We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the best experience ever!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

absolutely first class in every way. Taking advice from fellow travellers we booked the horizon club which proved to be such value for money especially as we were upgraded to a premier suite at no extra cost as it was my husbands 70 birthday. A cake appeared as well! The staff were attentive and the hotel seems to have thought of everything to make one's stay so fantastic. With the horizon club comes free afternoon tea from 3-5pm and then free alcohol and superb snacks from 5-7pm all beautifully served. what value! We were also able to check out when we wanted and not at the standard time. Our suite on 24th floor was very quiet and had good views. My advice would be to get a room as high up the hotel as possible. As a special treat I would recommend the hotels Laffitte restaurant - the food was superb.

Room Tip: horizon club rooms which are on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisc5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,060
    1,351
    348
    76
    48
See reviews for
1,263
2,992
419
1,283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed one day in Shangri La kl to celebrate our anniversary on May 9th.,2013. The hotel surprised my wife by giving her complimentary box of chocolate, fruit plate, cake and roses upon our arrival. The hotel provides a free schedule shuttle bus to certain shopping areas in Kl but when the shuttle bus broke down on the day we were there, the hotel did not cancel this service. Instead they paid for the taxi to take us to those shopping areas for free. In the hotel gym, there was a towel and bottle water placed at each gym equipment for guest to use. This hotel provides the best service in all the KL hotels we stayed in. Also their breakfast buffet has the largest selection of all KL hotels. If you are looking for luxury, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6travel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Brought The Global Scavenger Hunt here for two days on our annual around the world travel adventure...and they loved it!This review is not mine alone...but 30 rather jaded and truly globe-trotting travelers assessment as well. Wonderful staff, great lobby to hang in, too much of good thing for breakfast, refreshing pool...bars to tempt anyone. Simply no bad anywhere...

The place to stay when visiting beautiful and wonderful KL!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The stay in shangri-la was very nice. The location of the hotel is very nice in the middle of the touristic district of Kuala Lumpur with nearby attractions wherever you go. The food in the hotel was quite good. The service was expected from a 5 star hotel. Nevertheless, the room was quite usual with no extraordinary view or space. Still very good value for the money paid for it.

Room Tip: Insist on having a high room. Usually the receptionist will start you off with a low floor room: don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigfox81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We are now spoiled and will find it very difficult to stay at lesser hotels. This place is incredible!
Breakfast buffet in unparalleled! It goes on forever and delicious.
The room was modern and a very cool shape for giving you maximum views/window exposure for taking photos.
The lounge in the lobby feels like something out of a movie - we enjoyed sitting on the second floor mezzanine and watching the live entertainment.
The pool was great and not busy at all.
The market is just a few blocks away, as is Petaling Street for great shopping and Chinese food. The Petronis Towers and the metro station are also closeby.
Perfect location!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlyssaSaturley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

It used to be THE place for a fantastic afternoon tea. ..

I went last week end and this week end. ..
Going down... the sandwiches are so big that it is not anymore finger food... it is banquet style sweet and salty items
The scones remain excellent. ..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank pascaldebangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have just left the hotel after a three night stay. We cannot fault it. The service was excellent from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. The hotel's location is very good and it offers a range of restaurants. We did not chose to upgrade, however our room was large with a fantastic view across the city. Breakfast was the best I have ever experienced in any 5 star hotel. The pool is also a lovely, relaxing area to relax after a day in the city. Wish we had stayed longer than three nights!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,589 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing