We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient location with nice city view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #3 of 319 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Marina del Rey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Convenient location with nice city view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel limousine was Mercedes E-class as most upper class hotels use and we could enjoy a comfortable ride to the hotel. The hotel shuttle bus connects to Petronas Twin Towers or Suria KLCC Mall. The location is very convenient to KL Tower also.
From our room, we can see Petronas Twin Towers as well as monorail and children may enjoy the view. The room amenities and equipments are more than standard.
The lemon garden offers variety of foods at breakfast but so crowded and service quality is less than standard. However the Horizon Club Lounge offers comfortable breakfast space although its menu is limited compared with the Lemon Garden.
The only disappointment is its pool area. The pool itself is very small as well as its pool area. Not many quests are allowed to get in.

Room Tip: If you choose the Petronas Towers view, you can see the light up towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinaDelRey335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,472
    1,191
    309
    69
    43
See reviews for
1,098
2,660
369
1,130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,283)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were picked up by a 2013 Mercedes Benz E-Class vehicle, and the member waiting for us outside the airport was well dressed and appointed. He was friendly and conversational with us while waiting for our car to come through the mass of vehicles outside. Inside were complimentary water bottles to help us adjust to the heat!

Upon arrival, our luggage was taken and we were led to a quick and efficient check in. There was a discrepancy with our booking that was made through an agent, but they were more than happy to accommodate our bedding change requirements. The views from the hotel room weren't that great, but we were out exploring most of the time anyway. The room service was great, as expected from a 5 star hotel, and their nasi lemak in room was delicious.

The decor of the hotel is very immaculate and regal. There's a huge cafe area on the ground floor, looking out into a cooling forestry scene. Staff are plentiful and quite attentive, except for maybe the concierge table, where acknowledgment of our presence sometimes lacked.

Location is very good, located near a monorail station, and pretty much walkable to all main shopping centres such as Lot 10, Fahrenheit 88, Starhill, Suria KLCC and Pavillion. Walkable also to Jalan Alor food street, the Petronas Twin Towers, and the KL Towere (Menara Tower) is pretty much behind the hotel. The taxis parked in front of the hotel are great too, because they actually use the meters, instead of having to haggle for a price. A shuttle bus daily also takes guests to some of these locations, and the hotel is near the main strip of pubs.

Great stay, and great location. It was good to come back to a nice cool hotel after a long hot day exploring the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcnguyen91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I only have the highest regard for the hotel and staff. I could fault nothing. Great location to get around town and convenient shuttle service to take you to the shops. Also walking distance from the Hop-on-hop off bus service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went to KL for my sons 21st birthday. We arrived by in house transfers best way to go. On arrival we were greeted with flowers for myself and my daughter (the girls in the group). We were escorted to check I where we could upgrade to the horizon club for a fee. Well that was so worth it especially with a family of 5 including 4 adults. Cocktail hour was the best and it was all included we were welcome to have a buffet breakfast and our room was ready At 10 am well ahead of the 2pm check in time. Thanks to Marlya and Lindsey for providing a cake and singing happy birthday for my son. A great 10 days best place on earth to stay at, staff very attentive and make you feel like royalty especially aT the horizon club .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Franca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

wow it is greatis is my 4th stay in the place but excellent service as usual. Greeted by hotel staff at the lobby and immediately directed to concierge for check-in which took less than 10 mins, after which I was escorted straight to the lift lobby by a hotel staff. Location: Slightly off major Pavilion etc shopping area but within walkable distance (roughly 10-15 mins short walk). Pizza Hut and KFC right next to the hotel within 5 mins walk with grocery stores nearby. Room: Spacious as usual with fruits already in the room to welcome guests. Bed is very comfortable with 6 bottled water! Big desk for laptop and paperwork, as well as HDMI/VGA/S-video etc direct input to Samsung LCD TV which is ideal for video conferencing Food: Very quick room service. Ordered some traditional noodles at 9pm which took less than 15 mins to arrive. Also want to highlight excellent service at Lemon Cafe as I was in a hurry for meeting and asked for something "ready to go". Staff immediately gave me a big box to grasp pastries on the buffet table without a word. They even asked if I need a coffee which I grabbed and left straight the way. Definitely a "think out of the box" service experience for busy business professionals Facilities: Tried swimming pool but not the gym. Big half-moon shaped pool albeit the water is a little bit too cold at night although perfectly acceptable outdoor. Also got chairs and a pub by the pool which is ideal for daytime swimmers

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bhinber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of our honeynmoon trip across Malaysia. Received an upgrade from a standard club room to a suite. The suite is a little dated in style but very comfortable and well equipped. Club access was fantastic, with a great breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks service. The staff were very friendly to us and made us feel very welcome. Location is excellent, just a short 10 minute walk from the Petronas towers.

Room Tip: Great views of the city and Petronas towers from the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very nice hotel, family with two kids. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Th stat were so helpful, food was great, seafood dinner was amazing, breakfast was extremely nice and tasty. The hotel is nice





  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Toufic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 319 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,762 reviews
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 319 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 8,678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
1.4 mi away
Villa Samadhi - By Samadhi
Villa Samadhi - By Samadhi
#1 of 319 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 319 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing