We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, comfort but impersonal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Four nights in January at Shangri-La. The hotel has excellent location - few steps to monorail station Bukit Nanas; few steps to Menara Tower from where is the best view of the city; and finally few minutes far to Petronas Towers. Check-in was quick, but little cold. Spacious room and large bathroom. Fantastic breakfast with large selection of western and eastern food. Last day I spent a few hours at the pool to refresh myself. The staff of the hotel was respectful but I didn´t feel any warmth. The only negative - in my opinion drove taxi to the train station long way instead of straight path.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leondelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,589 - 4,595 of 7,294 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here and was worth every penny. Was allowed to check into my room early (at around 9am) without extra charges and the service was impeciable. Upgraded to an executive room and treated to complimentary drinks whilst waiting the short time for room to become available. lovely pool and fantastic breakfast. would definitely go to a shangri la again. nothing less will do!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quirky_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We were given a suite as part of our wedding reception package that was held there.

The suite was large and well equipped. We even had a Nespresso machine in the room!
However we did wonder why the walk-in cupboard was nowhere near the bathroom or sleeping area but "outside" close to the entrance and living area.

Breakfast buffet spread the next day was nice with much variety. Be early as it could get busy especially on Sundays.

What we liked the most was the late check-out given the next day. It was such a blessing as we were very tired with our reception ending at midnight.

Upon our departure, we were given a sent-off by the manager on duty and her team. We truly felt like royalty.

Free parking comes with the room/suite.

Despite the excellent experience, I must however comment about the lobster dish that was served the night before at our dinner reception. It was difficult to eat (the meat was stuck to the shell) and even though the dish was sent back to the kitchen for help with the serving, it was still as difficult. I was a bit embarrassed to see the guest of honour having a tug-of-war in order to enjoy his lobster dish.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Shangri La Kuala Lumpur for two nights in March2013 and the hotel met every one of our high expectations. The premier room was of high standard in every aspect, spacious, well appointed bathroom, great king size bed. Service was polite and efficiently. Food at the breakfast buffet was very good and the choices were excellent. The drinks and bar food at the lobby bar were also quite good.
We did enjoy our stay there a lot and can easily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Shangri-La did not disappoint. It is well deserving of its number one status. Beautiful rooms with decent views. Excellent service although we did find the concierge staff to be a little less knowledgeable than they should be for a major city hotel. We found the location to be a great virtue. It is very near the monorail and tram stations which we used to get around all the sights in KL. A great value - this hotel would be twice the price in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

- very nice location, walking distance to KL twin tower.
- standard 5-star hotel
- beware if using the kettle inside room, boiling hot of the metal surface
- nice buffet breakfast at 2nd floor that for horizon Executive room guest.

Room Tip: must go to KL twin towel, at least try to dinner at KL towel for just once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devilcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I love coming to Kuala Lumpur, the Shangri-La is like a home from home. I have lost count how many times I have stayed at this hotel it never let's me down.

The service is always excellent, the staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms spacious and the location is excellent for central KL.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Mantalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
10,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
4,255 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
904 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $118 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing