We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$130
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$144
$117
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$103
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$88
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Impiana KLCC Hotel(Kuala Lumpur)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Furama Bukit Bintang(Kuala Lumpur)(Great Value!)
$59
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (7,536)
Filter reviews
7,536 results
Traveler rating
5,540
1,473
379
84
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,540
1,473
379
84
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clublemon gardenarthur's barpetronas towerschocolate fountainlobby loungeour honeymoonupgraded to a suitefantastic hotelbreakfast buffetpool area isfive star hotelclub rooman upgrademonorail stationlate checkbukit bintang
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,973 - 5,978 of 7,536 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I would not normally write reviews on the hotels we travel to but this would be an exception. I had read many positive reviews on this hotel and had very high expectations - the Shangri-La lived up to its reputation and did not disappoint in any aspect. Service and hospitality was top notch. We booked a club room and were upgraded to suite for our 5 year wedding anniverary. The Suite was amazing and the Horizon Club memorable - from service to assortment of food as well as view. We also had our 15 month old baby with us and the staff could not do anymore to make our stay comfortable. I was concerned about the location with baby but this was absolutely no problem - took no longer than 10 mins with monorail (including walk to the monorail from hotel) to arrive to main shopping district. There is also a shuttle service which we used which was faultless although we mainly travelled around by taxi which was no more than a 5 dollars using the hotel taxi - well worth it compared to the budget taxis around town. Thankyou to everyone at the Shangri-La that made our Anniversary one to remember. We will be back.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank meals1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Hotel was beautiful. We stayed during some political riots and staff were very concerned about our well being and gave lots of advice about where to go in city. Room was beautiful and bathroom immaculate. Breakfast options were plentiful and would recommend the pattiserie. Would suggest a high standard of dress as our jandles got a few odd looks!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the lifts.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biddygrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

As with most hotels in this chain, the emphasis on service. From the moment of arrival at the main door a slick and well practiced routine swings into operation. You will be assisted from your car by one of the doormen and your cases are whisked into reception and will be there before you are. The vast reception can not fail to impress as it certainly has the 'wow' factor, with its sweeping staircase and fountain! Check In' is quick and straight forward and all of the staff give the impression that they are happy to serve you. Like most large city hotels it has a selection of very good restaurants and bars, although a word of warning - while the large bar in the lobby looks absolutely stunning and has a great atmosphere, it is not the place to visit if you have spend all day walking around the city and are dying of thirst - the drinks need to be savored and not wolfed down as the are somewhat pricey. The rooms, even the basic ones are plush, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The Gym is comprehensive and worth a visit, and also incorporates the spa so you can tell everyone you are going to the fitness center for a workout and have a spa treatment instead!
The 'Breakfast' is one of the highlights and must not be missed. The choice is quite staggering and not only does it include a 4ft chocolate fountain but also a matching strawberry one as well!! Experience shows it is best to leave it wanting more to avoid feeling quite sick for the rest of the morning!
It is in a good central location and the surrounding area is quite safe, even at night. There are also quite a few restaurants and bars within easy walking distance and the nearest station on the monorail is about 10-15 minute walk away.
Would I go back next time - absolutely.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveLD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

If there is one thing that stands at in our minds after our stay at the Shangri-La K.L is the friendly and overwhelming helpfu staff. The hotel itself is stunning and has the most amazing beds in the world. You get amazing little extras in your room and all the staff go out of their way to provide you with an amazing Shangri-La experience. Would highly recommend this hotel it is beautiful in every capacity.

Room Tip: Best Beds in the World.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOJC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many, many times and up to now never taken the chance to review it. Early in August I stayed in a Premier Horizon Room which as always was perfectly presented on arrival and had lots of special touches such as the very welcome NESPRESSO machine and a super selection of upmarket toiletries. The bed is very comfortable - only problem with the rooms at Shangri; La Kl is that you might find the sink area in the bathroom rather small and this can irritate if you are staying for a while. Housekeeping is of a very high standard. The Club lounge served wide selection of cocktails, beers and wines as well as afternoon tea and evening canapes - breakfast in the lounge was good but sometimes the hot dishes at the buffet were looking rather tired and dry. The Lobby Lounge is a great place for evening drinks with first class entertainment, All the F&B outlets are worth trying (!!) - but go the for the evening or lunch buffets at Lemon Garden which are always a real treat. One minor gripe is that nearly everytime I have arrived by car there has been a delay in the porter coming to the car to help with luggage - unless of course you are arriving in a large Mercedes limo or equivalent! Finally the swimming pool, gym and health club are great with very attentive and helpful staff. For me Shangri-La remains the hotel to beat in KL.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimDKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews