We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe a little past it's prime” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #3 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Maybe a little past it's prime”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a Club room recently.
The location is great, near KLCC, park and shopping.
We used the hotel pickup and drop off for transfers to the airport, and this worked very well.
The general facilities of the hotel are lovely. The staff were all very helpful (especially the concierge), keen and well trained. No language problems.
Our Club room felt a little cramped. The furnishings were of good quality, but some stains were on the carpet and furniture.
The bathroom was a let down - small, no dividing door to the toilet. Shower quite cramped. We had an early flight out, and we had virtually no hot water at 5am. Towels etc were fine.
Sleep quality was very good, with really comfortable pillows.
The Club lounge is huge, almost impersonal, but otherwise OK.
Wifi is included - well done!
Overall, was OK, but prefer the Cub rooms at The Shangri-La in KL.

Room Tip: The room with a view of Petronas Towers is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernWanderer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear NorthernWanderer0

Thank you for your kind review and I am glad that you generally enjoyed your recent stay.

I have noted your comments on the cleanliness of the carpet and furniture as well as the hot water supply, areas of which we have addressed to avoid any recurrence.

In addition, I would like to share that we have commenced our guestroom renovation project which will progress until 2016 for a full completion. The bathroom layout is one of the areas which we will review for improvement and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel to experience our new rooms in the near future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,257
    887
    220
    80
    48
See reviews for
882
1,692
251
1,037
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Location - perfect: right next to Petronas Tower and Suria shopping mall.
Customer service - perfect: they remember your name after one contact.
Rooms - perfect: spacious and clean.
Swimming pool - perfect: with great view and flowing water.
Price - perfect: Kuala Lumpur is the best place to book a five star hotel for a price of hostel in Europe or US.
And because it was perfect, we came back - we spent one night here at the beginning of our trip in 2006 and came back for another night 7 years later.
Hopefully we will come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrutkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear mrutkowski

We are most delighted to receive your 100% “perfect” review of our hotel facilities and staff service on TripAdvisor!

We certainly look forward to having you back at our hotel in the not too distant future.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Have stayed here twice now and both times were a wow experience. The excellent staff throughout all departments were delightful and keen to please. The rooms are well appointed as you would expect and the restaurants serve first class food. The location next to the Petronas Towers couldn't be bettered with fine views of the Towers from some of the rooms. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and suggest staying on the Club Level where the Club Lounge serves wonderful food and drinks. It would be hard to find a better hotel anywhere in the world!

Room Tip: ask for a city view room overlooking the Petronas Towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaypee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Jaypee51

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us again, in particular our Club Lounge which is regularly cited for its ambience and superlative service.

Your feedback on our staff service is much appreciated and when shared with our colleagues, it will certainly motivate them to the highest level.

Thank you for choosing to stay at with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another superb stay!

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our stay at the Mandarin Oriental was phenomenal - we had booked it as one of our honeymoon hotels during our month-long trip around Southeast Asia and we received the most wonderful honeymoon reception at the Mandarin Oriental. Drawn rose-petal bubble bath, afternoon tea and cakes, fresh bouquets of flowers and a personal note on arrival welcoming us to the hotel and wishing us the best in our new life together was such an excellent touch! The location is superbe and although there was some construction/repairs taking place in the lobby, the staff made up for it with such excellent service. The food at the restaurants in the hotel was quite good, and there were many options just outside the hotel near all of the shops and the towers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjsaih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear rjsaih

Thank you for the wonderful review! It is rewarding to know that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and that our team took great care of you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
225 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Kuala Lumpur is an expensive, but luxurious five star hotel with a very central location between the Suria shopping mall and the Jalan Ramlee with lots of restaurants and bars. The staff in the hotel is very professional and helpful. The room and bathroom were large and clean. The toilet was in need of some maintenance because after flushing the flow of water wouldn't stop. The rooms with a view of the parc are higher in price, but offer amazing views. There is an excellent swimming pool with a view as well. And free ice-water when sunbathing. The only downside was that this hotel still let you pay extra for wifi when you book a standard room. A couple of years ago charging for internet was something almost all hotels in Kuala Lumpur did because of the high price of developing the network. But now many hotels, like the Shangri-La and the Traders have stopped the practise of charging now and offer wifi without additional costs. I do not mind paying a nominal fee, but 64 Ringits extra per day, is daylight robbery when you already pay 900 Ringits per day for a room, certainly if you consider the low speed that was offered for that outragious price. For going online I needed to go to the lobby of the swimming pool, because the signal hardly reached the room I was staying in. Overall, this was a good hotel to stay in and can be recommended if someone wants to splurge and cost is no issue.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Will de d

Thank you for your kind review on our staff service which will certainly motivate our team to the highest level.

My apologies on the toilet flush which required rectification.

Concerning the provision of complimentary WiFi service, I would like to share that due to the high costs of quality bandwidth in Kuala Lumpur, most hotels still do charge for WiFi accordingly. Guests who choose to stay on our Club Floors do receive complimentary internet access. On this note, our hotel provides by far, the highest level of bandwidth in the city and once logged in, you may use up to 6 devices on your account. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group has recently launched an initiative in regard to WiFi costs whereby all bookings made via our website are inclusive of free WiFi for all the various packages available on our website. Out IT&T team I investigating the signal strength of all rooms to ensure that the Wifi coverage is in perfect condition.

Thanks again, I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iran
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I've just back from MO and this is considered as one of my best staying hotel in KL.
Charming rooms with exellent room services and friendly staff.
My meeting was in KLCC which is located a stone through distance from the MO. very near to most of attraction in KL.
Rooms equipped whith ample of amenities encompasses tea and Espresso maker ,
Each residence entitles of 4 bottles of mineral water and fruit basket which is replenish on a daily basis.
Room services respond time is amazing and immediate.
Beautiful swimming pool located in 3rd floor. BF is as per expectaion from a luxury hotel.
The recieption staffs are quite friendly and helpful and ashure you to the lift door.
I stayed in 25th floor with a nice view of sorrounding park and swimming pool.
The room was booked for me for 460 RM excluding 16 % Gvt tax.
The only item which is not meet my expectation was the satellite chanel selection which was not attaractive compare to MO style.
I would like to sty again in MO if I back to KL again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rezaghgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear rezaghgh

I am delighted that you had a superb stay with us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again for another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

KL was my first Mandarin Oriental experience being a Platinum Ambassador for Intercontinental with 50+ nights a year.

The service at MO-KL is embarrassingly, humblingly good. Easily equal to any across the globe. The facilities are great and the location would have to be the best in KL. I like to get out and about but can see why people would come here and never leave the hotel. It is just that good!

Steer clear of the Mandarin Grill (pretentious and arrogant) but the other restaurants are top notch. If you can see your way clear to a club room then you absolutely must. Their club lounge is the best I have seen, and I travel 100-200 days a year!

The spa is brilliant, the pool is brilliant and it feels like the staff have all just come straight off a two-year customer service retreat. The also are just THAT GOOD!

After coming here once, I wouldn't consider trying another hotel in KL, and yes I am a paying guest!!!

Room Tip: Indulge in a Club Room for the spa discount and breakfast / extras at the club lounge. If you ring t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear PerthPhil

I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel’s facilities, in particular our Club Lounge and convenient location on this occasion. Your feedback on our service, especially our spa team will motivate our colleagues to the highest level.

However, I sincerely regret to note your feedback on our Mandarin Grill and would appreciate if you could share more details with us by writing to our Director of Food & Beverage at email: michaelg@mohg.com as we certainly appreciate your constructive comments to improve our service level.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#1 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing