We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the view of Petronas Towers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #3 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go for the view of Petronas Towers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We enjoyed three nights at the KL Mandarin Oriental as part of a trip to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we were met by guest relations who took us directly to our room and awaiting champagne, with a complimentary upgrade to club level amenities.

The hotel itself is situated in a prime location with spectacular views of the Petronas Towers, which we enjoyed from our room. We could also hear the calls to prayer from the nearby mosque from our room - and although you could hear this early in the morning to late at night, it is a lovely sound that reflects the culture of the city.

The rooms and hallways seem due for renovation. The hallways smelled of masked nicotine and the room felt a bit "hotel like" with small bathrooms (unlike more modern hotels such as HK Peninsula), with carpets in need of repair/replacement. Breakfast was included in our room rate, and it included an array of international options. The western selections were not to our liking, but we did enjoy the selection of fresh juices, especially the kiwi juice.

The hotel's infinity pool is a wonderful escape from the city heat, and I wish we had time to enjoy the spa services.

The staff is very eager to please - but overall the service lacks the refinement of hotels such as the Peninsula and Four Seasons. With the Four Seasons coming to KL, I expect that the MO hotel facilities and service to only improve, and in the meantime, it seems to be a top selection for KL and the rates are quite reasonable.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Petronas Towers - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Sarah W

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We have noted your comments on our breakfast selection and overall service, and will pay extra attention to these areas for improvements.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and best wishes for a Happy New Year!

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,341
    899
    220
    81
    49
See reviews for
896
1,734
262
1,055
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel might look a bit tired however the service is outstanding in all areas. The outlets after renovation looks stunning and good food quality especially the chinese restaurant. The manager (Pauline) and her staff are very proactive toward the service delivery, Good location and our room has a fantastic view of the twin tower, Just amazing ! . My daughter was very delight and she is looking forward to come back again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hockkeong_570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear hockkeong_570

We appreciate your kind feedback and praise towards Pauline and her team. Our guestroom renovation is scheduled to start in 2014 and we look forward t the pleasure of welcoming you and your daughter back to the hotel for yet another memorable stay.

Best wishes to your family for the festive season!

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed here for a night as I have an event to attend nearby. Quality and services was good. Can hardly find anything to comment / complaint about, except the internet access, where you have to pay for it instead of complimentary usage. A bit dissapointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edlee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Edlee19

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we appreciate your feedback.

In reference to the provision of complimentary WiFi service, I am pleased to share that due to the high cost of quality bandwidth in Kuala Lumpur, most hotels charge for WiFi accordingly. Guests who choose to stay on our Club Floors receive complimentary internet access. On this note, our hotel provides by far, the highest level of bandwidth in the city and once logged in, you may use up to 6 devices on your account. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group has recently launched an initiative in regard to WiFi costs whereby all bookings made via our website are inclusive of free WiFi for all the various packages available on our website.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel and wish you the best for the festive season.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon in December 2013. The hotel is in the perfect location in Kuala Lumpur, you have the Petronas Towers and KLCC Park right on your doorstep. The water fountains display in the evening is really nice and romantic.

The hotel staff service is one of the best we have experienced, all staff were very helpful and polite. We were welcomed by our names each time we passed them and made to feel very special. The views from the hotel are also excellent, we were upgraded when we arrived to check-in and had amazing views of both the Park and the Petronas Towers. As the photos show the hotel also decorated our room for free with rose petals and bath and provided my wife with a beautiful bouquet of flowers when we checked in.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a corner room which has views of the Park and Petronas Towers. The hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKAd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear UKAd1

Thank you for a great review!

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Best wishes to your family for the festive season!

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

i was there on a business trip...
i won't say that it was my best experience in my life, but quality and everything is at a top level.
location, surroundings, view from the window...
i really like it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Han_Turkmeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Han_Turkmeni

Thank you for the great feedback and look forward to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Best wishes for the festive season and happy holidays!

Regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
137 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental twice during my trip to Malaysia, once for five nights and then for three nights. I was impressed by the hotel and the service received. For the first five nights I stayed in a room with twin beds, overlooking the Petronas Towers. For the second three nights I was on a higher floor and had a king-size bed. I definitely recommend the latter – far more convenient. You should definitely pay that little extra for a room that overlooks the Petronas Towers. It’s certainly worth the view. The hotel is centrally located, right at the Petronas Towers. There is a large shopping mall right next to the hotel, super convenient for shopping / meals, etc…

One negative comment – I must say that I object to there not being complimentary Internet access in the rooms. When will hotels realize that this must change and that free Internet access should be provided to all guests? However, if you register your personal details on the hotel’s website you will receive complimentary Internet access for the duration of your stay, like I did for my final three nights.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the Petronas Towers - that little extra charge is well worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CR_ARNESTAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear GeoCRAt

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your great feedback.

Further, in reference to the provision of complimentary WiFi service, I am pleased to share that due to the high cost of quality bandwidth in Kuala Lumpur, most hotels charge for WiFi accordingly. Guests who choose to stay on our Club Floors receive complimentary internet access. On this note, our hotel provides by far, the highest level of bandwidth in the city and once logged in, you may use up to 6 devised on your account. Thank you for letting all TripAdvisor fans know that Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group has recently launched an initiative in regard to WiFi costs whereby all bookings made via our website are inclusive of free WiFi for all the various packages available on our website.

We look forward to your return for another memorable stay.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I checked-in to the hotel sometime in October for Business. The check-in was speedily done and I was also given free upgrade to Club room where there is a coffee machine in your room. The room itself was well maintained and clean. Design is a bit dated but still luxury enough. And the location is great where you can walk to the Suria Mall next door for some shopping and food.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the park is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joaowee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear joaowee

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to share that our guestrooms renovation is scheduled to start in 2014.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to tho hotel again soon.

Kind regards
Frank P Stocek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#1 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,456 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Address: Kuala Lumpur City Centre, Kuala Lumpur 50088, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#6 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 643
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated adjacent to the iconic PETRONAS Twin Towers, Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur is the city's leading luxury hotel with 643 well appointed rooms, suites and serviced apartments. Delight your senses with an array of cuisines showcased in ten innovative outlets. Escape Kuala Lumpur's urban bustle at The Spa with rejuvenating facials, body treatments and award winning Signature Therapies for a holistic wellbeing. Take a dip at the infinity edge pool overlooking the spectacular city skyline or be mesmerized by the magnificent display of KLCC Lake Symphony Fountain at the Esplanade KLCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing