that this is an international luxury hotel (guarantee quality and services compare with other local hotel). When we arrived, the valet / bell boy are very helpful, polite and i can definitely feel their passion at work. But the front desk officer didn't perform as good / professional as them, he took a long time to check us in, never looked at the details, we booked the "weekend escape package" and it included late checkout, but he still told us that late checkout is depend on availability, when we informed him this actually included in the package, then only he realized his mistake.

Room was clean, but it is quite small, the" turn down service" in the evening only happened on the first night, not sure what happened on the second night, they didn't come at all!

Shangri - la is famous for the bed and pillow, as we tried this hotel in many countries, most of their bed is very comfy, but this time in KL, i felt that the bed is just OK, but the pillow is not good at all, i wanted to change it but there is no pillow menu or any assistance that i can ask from.

The most disappointing part is the breakfast, variety of food is good, but the taste is awful except the western cuisine. especially the chinese cuisine, taste really bad and some of the porridge are cold.

Overall, it is not that bad compare to other hotel, i think i won't say great perhaps Average! i think with the amount of money we spent, we can definitely get a better deal in some other international hotel. just doesn't really worth the money i think!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyoichiKurosaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Guest
First of all, thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur and thank you for
your feedback regarding your unpleasant experience with our hotel's services. All issues brought up by you are being actioned and rectified. When you next visit us, please do drop me a line at rosemarie.wee@shangri-la.com so that we can offer the right type of pillow for you. Best regards Rosemarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Room, food, location everything spot on. The staff,everyone helpful friendly a great place to stay.
Great room with a view of the Petronius towers and 5 minutes walk from the mono rail station which goes to most of the major sights in kula lumpur

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fletch010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Though it was business trip the kind of personalized service provided was awesome. The staff guided us with Maps and directions and even provided us tips that helped us to explore the city.
We ordered food in room couple of times and service was top notch. The room where I stayed had a nice view of the Pool and the KL tower. Overall a good experience

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Excellent place to stay and dine. Very good service. But the price of food and drinks are abit on the high side. Apart from that, the courteous workers made you impressed and feel at home. This five star hotel is one and only in the area that has the outstanding service which foreigners (guests) are very happy to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahfuz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had our 20th anniversary at this hotel. We were welcomed with a huge bunch of red roses and the service during our stay was first class. The breakfast selection is to die for. And the staff went out of theiorway to help to the point where I wanted to watch afootball game on TV and they opened the bar out of hours for my use to watch the game.. Would definitely love to go back again

Room Tip: Any...you cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJAM1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What can I say about the Shangrila la that hasn't already been said? The service is fabulous, courteous and retains a charming aspect that is often lacking in modern hotels. We booked a suite and had membership of the Horizion club as a result. This meant that as a family of 4 we had free breakfast, evening cocktails and day long snacks and access to 2 very customer centric guest service directors. As a hotel it's central location means every tourist attraction is a short trip away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JocMcBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
10,028 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
4,251 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
902 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $117 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing