We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The legendary Shangri-la in the heart of Kuala Lumpur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #4 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The legendary Shangri-la in the heart of Kuala Lumpur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The top 5 stars hotel in Kuala Lumpur city centre and strategically located very near to the business street of Jalan Sultan Ismail. Houses of many multi national companies. Walking distance to the popolar nite life of Beach Club and Hard Rock Cafe and walking distance 5mins to KLCC tower and 10 mins to Bukit Bintang shopping district.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KingTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,010
    1,339
    344
    73
    48
See reviews for
1,252
2,969
414
1,265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed in a club room on the 22nd floor, a bit disappointed with view, as it was a derelict building and some dodgy greenery.The hotel itself is luxurious and very good spa, sauna and steam room, and they are separated from main pool area and females have their own, so I was alone most of the time, which was a plus. The club facilities were amazing, great selection of nibbles but had breakfast at Lemon garden and that was truly fantastic, with a wide variety.

The location was not ideal for a solo woman traveller though, it is not in the centre and it was a problem for me. They do have a shuttle to the main shopping malls including KLCC but it is not frequent enough in my opinion. Also levels of service from staff vary greatly. Some are fantastic, some not so great so it spoilt it a little for me. Pls the fruit in my room was hardly changed the whole time I was there. Apple, orange, kiwi. So 4 Stars from me. If I was to go back to Kl, I would probably try Mandarin Oriental rather than return to Shangri La.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kanger30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I spent 5 nights at this amazing hotel and I want you all to know that I was looking around for some faults or problems - but couldn't find any - this hotel is just perfect and you can default it for a thing!
Lobby - great service, very comfortable and a great place for your meeting.
Room - I had the best sleep with their great pillows and everything in the room was just perfect.
Breakfast - best in town - everything that you want and more.
Dinner - you have to try their unbelievable buffet- food was amazing with an outstanding variety.
Reception - great little screens to save you time on check in and check out and many gorgeous ladies happy to help you.
Pool and spa - one of the best features after a hot day outside. Don't miss the hot pool and sauna.
Reservation - I had to make some changes to my booking and they were so supportive and also stand behind their "lowest price guaranteed" policy.
And some more quick goodies that I have to mention:
Great quality coffee at breakfast and in the lobby.
The mini baguettes from the hotel bakery.
the chocolate pralines - yum!
Fresh guava juice @ breakfast.
The oysters @ dinner buffet.

2 personal thanks: Karen and Felicia - you made my stay very special - thank you so much!

I can't wait for my next visit to KL and to this great institution!

Room Tip: All rooms are good but make sure to get the ones with view of the twin towers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location let down by some really shoddy service mentality of the hotel staff. As a Chinese Australian, I was treated second class as compared to other hotel guests whom were Caucasians. I guess that it is really too much to ask for the staff to treat everyone of their guests the same, regardless of the color of their skin.

With regards to my room, I specifically asked for a non-smoking room but could detect strong smell of either cigars or cigarettes in the room itself.

I was also charged twice for laundry service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pak-Tjun_Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Definitely upgrade to horizon club. The hotel was brilliant organising us transfers from the airport, and even upgrading our three rooms to suites.

The buffet restaurant downstairs was really good too. We ate there both nights.

The staff gave brilliant service, the hotel was spectacular, in a fantastic location, and without question the best hotel we've stayed at in KL.

Room Tip: Upgrade to horizon, and if you can, go for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
544 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I can understand why the Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur is rated No. 1 on TripAdvisor. The service here was just beyond compare with other Asian hotels. Extra effort was made by every staff to greet, smile and be helpful. Maybe the trick was that they did not even try - it came natural to them. You feel a sense of caring and warmth without being suffocated with too much attention as some hotels tend to be. Reception was charming at check in and check out, and also highly efficient. Though it was running at maximum occupancy, you could tell service here was running like clockwork with little stress on the well-oiled machine.

And the high occupancy was obviously putting pressure may be not on the staff, but on the building itself. We had to change rooms once because there were constant repair noises from a nearby floor. There was also a pervasive scent of cigarette smoke, though our room was a non-smoking one. Our new room had tiny ants that magically appeared on beds and chair.

Credit went to the nice people at reception who changed our rooms immediately from the 3rd floor to the 16th with a much better view and gave us late checkout to 15.00 hrs. The problem was handled gracefully and promptly.

The fitness center was awesome. It had all the modern Life Fitness equipment I was familiar with, and never crowded. It was large, quiet and well ventilated. The lobby lounge had nice ambience with live soft piano music and a green view of outside trees, but the traditional Malaysian tea with milk on offer was a big disappointment.

I thought the hotel's location was okay and not that great, until I found the nearby KL Monorail station at Bukit Nanas on the last day of stay. That made life a lot easier and cheaper than relying on the city's much-maligned and confusing taxi "system." There were essentially no interesting shops nearby the hotel, though it was a five-minute walk away to the mega-mall at Suria KLCC and the gorgeous Petronas Twin Towers.

For the exemplary service alone, I would return to the Shangri-La KL. Now that I know my way around the city, subsequent stays here will be a breeze.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chattan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very nice hotel and experience. It's a large convention hotel, so not for you if you are looking for a cozy style hotel. Staff are friendly and overall very efficient. The horizon club (their executive club) is well worth the extra rate. The horizon lounge offers a full breakfast buffet, including Asian specialities, beverages and snacks throughout the day, and private check in and check out. Overall the service provided by the club lounge was exceptional. The location of the hotel is convenient for shopping, site seeing and dining. The concierge is very helpful with tour and restaurant arrangements. The rooms overall are fine, try to get a high floor for the view.

Room Tip: Horizon club room and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garfield41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing