We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City centre hotel with peaceful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“City centre hotel with peaceful setting”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for the first leg of our Malaysian trip and wish we could have stayed longer. For a city centre hotel it comes with all the peace and luxury you need after a full days travel or city exploring. I had booked the Horizon club/executive room as this brings access to the club lounge but on arrival we had been upgraded to a suite - WOW it was an amazing room, every facility you could think off and a few more to boot. Club lounge provides quiet breakfast and snacks/drinks throughout the day.
Swimming pool well placed with attentive staff and handy pool bar - we arrived mid unseasonable rain around 4pm each day, but happy to sit in the pool bar and wait for it to pass. Good gym/spa for those thart feel the need and staff very helpful, cheerful and o hand for whatever you need. Well done Shangri La.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view - book Horizon club if able as little extras in the lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelnSwadlincote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,058
    1,351
    347
    76
    48
See reviews for
1,263
2,992
418
1,282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel. The room is good and service is good too. Do not try the restaurant: a la carte or menu still the same. Food is cold and the taste is horrible. Chef need to be changed asap! We took a pizza: more cheese thant a cheese fondue! Salad: sauce and no fresh salad. The burger looks not to bad but fries and meat all cold!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia_Didier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseWee, Public Relations Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Olivia Didier
First of all thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Kuala Lumpur and for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant encounter with the service in one of our restaurants. In order for us to investigate the issue thoroughly and ensure that there is no such recurrence in future, would you mind contacting me at rosemarie.wee@shangri-la.com so that I can personally look into the matter to ensure that we can deliver the hospitality that is above and beyond your expectations to make up for this regrettable experience. Thank you.
Best regards Rosemarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in Shangri La during our first visit to KL.

LOCATION




The hotel is ideally located in the center of KL, close to the main attractions and shopping malls, a 5-10 minutes walk away from the Petronas Towers.


AMBIENCE



From the hotel lobby to the Horizon Club, everything about this hotel speaks of grandeur, good taste and luxury. The lobby is impressive, with huge and beautiful flower arrangements. The Horizon Club area is airy, spacious and very tastefully decorated. There are several spaces, which all feel a bit different from the other, with different chairs and styles, but which all fit nicely together. You can either sit at a table, or in comfortable armchairs with a coffee table. Near the buffet corner, there is even a very large table with high stools, where you can sit a large group of people (at least 20). The pool area is very nice, with comfortable lounge chairs in the sun or the shade and the pool itself is large enough not to feel crowded. There are also a few restaurants in the hotel, but we did not try them.


ROOM



We had booked an Horizon Club Premier room, but upon arrival, were very pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a magnificent suite, with a lovely view of the Petronas towers. What a treat! Decorated in a classical style, our suite was very spacious and well equipped, with a large bathroom with a round tub and a second WC. There was also a large sitting room, also with the marvellous view, and even a dining room to sit 6-8 people. Bathroom amenities were l'Occitane, which was very nice as well. The bed was very comfortable, and everything in the room was designed for a maximum of convenience and comfort. Needless to say that we absolutely loved it!


BREAKFAST



We tested both the general breakfast downstairs, and the smaller spread of the Horizon Club. The downstairs breakfast is impressive by its size, and the number and quality of items on offer. There is even a chocolate fountain, which is of course very popular with kids and adults alike. Although we enjoyed the vast choice of food, we decided on the second day to have breakfast at the Horizon Club, as the downstairs area was really crowded. As a result, some of the food stations were a bit messy, but given the number of people around getting food, it would probably take an employee at each small table to keep everything properly clean all the time. The buffet spread at the Horizon Club, although smaller, was very nice and we could even order some specific foods from downstairs (obviously not the chocolate fountains!). For those selecting rooms with Horizon Club privileges (which I strongly recommend), there was also complimentary tea in the afternoon, and drinks in the early evening, both served with a very nice choice of canapés and treats.


SERVICE



From the reservation process to our check-out, service at the Shangri La was absolutely flawless. Even before we arrived, the Concierge took care of our various requests, including restaurant reservations and even found tickets to visit the Petronas Towers at our preferred time and date (paying a premium of course). All this was done rapidly and perfectly. Upon arrival, we were rapidly taken in charge by a very nice and competent guests relations manager, who completed our check in directly in our room and left us with her business card in case we needed anything during our stay. Throughout our stay, we regularly went to the Horizon Club, and here again, no effort was spared to make us feel comfortable and cater to our every need, including particular breakfast requests. Everywhere in the hotel, staff was always courteous and smiling with guests.

We were particularly impressed with the service of Captain at the concierge desk, who arranged everything for us, always with sound advice and a dose of humour. In the Horizon Club, we would also like to thank Zie who took very good care of us, in the most professional manner, and with whom it was always a pleasure to have a chat and a laugh.

VALUE




We benefited of a 3 nights for the price of 2 package, and therefore, were very happy with the value we got from this hotel. Nevertheless, even at full price, we feel it would still have been worth it!

Last but not least, we really appreciated the hotel's concern with environment, and particularly the fact that they no longer print invoices but handle everything electronically and send their copy by email to their guests. This avoids unnecessary paperwork, while remaining efficient. I wish more hotels would develop a similar system.


IN SUM



Excellent choice for KL in terms of location, service and accommodation. The Shangri La will definitely be our address of choice in KL.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jewels_Gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here in Shangri-la for one of our conferences. The location was good and just walking distance from the Petronas towers and shopping malls. Rooms are clean and the service is commendable. The front office staff was friendly especially when we were asking assistance with directions and with our luggage upon check out. But what really stands out are the amazing breakfast choices! Two thumbs up!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel deserves to be a #1 hotel in KL. I enjoyed my 6 nights stay here and there is nothing that I could find fault with. Pls note that I stayed for a night in Traders Hotel before checking in at Shangri La and i found Shangri La way above Traders in several departments.

The hotel is situated at a walkable distance to twin towers, LRT station, KL towers and Bukit bintang.

Pros: Well appointed rooms, good greenery around the hotel, excellent staff, very good location, live music everyday at lobby and you will never need to wait for the lift for more than few seconds :-).

Cons : nothing that I could find.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj_luvsya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

SHangrila Hotel in KL is located in the city center and just in front of the monorail line. Walking distance from the Petronas Towers or Twin Towers of KL.
My room at the 5th floor was a bit small for a 5 stars hotel like Shangrila and even if the bathroom was new, there was not the bathtub!

Restaurants are all good and I highlight the comprehensive offer of the buffet which is truly huge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have just returned from KL where we stayed at the Shangri La Hotel. This is not our first experience at a Shangri La hotel. We have stayed a couple of times at their hotel in Fiji and also in Bangkok and the KL Shangri La certainly did not disappoint or take away from our previous experiences.
Firstly, it is located less than a 5 minute walk from the Two Towers and its wonderful shopping centre and parklands.
We received orchids upon arrival. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. The food was delicious....especially dinner at the LaFite restaurant. The Hotel Lobby/Lounge was a relaxing place to hang out. It had a piano bar feel to it, and the food and service was excellent.
What was a stand out to us was the staff service...nothing was too difficult. Even after check out, a taxi was arranged for us to go to the airport. Just as we were about to hop into the taxi, a huge deluge of rain began. Four hotel staff helped us into the taxi....there was only my husband and I and 2 backpacks, but their concern for us getting wet or slipping was genuine. I happened to drop a book onto the ground as I was getting into the taxi and a staff member quickly picked it up and hurriedly went away to dry it off before she handed it back to me. I was astounded that their service continued even AFTER we had paid the bill.
Thank you again Shangri La for proving yet again that you are certainly a 5 star hotel.
I would highly recommend the Shangri La Kuala Lumpur to anyone and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,496 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing