We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #3 of 319 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Good location for nightlife and shopping was a bus ride or taxi ride away. Bars and restaurants around and you could walk to the shops if able bodied.

The breakfasts were superb and the pool was nice.

You can get a hop on hop off tour bus which was good value and enabled you to see around quickly and see the sights.

Room Tip: The room we had was a very big room and we could see the tower from our window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,473
    1,193
    309
    69
    43
See reviews for
1,100
2,661
369
1,130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed at the Shangri-La Kuala Lumpur for 3 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. As soon as we stepped in the lobby, we were greeted by the fragrance of lilies. Having spent so many hours on the airplane, it was nice - we thought it must be air freshener or they just finished cleaning. We finished check in, turned around and saw this MASSIVE stunning lily floral arrangement, the lilies were real and so was the fragrance. We knew we were at the right place!

What we loved:
Big comfy beds
Great room service
Tranquil lighting, spacious storage, mini bar area with kettle built-in
Buffet Breakfast (the selection of food offered was FANTASTIC, treats from Chinese noodles to halva to sushi to croissants and pastries). During our short stay it was not possible for us to visit night markets for special local food, so it was really a treat to sample many local specialties at breakfast, from otak otak to nyonya kuih)
The Garden area with fish and topiary maze
Location of the hotel was close to KLCC and other malls

What we thought was ok:
The swimming pool area was smaller than expected and not too children friendly.
The hotel does not run its own spa, but has a little spa boutique. Nothing wrong with that, it just feels that the Shangri-La experience could have extended to pampering sessions. (Comparing this hotel with the stunning spa at Shagri-La Taipei). They also offer in room massage, but none offers massage sessions to pregnant travelers...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PYPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a stop over on our way home from Cambodia. I can not recommend it highly enough. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. The breakfast buffet has to be seen to believed! A magnificent feast that provides something for everyone's tastes at a very reasonable price. We also enjoyed an evening meal here. The central location was fantastic - easy walking distance to the towers and good access to public transport. Very comfortable beds, lovely bathroom - just wish we had stayed longer! maybe next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs UK
Level Contributor
369 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Returning to KL some 12+ years since our last visit - there could only be one hotel to stay at - the Shangri-la. We were not dissappointed - in many ways things had not changed. This time for one night before our onward flight to HK & home. In particular something I have commented on before is that the hotel recognises that guests often want to read in bed & as such provides good lighting for the same.

The sauna, steamroom, Jacuzzi & hydropool were appreciated and finally we had a great meal at the Shang Palace to finish our holiday

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for my honeymoon in march,in fact I am here at the minute:) On the day of checking in they spotted we were on honeymoon and up graded us to a suite,which includes a walk in wardrobe,Sitting room (sofa,DVD,fridge,tv,office desk & chair) then we have a massive master bedroom also with tv and super king bed automatic curtains! Then a massive bathroom including wet room . 3 restaurants are fab! The bar is lovely and huge food portions,the lounge bar has a huge cocktail list and has a lounge band nightly! Breakfast has everything you could imagine!! From pancakes to cereal ,fruit to noodles ,English breakfast to Malay breakfast!! Truely delish freshly made food! I would rate this higher if I could! The people are also so so friendly!!! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smaguire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I spent one night here on our way back from Australia and we can safely say this is the best hotel we've stayed in - ever. Everything from the spacious and luxurious room to the service, to the gigantic breakfast buffet spread to the location was just perfect. Complimentary shuttle service around the city was the icing on the cake. And all of this was available at a steal! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vistasp M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in the Shangri La in Bangkok a few years back, and loved it. We booked the Shangri La in Kuala Lumpur based on that wonderful experience. The KL Shangri La was even better. The best hotel experience we have ever had. The hotel has recently had a complete make over, and it positively sparkles. just the right amount of bling and water features. We had a top floor suite, which was gorgeous! And an excellent value... And the best thing about the Shangi La is the service. Everyone was elegant, warm and charming. We felt like we were being welcomed by old friends every time we came and went. The location is near some great night life, and moments from the monorail. We explored the city really well from this location. I can't recommend it enough. 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for The Horizon Club. You well get the best breakfast in South East Asia and cock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NandFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 319 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,762 reviews
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 319 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 8,679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
1.4 mi away
Villa Samadhi - By Samadhi
Villa Samadhi - By Samadhi
#1 of 319 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 319 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing