We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a five star; staff are excellent though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We took the fixed-rate (coupon, RM 75) taxi from KL International Airport to our hotel. No hassles, no worries. Nice! The hotel is in the Golden Triangle, close to several landmarks like the Petronas towers, Pavilion and KLCC shopping centers which are within walking distances. The monorail station is only a few hundred yards to the west providing easy access to shopping centers and touristy sites. Beware the motor bikes and scooters especially those who choose to drive on the sidewalk and make you scamper. The traffic lights at pedestrian crossings are very short and you have to really haul your butt to make it across in time.
The hotel lobby is incredibly beautiful and all the flower displays have REAL flowers! All's well!!
 Check in was fast and my wife appreciated the nice gesture of the half dozen roses presented by Marlya Johari, Service Manager-front office. When we inquired about an upgrade to Club level the incremental rate was US $100 per day. Thanks but No thanks! No worries as we can buy our bottles of wine and our breakfast items at the Lemon Garden 2 GO next to the lobby for a fraction of that. By the way, all the breads and pastries here are discounted 50% after 6 PM. When I went down at 5:45 the counter was covered with trays full of breads and pastries "reserved" by the early "birds" that had been there for nearly two hours. Get there earlier, if you are interested.
Our room was one half of a half circle of a bump out at each corner of the building. We could see one of the Petronas towers and the main avenue (Sultan Ismail) in front. The room is small but very serviceable as it had a work desk and chair, an upholstered armchair and a king/queen bed (it was bigger than a queen but smaller than a king) and a snack table with a plate of fruit waiting. Excellent!!
 The room has pretty much everything, a flat screen TV but limited channels, plush bathrobes, slippers, 4 bottles of complimentary water and a large bathroom with standard toiletries (not the brand name my wife expected/was promised on the hotel website). NICE!! But the carpet was old and showed its age, as did the paint on the windowsill. The tea and coffee service has a kettle, several tea bags and instant Nescafe, for heaven’s sake! 
When even 4-star hotels provide good quality coffees and coffee makers Shangri-La stands out as if the accountants are running the show. (As a professional in accounting and decision-making I assure you that this is not a compliment.) When we would return to our room we would find the fruit plate and the water bottles replenished and the bed turned down. Incredibly great service! 
Much appreciated!
We used the fitness center every morning except one and were very impressed. There are stair steppers, treadmills, recumbent bikes, straight up bikes, mats, a boxing room with a punch bag and boxing gloves etc., free weights and weight machines for all kinds of exercises even for those muscles you did not know you had. The attendants would place folded towels and a bottle of water at pretty much all the treadmills and similar machines. Super!!
Our last morning we had breakfast at the Lemon Garden. The offerings are truly world class. Excellent. But the table service was slow to pick up dirty dishes and serve extra coffee such that I had to flag several people to get attention. 
Our 4-star serviced suite hotel people in Hong Kong could teach the wait staff a thing or two in this regard.
When we checked out there was a charge of RM 5 for a local call. The clerk explained that it was a flat charge for any local call (supposed to be free) that uses a TOLL FREE number. I was flabbergasted but the charge stuck. The amount is very small but it is not befitting of a hotel with a claim to 5 stars to use chicken poop pricing practices. 
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel but have a few nits to pick and conclude that Shangri-La has a ways to go before it can rise up to the level of Kempinski or even Intercontinental.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tatliturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,073 - 5,079 of 7,328 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed in Shangri La for a night.WAAO for ALL - except for monorail you might need to walk a bit.Check in was a breeze.Lobby is fantastic ..Rooms with nice interiors..Everything Good,..HRC and a lot of clubs around..Towers walkable..Nothing to complain..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nitin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a 3/52 trip to Australia and the Far
East. We had an executive room and our reservation (via Trailfinders) included breakfast.
The hotel is a large tower block within the financial district in KL approx
10-15 mins walk from the Petronas Towers.
Very swift check in (although we did arrive at midnight).
The hotel is very plush, with luxurious communal areas.
We had a spacious and very comfortable room on 13th floor, with floor to
ceiling windows offering great views. There was a marble bathroom with both
a bath and shower. Bathrobes and slippers were provided as well as good
supplies of toiletries. Only downside was a raised step into the bathroom,
which was a hazard by day, let alone night!
A plate of fruit was in the room on arrival and 4 small bottles of water were left daily.
Staff were incredibly helpful. On checking out, we chose to take our cases to check out
and not request a porter. On descending to the lobby, 3 different members of
staff rushed towards us to relieve us of our luggage!
Breakfasts were incredible with just about every type of food imaginable,
including a chocolate fountain!! From fruit and pastries, through to a
traditional cooked breakfast, Malaysian foods and dim sum it was the most
impressive breakfast selection I have ever seen.
We took a city bus tour (hop on / off) which cost 37Rb and lasted approx 3
hrs.
Do take great care when crossing the road. At the large crossroads next to
the hotel, even when lights were in the pedestrian 's favour, there would be
large groups of mopeds/bikes at the front of the stationary cars, which
would then jump the red lights.
We asked the concierge for a dinner recommendation of authentic Malaysian
food. He suggested Madam Kwan (4th floor of the mall within Petronas Towers,
last orders 21.30). This was a fantastic recommendation! We had to queue for
20 minutes or so, but it was well worth the wait! 2 starters, 2 main courses
a couple of beers and jasmine tea came to £25!
Beware if you are taking a taxi! The traffic is so congested in KL,
particularly in the afternoon/ evenings, that in some roads, a journey that
takes 5 minutes on foot can take 40 minutes in a taxi!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mrs Picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights in this hotel. We enjoyed our stay as we have done in other hotels of the same chain. The only minor hick-up was that on the first night my wife was bitten in bed by some insects. The hotel immediate took action and the problem was solved. They even offered an upgrade, but we didn't want to change room on such short stay. In my view the Shangri-La comes out very well when there are problems. They take responsibility for them and action to resolve them.
We like their decor in the restaurant and the foyer. We had dinner in the hotel one night and enjoyed both the food and the service. The ambience was great with an orchestra and a singer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cheap room, but it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelman19xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Shangri La on Jalan Sultan Ismail in Kuala Lumpur from the 15th October until the 19th October 2012. When we arrived at KL airport I had no idea how to get to the hotel as we had 2 suitcases, 2 hand carry and 2 sets of golf clubs. I tried to book online with the taxi company but their site would not respond. Anyway as we left customs area I saw the Taxi company booth and booked a Mercedes to take us to the hotel. Just to the right of this I saw a few booths with the different hotels occupying these booths and the Shangri La Hotel was one of these. I went to this booth and the fellow there, who is a Shangri La employee, could not have been more helpful, he wanted our names and details. When we arrived at the Shangri La we felt like King & Queen as this fellow had rung through and told them we were on our way. Our luggage was taken by the porter and we were ushered to the first floor Horizon Club check in. We were given a glass of Champagne (Tattinger no less) and from that moment we were treated absolutely fabulously. We had chosen a Horizon Club Suite and with this we were not disappointed. We had lunch a couple of times in the Shang Palace and found this to be a wonderful restaurant also very good value. Breakfast in the Horizon Club Lounge was an absolute delight and the amount of choices is exceptional. In the evening we had the canapes and a few glasses of wine, again this was superb and as we are getting on in years found this to be sufficient, which was a bit of a let down as I wanted to try the Japanese restaurant. The suite we had was very large with a great view. The staff everywhere in the hotel were magnificent but special mention has to be given the Club Lounge people. There were two young ladies there that really went out of their way to make us feel at home and we did. Each evening the bed was turned down and then the lady would return to see if we needed anything. The departure was sad as the ending of all vacations is, we checked out in the Club Lounge and the people there came and said goodbye, this was very nice. Anyway we took a cab to the airport and lo and behold the Shangri La fellow was there again to unload the taxi and take our bags to the check in counter and not only that he got them to open a special aisle so we did not wait in line. This is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. My heading is "Almost the Perfect Hotel", well this is true, I can only give them 99.9 out of 100 as when we arrived in our suite there were no tea bags, however a call to reception solved this in 2 minutes. OK I am probably being a bit harsh so I will make it 99.999999 out of 100. We could not give a higher recommendation to anyone looking for a hotel in KL.

Room Tip: If you want the twin towers ask for them. We never worry about the view as we go to see the sights a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AUSSIEmike99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the last leg of our honeymoon in Oct 12. We were in the hotel for four nights. Having spent the previous two and a half weeks in 5 star hotels in various locations this hotel was slightly behind in comparison. Check in was friendly and efficient but are card was marked about checking out on time on the Saturday. Bear in mind it was Tuesday it wasn't the friendliness welcome. This was a recurring theme of the week, any interaction required with staff was supplemented with the what time are you checking out chat. My wife is on the management team of a 5 star hotel in our native capital and she was less than impressed with the service in general from the staff here. From my point of view it was okay, but fell way short of the service you get in a 5 star hotel in a holiday location. This is a city centre hotel best suited business travellers and families from what I could see. Not a true 5 star in the strictest sense. For instance the pool area looked grey, dull and unappealing, in need of refurbishment. We ate in the Chang Palace on arrival and had the buffet one evening in the Lemon Cafe due to a storm. Both where just okay and for the money you could buy ten nice meals outside hotel. All that said the room was comfortable if a bit small. The staff where pleasant, barring the obsession with check outs, and the concierge staff where very helpful and never mentioned check outs, they'll stir you right with most requests. The breakfast is as good as you will find in any hotel. We were comfortable here for the four nights but will definitely try elsewhere next time we return to KL.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank all_I_want4xmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our second visit to the hotel and again it was a wonderful experience. We chose the Horizon Cub package when booking our reservation and upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite. The room was lovely and everything you could possibly need was there from umbrella to coffee machine to mouthwash. Every last detail was thought of and presented beautifully.The Horizon club lounge was perfect for breakfast and the variety of food was good. We also made good use of the afternoon tea and cocktail hour, both were great.

A few helpful hints - it is an easy and enjoyable walk to both the KLCC and The Pavillion for shopping. The streets outside the hotel have good places to eat if you do not want to eat in the hotel. The Skybus from the airport is cheap and convenient but when arriving at the train station get your taxi from upstairs where they are metered. The hotel charges 150MR for a taxi to the airport but they are cheaper out on the street.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday. We have stayed there with young children and as a couple. Children are welcomed but it is more aimed at business travellers and couples.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
10,064 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4,304 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
929 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#42 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#63 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $118 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing