We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the heart of KL.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the heart of KL.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The best hotel gym I've ever seen and a fantastic breakfast buffet. Was in the hotel for 4 nights and it was fantastic. The staff were excellent and the babysitter we had for our 1 year old was extremely competent and allowed us to enjoy the wedding we were attending downstairs in one of the hotel ballrooms. The hotel provided a bucket and steriliser tablets when we said we needed to clean baby bottles and the lighting in the rooms was such that we were able to put our 1 year old down with no trouble at all.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Kuala Lumpur.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,059
    1,351
    348
    76
    48
See reviews for
1,263
2,992
419
1,283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,423)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

You know what to expect at the Shangri-La, luxury and grand rooms, great location, and the service is always top notch. We went on a family vacation and they gave us a complimentary upgrade to connecting rooms on the horizon club floor. Every one is always smiles and ready to give you tips and advise of where to go and what to do.

The only thing that needs work on is the buffet, usually it is excellent and always a wide variety, but this time it was not as fresh, the pastries mainly.

All in all i would def recommend this hotel as one of the best!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Shangri-La is the place to go to be pampered. The rooms are comfortable, clean and most have a view of either the Petronas Towers or the KL Tower. It is centrally located within walking distance of the shopping areas as well as located close to a metro stop. The hotel has some first class restaurants but is close to numerous local restaurant. When you first arrive and walk into the lobby, you have a wow factor of a grand place. The pool, spa and gym are well worth a visit. But what keeps my husband and I coming back year after year is the excellent service by all the staff. From the minute you are picked up from the airport till the time you leave they see to your every need without being in your way. The staff are always courteous, efficient, respectful and friendly. The Shangri-La does it right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmeddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Shangri-la in Kuala Lumpur is simply perfect, by far one of the best hotels I ever stayed. Everything is perfect - I think that we are very demanding and sometimes stressful hotel guests but there is really absolutely nothing to complain about this hotel:

Rooms: Perfect! (we stayed in Horizon Club rooms, worth the extra money)
Sleep quality: like in seventh heaven (what a good bed)
Bathroom: simply the best! (with Occitane de Provence toiletries)
Food: Excellent quality! (this is really "haute cuisine")
Pool: nice to have one in the city center! (with cold beverages and fresh fruits free of charge)
Service: Truly asian hospitality! (everything comes with a smile)
Location: Can't be better! (5 minutes to KLCC and 5 minutes to Bukit Bintang)
Gym: The best I have ever seen in a hotel! (really exemplary)
Staff: well trained and to 100% customer focussed.

Our special and warmest thanks goes to Cindy Delhomel, the front Office Manager of the Hotel. She is one of the most professional hotel staff I have ever met in my life. Congratulations!

Room Tip: Take a Horizon Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netsrac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Shangri-La has a very good location in walking distance from KLCC/Petronas Towers and Pavillion/Bukit Bintang. The flower arrangements in the lobby are stunning. The room are very nice with a very distinguished style. Service is usually very good. Pool side and health club are great. Gym is state of the art. Basically a hotel to be recommended. Due to F1 event it was fully booked and therefore some minor issues occured but were finally taken care of in a satisfying way. Definitely this hotel has 5 Star standard

Room Tip: High floor, if lucky with Petronas Towers view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The rooms were splendid it was so comfy the restaurant on the first floor was fabulous. Staff were so respectful and kind. The pool was amazing it was so big and warm to swim in. It was also a great location. Right next to the train station. As well as a 10 minute walk to KLCC. It's also near Berjaya Times Square. The hotel looked amazing. The lobby was so nice. It's easy to get a taxi at the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rohitlexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

First stay in Shangri-La, KL, but only for one night. Excellent service, location is good (although I personally find Bukit Bintang better) and the room clean and nice. Unfortunately I did not get the chance to try the breakfast due to an early departure next morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,589 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing