We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights here in mid January 2013. What a place! The best hotel I've ever stayed in. The service is immaculate. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. We were upgraded to a suite, which was absolutely beautiful. The breakfast was a real treat, but as we paid extra for Horizon Club, we got to use the Horizon lounge, and had free drinks, afternoon tea and mocktails. Wifi and the gym were great. The Petronas Towers and KL Tower are nearby. Book this place without a second thought.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zaid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,173)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,680 - 4,686 of 7,174 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel with everything required for a business stay - room and business centre carefully thought out and provisioned. Superb display of heliconia in the lobby. My room on the 7th floor was very quiet and had a nice outlook. The friendliness of the staff makes the atmosphere welcoming and pleasant. The breakfast buffet was relatively expensive but absolutely magnificent. I was sorry to leave.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank CymruRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed with family for two nights great location. excellent sports bar and staff were great. Service was excellent and standard of hotel is what you would expect from Shangri - La. Breakfast was great and a nice quiet lounge bar.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank matt b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is superb in every way - the staff, accommodation, food and ambience make it a 'must stay' if visiting KL. My orchid on arrival was a lovely touch and we were treated like VIP's from the moment we arrived. Food and drink are expensive but the quality and quantity makes it worth every penny. The breakfast has every possible thing anyone could want and is absolutely delicious!! If you plan on going to KL splash out on this hotel, you won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Petronas Towers !
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pajan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

we stayed two nights in this fantastic hotel, which i can safely say is the best i have ever stayed in . the staff are very friendly and welcome you straight from the taxi , rooms are nice, batroom lovely with a fantastic powerful shower. but the best thing of all is the breakfast the choice is outstanding with evarything you can imagine the hotel is worth staying there for this alone. hope to go back one day

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carocork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

everything was just outstanding... typical for this hotel brand, but they still managed to amaze me with their breakfast buffet....
I have never seen such a perfect buffet.... literally everything you can think of is there to grab.

the location itself is a bit off the main tracks... but it does not really matter for the value you get.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okrased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We've just returned from a trip to Malaysia and stayed at the Shangri-La in KL for a couple of nights before heading up the West Coast.
The hotel is in a great, central location which makes it a perfect base for exploring the city. Our room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The Lemon Grass Cafe is excellent for breakfast and the evening buffet is great value with a huge choice of dishes. We also had drinks and snacks in the main lounge area - all very good quality and served by excellent staff. In fact for a very large hotel the service is first class - personal, friendly and attentive.
Would recommend the Shangri- La to anyone planning a stay in KL.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,903 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
818 reviews
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $114 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing